Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby jaimevisser » Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:17 am

Damn, opened a topic on this yesterday! People need to use search more!

I also opened a request on user voice so vote on it if you agree!
Area manager Oss, Heesch (Netherlands)
Samsung Galaxy S2 | Toyota Auris 1.8 HSD (white)
jaimevisser
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:29 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby northernpenguin » Wed Oct 20, 2010 3:17 pm

My only issue is that the recalculating action causes the app to miss cupcakes and / or road munching when I run on the iPhone.
Area Manager - Halton/Peel, Ontario, Canada
iPhone 4, BlackBerry Bold 9700
Toronto Area Geocacher, Ontario Trail Mapper
northernpenguin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 6:48 pm
Location: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby northernpenguin » Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:55 pm

RallyChris wrote:
northernpenguin wrote:My only issue is that the recalculating action causes the app to miss cupcakes and / or road munching when I run on the iPhone.


The road may not appear munched, but the actual points from doing so are done when the server analyzes your route in post processing. If the GPS is not so far off, that post processing can't figure out what road you were on, you got the points.

The cupcakes issue, maybe so, but it has also been found that gps inaccuracy can cause missing cupcakes, even when the snap to function of the phone put's you over one.


My experience so far has been *every* time I turn to get a cupcake (or pumpkin/ghost) that's a block or two over from my current route, the recalc causes me to miss the goodie, 100% of the time. If I turn of the routing and go around the block again, I get the credit for the goodie.

Note this is taking place in rural areas, where the nearest road running parallel is a good 2 kilometers away.

My interim solution has been simply to not use Waze for automatic routing.
GPS is normally quite reliable for me ( within 5-10 metres) when geocaching - and I dashboard mount it so I'm quite certain it's not an accuracy issue. iPhone 4.
Area Manager - Halton/Peel, Ontario, Canada
iPhone 4, BlackBerry Bold 9700
Toronto Area Geocacher, Ontario Trail Mapper
northernpenguin
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 6:48 pm
Location: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby overnow » Thu Sep 16, 2010 9:22 pm

I've been having those same recalculating problems for months. I have an htc touch pro on uscc, running windows mobile, and none of my other GPS programs (Bing, Google Maps) have this problem. I've tried to reinstall the stock rom and that didn't fix anything.
overnow
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby RallyChris » Wed Oct 20, 2010 5:58 pm

northernpenguin wrote:My only issue is that the recalculating action causes the app to miss cupcakes and / or road munching when I run on the iPhone.


The road may not appear munched, but the actual points from doing so are done when the server analyzes your route in post processing. If the GPS is not so far off, that post processing can't figure out what road you were on, you got the points.

The cupcakes issue, maybe so, but it has also been found that gps inaccuracy can cause missing cupcakes, even when the snap to function of the phone put's you over one.
Portland, OR / USA - Mega Mapper
Wiki: Area Manager | Map Editing | Known Issues List
Official Suggestion Websites (hosted by uservoice):
Waze Client | Waze Website / Editor
Image
RallyChris
 
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby RallyChris » Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:56 pm

jaimevisser wrote:Damn, opened a topic on this yesterday! People need to use search more!!


Note that the built in search on the forum is useless. The common word filter is on, and it's basically removed all the words anyone would search on. So unless people use the google search workaround
http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Sear ... mmon_words they will have a hard time finding previous conversations.
Portland, OR / USA - Mega Mapper
Wiki: Area Manager | Map Editing | Known Issues List
Official Suggestion Websites (hosted by uservoice):
Waze Client | Waze Website / Editor
Image
RallyChris
 
Posts: 2084
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby sketch » Wed Aug 18, 2010 11:38 pm

If it's possible to selectively make one sound not affect the music volume, I'd like that for the Recalculating sound. It's very nice to have for turn indications but not terribly important for recalculation.
iphone 5 • ios 7.1 • waze 3.7.9.914 • mac os 10.9.2
new orleans based • detroit enthusiast • usa country manager
2013 ford focus titanium hatchback 5mt • performance blue
Image Image
sketch
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 3532
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 459 times
Been thanked: 545 times

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby TheDane » Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:12 pm

Anyone else want the route recalculation sound toned down?

I find it extremely loud and obtrusive and thus it spoils my Waze experience (both phones so probably not a hardware issue).

When driving in (large city) rush hour traffic, traffic conditions may change quickly forcing a recalculation or I may frequently divert from the suggested route because I can visually see things Waze can't. I still want the routing as such - but also the ability to "override" by going off the suggested route for a couple of streets without constantly beeing defeaned by the recalculation tone...

What does everyone else think?
TheDane
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 9:35 am
Location: Denmark / World server
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby unwallflower » Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:39 pm

im agree hehe and also how can i do to really "cancel" the navigation, when im using the navigation feature and if try to “stop it” I cant it just kepp telling me where to go! Hehe

Press the yellow/green bar at the very bottom of the screen while navigating. Then select "stop navigation". Voila... stopped.

BTW will be nice to just select a place on the map (touching the screen on my moto-droid) and say: take me here. Cuse right now if you don’t find the place your going on “address” or if you don’t have it on “favorites” you cant use the navigate to take you there even if you know the place of it on the map

Yes, you can. This is already a feature. Long press ON the street (it's very sensitive... you have to press ON the street exactly) that you want to navigate to, and then click "set as destination".
unwallflower
 
Posts: 1564
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 6:43 pm
Location: San Diego, CA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Recalculating Route Ruins Waze

Postby yorch_ve » Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:26 pm

Ayindi wrote:Just want to add that recalculating puts a big fat black sign above the map that it recalculates... (at least on Android) Great feature to block my view to the map when I actually need to find my direction manually... :D


im agree hehe :lol: and also how can i do to really "cancel" the navigation, when im using the navigation feature and if try to “stop it” I cant it just kepp telling me where to go! Hehe

BTW will be nice to just select a place on the map (touching the screen on my moto-droid) and say: take me here. Cuse right now if you don’t find the place your going on “address” or if you don’t have it on “favorites” you cant use the navigate to take you there even if you know the place of it on the map
yorch_ve
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 4:40 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Website, Community, General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Helgramite