Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby aladincz » Tue Feb 19, 2013 10:22 pm

Sounds good :-). I would not mind house numbers if suggestion to use google or bing would work.
It probably has not to work.

Would it be possible to merge data from www to world version when there are house numbers in www version?

The thing with zooming sounds funny and i would consider it is a bug but I may be wrong.
aladincz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby weeezer14 » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:17 am

Both www and world are beta testing the ability to edit address numbers directly in the Waze map editor. Eventually this data can supplement/override the address info from other sources.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
weeezer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 315 times

Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:56 am

WeeeZer14 wrote:Both www and world are beta testing the ability to edit address numbers directly in the Waze map editor. Eventually this data can supplement/override the address info from other sources.

I looked but haven't found whether Czech addressing style has been submitted to Waze from their request. I'm afraid this might have only give out to Champs.

aladincz, why don't you post on your country forum whether anyone has submitted the country addressing style to Waze?


Tapatalk made me do it.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23478
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1084 times
Been thanked: 4596 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby Zirland » Thu Feb 21, 2013 6:56 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I looked but haven't found whether Czech addressing style has been submitted to Waze from their request.


Of course we got into contact with Waze and explained everything.
Czech Republic Country Manager
"The Wazebrity"
Zirland
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1533
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 3:01 pm
Location: Praha, Czech Republic
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 273 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby aladincz » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:16 am

WeeeZer14 wrote:Okay, now I am getting mixed results. Before I'd get the exact location if I was zoomed out to see most of Europe. If I was zoomed in on the city, I'd only get suggestions.

Just now trying to repeat those results, I only get the suggestions no matter the zoom level.

BUT, if I open a new Incognito window in Chrome (to be sure I have a fresh browsing session), I get the initial results again where I will get the exact location if I am zoomed out. :?:


I managed to get result with hose number also once when zoomed out. But just once.

What kind of problem it is? Bug? Or feature? Whether it is bug should I report it somewhere else?
aladincz
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 6:22 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Feb 21, 2013 8:00 pm

Zirland wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I looked but haven't found whether Czech addressing style has been submitted to Waze from their request.


Of course we got into contact with Waze and explained everything.

Very good!
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23478
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1084 times
Been thanked: 4596 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby Rokcet » Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:46 pm

What do you mean "Waze does not contain house numbers"?

When I enter an address complete with house number Waze generally guides me to within 60 feet of that house number. So apparently Waze knows very well how to deal with them.
Rokcet
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 5:49 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby jasonh300 » Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:00 am

Rokcet wrote:What do you mean "Waze does not contain house numbers"?

When I enter an address complete with house number Waze generally guides me to within 60 feet of that house number. So apparently Waze knows very well how to deal with them.


Outside of the U.S. and other basemapped countries without Bing or Google lookups, it can be a problem. There are also areas in the U.S. that are either not in the house number database, or are wildly incorrect.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
South-Central Regional Coordinator
(LA/MS/AR...contact karlcr9911 for TX/OK related issues)
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7560
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 399 times
Been thanked: 967 times

Re: Why does Waze not contain house numbers?

Postby james8970 » Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:35 am

jasonh300 wrote:
Rokcet wrote:What do you mean "Waze does not contain house numbers"?

When I enter an address complete with house number Waze generally guides me to within 60 feet of that house number. So apparently Waze knows very well how to deal with them.


Outside of the U.S. and other basemapped countries without Bing or Google lookups, it can be a problem. There are also areas in the U.S. that are either not in the house number database, or are wildly incorrect.

A little to the north in Canada, GPSes don't have a clue where the exact address is. My worst case scenario was when Google thought my destination was 10-15 minutes north of the actual location. If google or bing is supplying Waze with the exact location of an address, I don't feel confident in Wazes ability to direct me to the exact spot I need to go. I can't wait for the day that Waze will use user supplied data for addresses. It would have great potential.
Canada Country Manager
james8970
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:00 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Previous

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Yahoo [Bot]