Smarter Route Selection

If you think you've found a bug on the website which isn't specifically an App or Map Editor problem, or have a request for new or modified feature of the Community, Forums, or Waze website, use this forum.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Smarter Route Selection

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun May 26, 2013 1:20 am

This is still important to provide:
xteejx wrote:Can you ... give a permalink so someone can look into it.

dgb2n wrote:I wonder if there isn't a change in the routing algorithm based on the length of the route (somewhere around 20-25 miles). Any ideas?

There are road type routing preferences based on distance which will affect Waze's routing selection. Unfortunately. There is testing going on with new routing code, which is going through iterations of tweaks and adjustments. Hopefully, we'll land on something really good in the next few months.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19467
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

Re: Smarter Route Selection

Postby CBenson » Thu May 30, 2013 3:13 pm

Could you post the permalinks to the livemap routes. Create the routes in the livemap that the screenshot show, then without zooming click the "powered by waze" logo in the upper right. A URL should be created (sometimes in a new tab or window). If you paste that in a post here, we can then duplicate this specific route.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6880
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 435 times
Been thanked: 987 times

Smarter Route Selection

Postby dgb2n » Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:00 pm

I use Waze on my regular commute here in suburban Detroit. There are a number of routes to my destination which Waze has to select from depending on traffic conditions. The route with the highest average speed is the interstate. The shortest route is a high speed 3 lane (each direction) cross street. The difference in distance between the routes is substantial (at least 5 miles or more than 20%).

Oftentimes, Waze doesn't select the faster and shorter route on its own. I have to select "Routes" and then select the cross street route instead of the Interstate even when it shows as on parity (or even shorter) time wise and a much shorter distance.

It would be really great if there was an option for "Smart Routing" which selects the longer interstate route but only if it saved a certain % of the total time (for my 40 minute commute, I'd think it would be something like 2-3 minutes or 5%).
Area Manager for the northern suburbs of Detroit and Oakland County
Email: dgb2n@yahoo.com
dgb2n
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:14 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Smarter Route Selection

Postby dgb2n » Fri May 24, 2013 11:36 pm

I realize I posted this a while ago but these images show the problem very clearly.

This first image shows Waze offering two good routes. Notice how the shorter route goes directly up Mound Rd and then routes onto a freeway. Mound Rd is listed as a Primary Street.

Image

In this second image, I've moved the destination just about a mile further north on the same road. This time, it refuses to route directly up Mound Rd and instead routes across on a major side street over to Van Dyke Ave (even though this route is clearly longer and the only change to the destination is adding an extra mile north).

Image

On the reverse route, it seems to capture it properly (going from the Rochester Area to the Warren Area). For whatever reason, the routing algorithm will continue to try and push me over onto Van Dyke until I get north of Metro Parkway (the east west road that it routes me over onto) and then the client will show the route directly up Mound Rd. When it recalculates, usually the time to my destination is at least 5 minutes faster than the previous route (over onto Van Dyke).

I wonder if there isn't a change in the routing algorithm based on the length of the route (somewhere around 20-25 miles). Any ideas?
Area Manager for the northern suburbs of Detroit and Oakland County
Email: dgb2n@yahoo.com
dgb2n
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:14 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Smarter Route Selection

Postby dgb2n » Sun May 26, 2013 12:14 pm

I'd like to volunteer for this specific route to be a test case for the new routing algorithms.

For whatever reason, it really seems to struggle to choose the right route or even list it among the options whenever the destination is at or north of the destination shown in the second image.

The preferred route (along the interstates from 696 to 75) is substantially longer (perhaps 7 miles or nearly 30%). When it does offer a route taking the surface streets, it always routes me over to Van Dyke even though that route is longer. Once I get north of 16 mile road (also called metro parkway), it recalculates and puts me on the correct road and usually it calculates my arrival time at least 5 minutes faster than the originally recommended route. I can grab some screen captures from my next commute if it helps to illustrate this.

I'm very thankful for the responses and hope this can make Waze an even better app.
Area Manager for the northern suburbs of Detroit and Oakland County
Email: dgb2n@yahoo.com
dgb2n
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:14 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Smarter Route Selection

Postby razor2k » Sun May 26, 2013 3:45 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:There are road type routing preferences based on distance which will affect Waze's routing selection. Unfortunately. There is testing going on with new routing code, which is going through iterations of tweaks and adjustments. Hopefully, we'll land on something really good in the next few months.


I may be wrong :oops: But I was under the impression that road types had nothing to do with with the routing algorithm (from my recollection at the meet-up). If fine tuning by making road types applicable....I'm all for it. We'll just have to make sure there is no ambiguity amongst all editors to type a road correctly.

Again, I may have missed something about distance. I just remember skbun's presentation and what Ehud had to say.
Area Manager: Pinellas, Pasco & Hillsborough Counties FL
Phone: Samsung GS 2, Sprint, Android 4.1.2
Waze: 3.7.2

Waze FAQ...Best Map Editing Practice...Correct Server?...User Manual
razor2k
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 694
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 8:40 pm
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Smarter Route Selection

Postby robc007 » Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:03 pm

Level 3 I-94 Commuter
robc007
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 11:44 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Smarter Route Selection

Postby xteejx » Mon Mar 18, 2013 12:43 am

It should do this by design. It may be that there are map errors or not enough data for those roads.
Can you tell us the country, area and give a permalink so someone can look into it.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
xteejx
 
Posts: 2484
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 26 times


Return to Website & Community Issues and Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users