More information on what was done about my problem report?

If you think you've found a bug on the website which isn't specifically an App or Map Editor problem, or have a request for new or modified feature of the Community, Forums, or Waze website, use this forum.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Re: More information on what was done about my problem r

Postby Laakkus » Wed Nov 14, 2012 5:10 am

jasonh300 wrote:
You can look at the segments around the area and see if they were edited recently. If you're uncertain, the name of the person who responded to your request is there .


And for that, a great tool is color highlights userscript.
Just smudged the touchscreen with Tapatalk
Laakkus
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:48 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: More information on what was done about my problem repor

Postby tgp1994 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:13 am

Well, shoot, now I know to RTFM a little more when I'm making a change :). I know it was a small deal, but I appreciate the effort. Thank you!
tgp1994
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:18 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: More information on what was done about my problem repor

Postby jasonh300 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 12:40 am

The driveway is a dead end, but didn't have an end node, so it's as good as not there. Waze can't route to or from a point on a road without a node on both ends.

I fixed it for you. That will most likely solve the problem.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7567
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 403 times
Been thanked: 978 times

Re: More information on what was done about my problem repor

Postby tgp1994 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:19 pm

Ok, here's what I'm looking at.
tgp1994
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:18 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: More information on what was done about my problem repor

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:15 am

tgp1994 wrote:I was just assuming that Waze was using some sort of cached routing information, and it was snapping to the closest road or something... Just a guess :)


Sadly, it doesn't. Both providers stay in the same location, on the main road.


Waze will route to the closest point on a road to the GPS coordinates of the destination. So you were right that putting in a driveway or a parking lot road will often fix this sort of thing...as long as that parking lot road is closer to the actual destination point than the road. It sounds like this is the issue.

I think you're on the right track but post a permalink to the location and let me take a look at it and I'll be able to give you a better explanation.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7567
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 403 times
Been thanked: 978 times

Re: More information on what was done about my problem repor

Postby tgp1994 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:17 am

jasonh300 wrote:If that's the point where it's routing to, that's not going to change by adding a driveway.


I was just assuming that Waze was using some sort of cached routing information, and it was snapping to the closest road or something... Just a guess :)

jasonh300 wrote:When you search for a location in the Waze app, you have the option of switching to Bing or Google as a search provider. If you do that, does it route properly?


Sadly, it doesn't. Both providers stay in the same location, on the main road.
tgp1994
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:18 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: More information on what was done about my problem repor

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 1:10 am

tgp1994 wrote:I would like to update this (sorry for the bump though):

I just entered the address both into Bing and Google Maps; they pinpoint the location directly in the middle of the building. Waze, however, still prefers to route to some odd point on the main road off of the hotels driveway. Does waze take a somewhat long time to take new road additions into consideration when it's routing? I'm pretty sure I added the driveway in a few weeks ago.


If that's the point where it's routing to, that's not going to change by adding a driveway. When you search for a location in the Waze app, you have the option of switching to Bing or Google as a search provider. If you do that, does it route properly?
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7567
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 403 times
Been thanked: 978 times

Re: More information on what was done about my problem repor

Postby tgp1994 » Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:59 am

I would like to update this (sorry for the bump though):

I just entered the address both into Bing and Google Maps; they pinpoint the location directly in the middle of the building. Waze, however, still prefers to route to some odd point on the main road off of the hotels driveway. Does waze take a somewhat long time to take new road additions into consideration when it's routing? I'm pretty sure I added the driveway in a few weeks ago.
tgp1994
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:18 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: More information on what was done about my problem repor

Postby tgp1994 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 1:20 am

Ah, makes sense... Well, power to the waze devs. They've been doing a great job so far :)
tgp1994
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:18 pm
Location: Michigan
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: More information on what was done about my problem repor

Postby jasonh300 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 3:48 am

tgp1994 wrote:I was reporting that an address was quite a bit off from where it should have been, the building's driveway was about 30 feet from the reported location, not to mention the actual driveway that had to be driven :( (This place isn't actually well marked on the road, the sign kind of comes up pretty fast).


While we now have the ability to enter addresses into the editor to correct bad locations, there are still some bugs in the system, and as of right now, the client app doesn't reference that data when looking up an address.

Locations are looked up via Bing or Google, which then returns GPS coordinates to Waze. Waze then routes to those coordinates.

The problem is likely with Bing or Google. Whoever responded to your Update Request should've marked it "Not Identified", rather than "Solved".
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7567
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 403 times
Been thanked: 978 times

Next

Return to Website & Community Issues and Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users