Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby WeeeZer14 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:44 pm

Okay, now I am getting mixed results. Before I'd get the exact location if I was zoomed out to see most of Europe. If I was zoomed in on the city, I'd only get suggestions.

Just now trying to repeat those results, I only get the suggestions no matter the zoom level.

BUT, if I open a new Incognito window in Chrome (to be sure I have a fresh browsing session), I get the initial results again where I will get the exact location if I am zoomed out. :?:
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby Zirland » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:40 pm

So, after we sorted out which server to use, back to the basic problem.

House number feature is planned for next version of World map editor. Currently there is no data about the house numbers in "Na Bezovce" street in Plzeň.

We will do our best to map all houses after the feature will be enabled in editor.
Zirland
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1531
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:01 pm
Location: Praha, Czech Republic
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 274 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby aladincz » Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:22 pm

I see that sometime I am logged on one tab and not in another.

But it seems we live on different planet ;-) It NEVER return any result when I search address with house number for me. It only give popup listing of possible locations/streets but never with numbers. See image [ img ] so I do not understand what you write or better can not believe. Talking about world version.
It does gives me landmark but for street generally

So what can be wrong.

I do not understand exactly to remark about zooming too. Even on Top zoom out no change.
Firefox 18 on XP
aladincz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby WeeeZer14 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:06 pm

Always keep an eye on world vs. www when going between the editor, the forums, and the wiki. You never know when a link from one will point to a server you don't want to be on ;)

I see a marker pin with the full search text ("V Bezovce 1362/32, 301 00 Pilsen, Czech Republic") on both www and world. No streets on www of course.

Interestingly, if I am zoomed in to the area, it will NOT find the full address. But if I zoom way out, it has no problem.
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby aladincz » Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:19 am

WeeeZer14 wrote:
aladincz wrote:Live map shows right result V Bezovce 1362/32, 301 00 Pilsen, Czech Republic but map is blank. No roads, no streets, even city is missing :-o.

Be sure you are looking at the right server infrastructure: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Banks_of_Servers


You are right. I somehow end up at http://www.waze.com/livemap/ instead world... version. But then it looks even more strange. http://www.waze.com/livemap/ gives right position with house numbers (and blank map) but world version gives only street without numbers. Why?
aladincz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby WeeeZer14 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:01 pm

aladincz wrote:Live map shows right result V Bezovce 1362/32, 301 00 Pilsen, Czech Republic but map is blank. No roads, no streets, even city is missing :-o.

Be sure you are looking at the right server infrastructure: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Banks_of_Servers
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby aladincz » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:55 pm

jasonh300 wrote:House number data comes from Bing in most cases. This data is fed to waze as latitude and longitude and Waze routes you to those coordinates. So in most cases, house numbers aren't needed.

However, there are always exceptions, and bad Bing data, so there is a House number feature that's currently in beta testing and should be released to the general public some time in the near future.


As I see other forum topic Google/bing results flaky? http://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=13221&start=0, problem probably lays there.

When I search V Bezovce 32, Plzeň Waze gives me result but just street without number. Goggle and Bing gives no result. Live map shows right result V Bezovce 1362/32, 301 00 Pilsen, Czech Republic but map is blank. No roads, no streets, even city is missing :-o.

Frantisek
aladincz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby WeeeZer14 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:23 pm

And to add RE: Open Street Maps -- there is absolutely no connection between Open Street Maps and Waze. Using data from or copying between Waze and Open Street Maps is a violation of copyrights and terms of use of both projects. Entire countries have had to be deleted from Waze in the past due to improper use of data from other mapping projects. This applies to things like Bing and Google maps as well. (Waze has a business relationship with Bing to be allowed to look up the address info.)
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:14 pm

House number data comes from Bing in most cases. This data is fed to waze as latitude and longitude and Waze routes you to those coordinates. So in most cases, house numbers aren't needed.

However, there are always exceptions, and bad Bing data, so there is a House number feature that's currently in beta testing and should be released to the general public some time in the near future.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 984 times

Previous

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher