How does Waze updates maps

If you think you've found a bug on the website which isn't specifically an App or Map Editor problem, or have a request for new or modified feature of the Community, Forums, or Waze website, use this forum.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: How does Waze updates maps

Postby Timbones » Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:52 pm

Waze cannot update the maps on-the-fly if there's no telephone signal available, but it will be able to access parts of the map that it has previously downloaded. So, while connected to a Wifi network, you can plot a route and pan across the map, and Waze will download the map that it needs. This will then be available while driving.

Your Mileage May Vary.
Timbones(6) • UK Coordinator • Forum Moderator • Routing Expert
Scripts: WME Colour HighlightsWME Route Tester
Timbones
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5244
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:33 am
Location: York, UK
Has thanked: 507 times
Been thanked: 1652 times

How does Waze updates maps

Postby world_28pydllj » Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:38 am

How does Waze updates maps on-the-fly in a location where there is NO telephone system available, as in a remote road ?
This is a situation very common in Brasil I do have to keep my Garmin GPS device on a longer trip.
world_28pydllj
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 6:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How does Waze updates maps

Postby world_28pydllj » Fri Nov 22, 2013 1:41 pm

Perfect !
That was my understanding, but need confirmation.
Thank you.
world_28pydllj
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 6:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Website & Community Issues and Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users