[Page update] Places#Closed

Moderators: MapSir, USA Champs

Re: [Page update] Places#Closed

Postby subs5 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:31 pm

Karto,
Overall looks very good. Nice job on the tablee.

I would recommend not changing the gas station AP to other, (at least if it was one of the imports with backend supported feed. I would think changing the category might break that. So w/o confirmation from staff, would have words, "Leave Gas Station category as is for temp closed or under construction stations".
subs5
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1731
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Virginia, USA
Has thanked: 567 times
Been thanked: 894 times

Re: [Page update] Places#Closed

Postby Kartografer » Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:52 pm

Changing categories doesn't break stuff like that though, as feeds are tied to place ID. It merely hides information that would normally be shown.
[ img ]
Galaxy S9 running Pie on Mint
SM Ohio, AM New Mexico, South Dakota
Wazeopedia projects
Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.
-John 8:32
Kartografer
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Has thanked: 510 times
Been thanked: 738 times

Re: [Page update] Places#Closed

Postby RussPA » Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:58 pm

Kartografer wrote:Changing categories doesn't break stuff like that though, as feeds are tied to place ID. It merely hides information that would normally be shown.

That's what I've been told as well, it's the place ID that does all the work.
[ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ][ img ] [ img ]
Assistant Regional Coordinator - NOR
Local Champ - US
WME Beta Community Coordinator
RussPA
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 2579
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 345 times
Been thanked: 1029 times

Re: [Page update] Places#Closed

Postby subs5 » Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:03 pm

Ok, I hadn't heard that before, so no problem with changing the category then for the under renovation or construction of new places.
subs5
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1731
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Virginia, USA
Has thanked: 567 times
Been thanked: 894 times

Re: [Page update] Places#Closed

Postby Kartografer » Fri Aug 17, 2018 12:57 pm

The change has been made. Thanks for all the feedback
[ img ]
Galaxy S9 running Pie on Mint
SM Ohio, AM New Mexico, South Dakota
Wazeopedia projects
Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.
-John 8:32
Kartografer
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Has thanked: 510 times
Been thanked: 738 times

Re: [Page update] Places#Closed

Postby Kartografer » Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:08 pm

I also added a reminder to do a trigger edit when changing an area place to point, due to suggestions from some Virginia editors
[ img ]
Galaxy S9 running Pie on Mint
SM Ohio, AM New Mexico, South Dakota
Wazeopedia projects
Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.
-John 8:32
Kartografer
Wiki Master
Wiki Master
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Has thanked: 510 times
Been thanked: 738 times

Re: [Page update] Places#Closed

Postby RussPA » Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:26 pm

I'm not sure trigger edits are necessary to mention, I've never run into that problem. That was the thinking behind HNs too and it turned out to not be necessary. If places are on a separate server update "layer" than segments (like HNs are separate), then trigger edits don't serve any purpose.
[ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ] [ img ][ img ] [ img ]
Assistant Regional Coordinator - NOR
Local Champ - US
WME Beta Community Coordinator
RussPA
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 2579
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 9:05 pm
Location: Bucks County, Pennsylvania
Has thanked: 345 times
Been thanked: 1029 times

Re: [Page update] Places#Closed

Postby jm6087 » Fri Aug 17, 2018 9:07 pm

The data on a place does not need a trigger but I was thinking the trigger update is needed for the change from a point to area or area to point.
jm6087
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 3319
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 560 times
Been thanked: 1351 times

Re: [Page update] Places#Closed

Postby ldriveskier » Sat Aug 18, 2018 1:44 am

The trigger update was referring to the name that is displayed in the app. However, I'm wondering if a map refresh in the app would work just as well. I'ver never personally run into this problem.

From the #virginia channel in Discord today:
kodi75 (5)Today at 2:35 PM
Regarding the "temporarily closed" gas station discussion at 9:40AM today, it helps to change the Gas Station to a "point" as well, then restore to area place .. that ensures the map is refreshed. Else the name "closed" is often retained in the user's map

SirGadwall (4) VA SMToday at 2:40 PM
@kodi75 (5) bumping a seg nearby seems to have the same effect of forcing the name update. Probably should add the "Change it to a point" tip to the Closed instructions to benefit everyone and not just VA. Learned that the hard way in more inexperienced days. Kept getting URs for a remodeled Sheetz saying it was closed. Was like "I set the hours back and updated the name 2 weeks ago
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
USA CM, MAR MSM, WV SM, NE OH LAM (resident of Ohio)
ldriveskier
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:05 pm
Location: Northeast Ohio, United States
Has thanked: 1123 times
Been thanked: 898 times

Re: [Page update] Places#Closed

Postby jm6087 » Sat Aug 18, 2018 2:18 am

Since the name is only shown in the app on area places, I am guessing that the visible name in the app is part of the polygon data and not the details and would require the trigger update for the tiles.
jm6087
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 3319
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 10:05 pm
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 560 times
Been thanked: 1351 times

PreviousNext

Return to US Wiki Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users