Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Moderator: Unholy

Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby fdbryant3 » Wed Aug 18, 2010 8:38 pm

My biggest problem with Waze is that when I'm trying to navigate somewhere that I am constantly getting Recalculating Route every 30 sec to a minute. Is it really necessary to notify me of this? Can't the system just do it silently. This though is just an annoyance. What makes Waze unusable is that 50 to 90% of the time it comes back with that Routing Server has Timed Out and the route that it was displaying disappears till maybe the next time it recalculates the route (presuming it succeeds and of course only lasts till the next time the routing server times out).

This makes Waze completely unusable except for mapping and reporting traffic. I'd like to set my wife up with Waze but I know she wouldn't use it because of this.

I get that Waze is constantly being updated and in theory that your route may be adjusted due to updated traffic but if the server times out leave the existing route displayed, I'd rather have that than no route at all. Maybe change the route's color so we know that it isn't up to date with latest traffic information but always display the route.
fdbryant3
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 4:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby sketch » Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:38 pm

If it's possible to selectively make one sound not affect the music volume, I'd like that for the Recalculating sound. It's very nice to have for turn indications but not terribly important for recalculation.
ALL US EDITORS READ: New USA road type guidance
new orleans based • detroit enthusiast • usa country manager
2013 ford focus titanium hatchback 5mt • performance blue
Image Image
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5624
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1199 times
Been thanked: 1650 times

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby cobra » Thu Aug 19, 2010 1:11 pm

What area are you in? It shouldn't recalculate unless you leave the route it set. Is this happening? If the maps in your area are very inconsistent, then that will cause it to re-calc a lot.

There does seem to be a bug in the re-calc, as you mention. I see it happen also. I'm not sure if it fails to re-calc the route, and then stops displaying routing, or if the server connection fails and it stops displaying the routing, but it does sometimes seem to just go away without any notification in this case.
cobra
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 4:01 pm
Location: Lansdale, PA, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby Ayindi » Fri Aug 20, 2010 3:51 pm

Just want to add that recalculating puts a big fat black sign above the map that it recalculates... (at least on Android) Great feature to block my view to the map when I actually need to find my direction manually... :D
Ayindi
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 6:49 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby fdbryant3 » Wed Aug 25, 2010 1:25 am

cobra wrote:What area are you in? It shouldn't recalculate unless you leave the route it set. Is this happening? If the maps in your area are very inconsistent, then that will cause it to re-calc a lot.

There does seem to be a bug in the re-calc, as you mention. I see it happen also. I'm not sure if it fails to re-calc the route, and then stops displaying routing, or if the server connection fails and it stops displaying the routing, but it does sometimes seem to just go away without any notification in this case.


I'm in the Jacksonville/Northeast FL area. For me it is constantly recalculating the routes every few hundred yards or so. Even when there isn't a turn to be made. Heck I've started a route at stop light, drive straight and within 50' it will recalc. I don't how well the roads are actually mapped out around here but for most roads I travel there are no opportunities for dot munching.

Again for it isn't so much that it is recalculating than it is that the route disappears if the server times out.

I love the concept behind Waze but if I want to get anywhere I have to use something else.

Oh yeah for what it is worth I'm using a Touch Pro with a WinMo 6.5.5 ROM on MetroPCS. I am using the latest beta of Waze.
fdbryant3
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 4:40 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby overnow » Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:22 pm

I've been having those same recalculating problems for months. I have an htc touch pro on uscc, running windows mobile, and none of my other GPS programs (Bing, Google Maps) have this problem. I've tried to reinstall the stock rom and that didn't fix anything.
overnow
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby fvwazing » Sun Sep 26, 2010 12:44 am

I only saw that recalculating like crazy only once, on a one-way-road, fixed, that was pointing in the opposite direction. Are you very very sure that the road this happens on is defined completely right?
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby northernpenguin » Wed Oct 20, 2010 3:17 pm

My only issue is that the recalculating action causes the app to miss cupcakes and / or road munching when I run on the iPhone.
Area Manager - Halton/Peel, Ontario, Canada
iPhone 4, BlackBerry Bold 9700
Toronto Area Geocacher, Ontario Trail Mapper
northernpenguin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 6:48 pm
Location: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby RallyChris » Wed Oct 20, 2010 5:58 pm

northernpenguin wrote:My only issue is that the recalculating action causes the app to miss cupcakes and / or road munching when I run on the iPhone.


The road may not appear munched, but the actual points from doing so are done when the server analyzes your route in post processing. If the GPS is not so far off, that post processing can't figure out what road you were on, you got the points.

The cupcakes issue, maybe so, but it has also been found that gps inaccuracy can cause missing cupcakes, even when the snap to function of the phone put's you over one.
Portland, OR / USA - Mega Mapper
Wiki: Area Manager | Map Editing | Known Issues List
Official Suggestion Websites (hosted by uservoice):
Waze Client | Waze Website / Editor
Image
RallyChris
 
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby jaimevisser » Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:17 am

Damn, opened a topic on this yesterday! People need to use search more!

I also opened a request on user voice so vote on it if you agree!
Area manager Oss, Heesch (Netherlands)
Samsung Galaxy S2 | Toyota Auris 1.8 HSD (white)
jaimevisser
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Next

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users