Road with Zero Data

Moderators: Unholy, cherianchris

Road with Zero Data

Postby cherianchris » Sat Dec 22, 2012 5:42 pm

Road with Zero Data.JPG
Road with Zero Data.JPG (146.35 KiB) Viewed 1048 times

Please look at the following segment. Created on Aug 3, 2010,and edited by Indian Wazers this road gathered zero data from user drives.Why ? Because the user did not use the GPS layer, while updating the segment. I corrected the geometry of this segment today, but it really sucks that this segment sat for almost two and a half years gathering dust. Indian Wazers on this forum please ensure that you match the GPS tracks in all situations, and more so when Bing Imagery is unclear or unavailable. Also, think very carefully before deleting a road segment as it destroys a lot of recorded speed data, which makes Waze work efficiently.

This is what happens when rookie Wazers edit the map, just for points, without caring a bit for the user experience. :evil:

https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&l ... FFTFTTTTFT

Have A Great Weekend !

Chris
Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Road with Zero Data

Postby cherianchris » Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:50 am

I missed out on that.. It's only when I finished correcting the geometry I noticed that it was a very long segment.
It was a straight line. No curves at all on the segment..

Sent from my MB526 using Tapatalk 2
Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Road with Zero Data

Postby cherianchris » Tue Feb 05, 2013 1:24 pm

Could you please post a Permalink to the area please?

Chris->MB526->Tapatalk 2
Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: Road with Zero Data

Postby Kuhlkatz » Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:43 am

Vinod,

You need the WME Color Highlight script installed. Discussed in the [url][Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov 16[/url] forum.

The script is available at http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/141050.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
Using HTC One, Stock ROM, Android 4.2.2
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 130 times

Re: Road with Zero Data

Postby madhuvsan » Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:58 pm

Hi Chris,
I have encountered a situation due to this shift. The road is divided by a median and there are 2 one ways in both directions. Waze records speed for only one segment A--> B, and B-->A (non-zero speed). The other adjacent segment has zero speed data.
How do we fix this issue? Just fix the geometry of the shifted segment?

Regards
Madhu
madhuvsan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 4:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Road with Zero Data

Postby Parithosh » Wed Dec 26, 2012 9:49 pm

cherianchris wrote:Please look at the following segment. Created on Aug 3, 2010,and edited by Indian Wazers this road gathered zero data from user drives.Why ? Because the user did not use the GPS layer, while updating the segment. I corrected the geometry of this segment today, but it really sucks that this segment sat for almost two and a half years gathering dust. Indian Wazers on this forum please ensure that you match the GPS tracks in all situations, and more so when Bing Imagery is unclear or unavailable. Also, think very carefully before deleting a road segment as it destroys a lot of recorded speed data, which makes Waze work efficiently.


Do you have a screenshot of the map before you made the changes?
Area Manager - Mumbai, India.

Image
Parithosh
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:51 pm
Location: Mumbai, India.
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Road with Zero Data

Postby vcoolvin » Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:02 am

cherianchris wrote:
Road with Zero Data.JPG

Please look at the following segment. Created on Aug 3, 2010,and edited by Indian Wazers this road gathered zero data from user drives.Why ? Because the user did not use the GPS layer, while updating the segment. I corrected the geometry of this segment today, but it really sucks that this segment sat for almost two and a half years gathering dust. Indian Wazers on this forum please ensure that you match the GPS tracks in all situations, and more so when Bing Imagery is unclear or unavailable. Also, think very carefully before deleting a road segment as it destroys a lot of recorded speed data, which makes Waze work efficiently.

This is what happens when rookie Wazers edit the map, just for points, without caring a bit for the user experience. :evil:

https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&l ... FFTFTTTTFT

Have A Great Weekend !

Chris



Hi Chris,

Could you tell me how do you get that speed data to display.

Vinod
vcoolvin
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: India
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Road with Zero Data

Postby vcoolvin » Wed Dec 26, 2012 11:07 am

Kuhlkatz wrote:Vinod,

You need the WME Color Highlight script installed. Discussed in the [url][Script] Highlights for Segments & Landmarks - v1.5 Nov 16[/url] forum.

The script is available at http://userscripts.org/scripts/show/141050.




Thank you Kuhlkatz :) will browse through that forum right away...
vcoolvin
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: India
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 8 times


Return to India

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users