Abilities you'd like to see

If you think you've found a bug on the website which isn't specifically an App or Map Editor problem, or have a request for new or modified feature of the Community, Forums, or Waze website, use this forum.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Abilities you'd like to see

Postby bozwell » Mon May 21, 2012 4:15 pm

And I thought I was a pedant ;)
bozwell
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:44 pm
Location: Reading, UK
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Abilities you'd like to see

Postby bozwell » Fri Apr 27, 2012 9:57 am

thumpersfoot wrote:I would like to be able to edit other peoples notifications. Sometimes people post that there are police officers or accidents but when I drive though they are cleared. It would be nice to delete them.


The down side of that would be a Police Officer could clear them when they are still there.
bozwell
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:44 pm
Location: Reading, UK
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Abilities you'd like to see

Postby bluepawel » Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:27 pm

Is there an option like "prefer freeway/major highways" planned in the future? This can be very helpful for wazers who can't take smaller streets, because they're traveling in truck or with heavy trailer.
bluepawel
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2012 11:43 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Abilities you'd like to see

Postby BlazeTool » Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:57 am

galanwilliams wrote:Also, the "Is the policeman / broken down car / etc. still there?" comes up and disappears long before I can tell if the problem is still there... it needs to remain visible at least until the spot is reached, preferably for a couple tenths of a mile afterwards.


For me at least, the Thanks/Not There pops up at least a quarter mile before you get to the spot, stays up counting down the distance until you get to the spot of the report, and then changes to a 12 second countdown until it auto-closes (2/10 mile at 60 mph).
BlazeTool
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Columbus, OH
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Re: Abilities you'd like to see

Postby BlazeTool » Mon Nov 26, 2012 7:10 pm

Kuhlkatz wrote:I personally hate this idea.
Tap and hold with your finger covering any side of 2 or 3 city blocks is about to as effective as trying to shoot a fly at 100m while just loosely aiming down the barrel of the gun, especially since you cannot move the pin that's placed.
Adding a function to use current coords at the press of a button is definitely not rocket science and is basic functionality of any other GPS.



Duangjai Samaksamarn, is that you?
Image
BlazeTool
 
Posts: 142
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:40 pm
Location: Columbus, OH
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Abilities you'd like to see

Postby bgodette » Wed May 16, 2012 1:16 am

xteejx wrote:How do you preplan a trip and ask to arrive at a certain time though? A US server thing?
Not yet implemented, but was on the roadmap of what they'd like to do. The widget sorta does this now, just no alerts, you have to query it manually, and it only works for home/work instead of general destinations.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 538 times

Re: Re: Abilities you'd like to see

Postby bgodette » Thu May 10, 2012 7:51 pm

gerben wrote:Theo once stated that it works like 3.

It will have to work that way, if it doesn't already, to support T.O.D. turn restrictions and direction. The only thing I've ever experienced that hints at it currently working that way, and can be caused by something else, is routing differences at controlled lefts. There might be a way to deduce if it does, and the resolution of historical data, with the widget.

It's all my phone's fault for using Tapatalk.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 538 times

Re: Re: Re: Re: Abilities you'd like to see

Postby bgodette » Thu May 10, 2012 4:14 pm

fvbommel wrote:
bgodette wrote:
gerben wrote:[quote="bgodette"]It has to be 10 minutes or less, else the Andoid widget wouldn't show different ETAs for each 10 minute interval it requests.

Not necessarily... Maybe the widget ask for ETA's for 10 minute intervals.

The widget asks for 10 minute intervals, however if the averages are for a period greater than 10 minutes you'll end up with two or more intervals with the same ETA. Since that doesn't happen, the averages must but at most 10 minutes.

Not necessarily. If you start 10 minutes later you will reach a new time slot "earlier" in your drive (assuming the trip takes long enough).

For example: say your trip takes about 45 minutes. If you start 10 minutes into a 30 minute slot the first 20 minutes will be in slot A and the second 25 will be in slot B.
If on the other hand you start 10 minutes later (20 minutes into the slot), only the first 10 minutes will be in slot A, the next 30 will be in slot B and the last 5 in slot C.[/quote]
Unfortunately no, not with how Waze's routing works so far. It does not appear to take into account *when* you will reach a particular segment or junction, else Waze could avoid that jam that doesn't exist yet when you start your route, but will be there by the time you reach it without a reroute when you get near. AFAIK I've never seen or heard of Waze doing that. They will eventually need to add support for doing that just to be able to support Time of Day turn restrictions which is a more direct use of "when will I be at junction X".

Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 538 times

Re: Re: Re: Abilities you'd like to see

Postby bgodette » Wed May 09, 2012 1:06 am

gerben wrote:
bgodette wrote:
gerben wrote:Waze uses 30 minute intervals of historical speed data during route calculation.
It has to be 10 minutes or less, else the Andoid widget wouldn't show different ETAs for each 10 minute interval it requests.

Not necessarily... Maybe the widget ask for ETA's for 10 minute intervals.

The widget asks for 10 minute intervals, however if the averages are for a period greater than 10 minutes you'll end up with two or more intervals with the same ETA. Since that doesn't happen, the averages must but at most 10 minutes.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 538 times

Re: Re: Abilities you'd like to see

Postby bgodette » Tue May 08, 2012 7:07 am

gerben wrote:Waze uses 30 minute intervals of historical speed data during route calculation.
It has to be 10 minutes or less, else the Andoid widget wouldn't show different ETAs for each 10 minute interval it requests.


It's all my phone's fault for using Tapatalk.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 538 times

PreviousNext

Return to Website & Community Issues and Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users