Waze Map Problem Reporting, for New Indian Wazers

Image

Moderators: Unholy, cherianchris

Re: Waze Map Problem Reporting, for New Indian Wazers

Postby cherianchris » Fri Feb 22, 2013 1:18 pm

Puneet,

I have fixed the POI, and left it unlocked.

Chris
Image Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 73 times

Re: Waze Map Problem Reporting, for New Indian Wazers

Postby tushki_s » Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:18 am

Hi Chris
I have got a problem. I have been adding landmarks for a while now & while adding a GAS STATION i have to choose a brand & only one of'em can be chosen. The problem is many petrol pumps in Delhi have started CNG outlets in the existing petrol pumps. So my question is how to add two brands in a single gas station so that users can also know about the CNG pumps which is within a petrol pump ???
Image
AM - Delhi NCR
Iphone 5/OS 6.1.2/Waze 3.6.0.0
tushki_s
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:19 pm
Location: New Delhi, India
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Waze Map Problem Reporting, for New Indian Wazers

Postby lunarplexus » Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:33 pm

violetprime wrote:Hi Chris
I have got a problem. I have been adding landmarks for a while now & while adding a GAS STATION i have to choose a brand & only one of'em can be chosen. The problem is many petrol pumps in Delhi have started CNG outlets in the existing petrol pumps. So my question is how to add two brands in a single gas station so that users can also know about the CNG pumps which is within a petrol pump ???


Hi Violetprime,

I would recommend you add the details of the primary brand of the gas station and include "Petrol & CNG Station" in the name or description. Of course, many Indaprastha Gas stations are next to regular pumps so you can add them as a separate landmark.

Chris, do you agree?

All the best
Wazers, keep on Wazin'!

Lunarplexus
Level 5 Editor | Area Manager - New Delhi NCR | Country Manager - India
Beta Editor Expert | Android Expert
Moto G (2nd Gen) Titan Prime ROM (Android 5.0.2)
lunarplexus
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:26 pm
Location: New Delhi
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Waze Map Problem Reporting, for New Indian Wazers

Postby tushki_s » Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:10 pm

hi lunarplexus

i have been doing the same as you suggested, have been adding it in the description. I wanted to know if its possible if the feature of adding two brands in one could be added...

BTW, Chris told me that you are from Delhi too...
Image
AM - Delhi NCR
Iphone 5/OS 6.1.2/Waze 3.6.0.0
tushki_s
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 2:19 pm
Location: New Delhi, India
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Waze Map Problem Reporting, for New Indian Wazers

Postby cherianchris » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:55 pm

Hey Tushar,

Thank you for raising this topic. lunarplexus and me had a long discussion over this, and have come to a solution, wherein, you would need to map two Gas Stations next to each other. One dispensing Normal Fuel, and the other dispensing CNG. The reason this would work out best is that, as and when Waze activates Gas Prices in India, the prices are Brand Specific.

Like you mentioned, Delhi has numerous Gas Stations which vend different brands of fuel at one Gas Station. To adapt Waze to such a situation, we will map two Gas Stations at the same physical location. The first will carry the normal fuel Brand, the the Second will carry the CNG brand. Every fuel station which dispenses CNG and normal fuel will need to have an additional Gas Station mapped solely for the purpose of showing the CNG prices to Wazers. It will help to name these CNG Gas Stations with "CNG" mentioned at the end of the nomenclature.

I trust this is clear. :)

Chris
Image Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 73 times

Re: Waze Map Problem Reporting, for New Indian Wazers

Postby lunarplexus » Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:10 am

violetprime wrote:hi lunarplexus

i have been doing the same as you suggested, have been adding it in the description. I wanted to know if its possible if the feature of adding two brands in one could be added...

BTW, Chris told me that you are from Delhi too...


Righto! Issue sorted :) And yes, I am in Delhi. I've also started a group on Waze called Waze India Delhi NCR where you can join in and discuss any other problems or suggestions you may have, on the fly.

Or, of course, this forum is always there. :)
Wazers, keep on Wazin'!

Lunarplexus
Level 5 Editor | Area Manager - New Delhi NCR | Country Manager - India
Beta Editor Expert | Android Expert
Moto G (2nd Gen) Titan Prime ROM (Android 5.0.2)
lunarplexus
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:26 pm
Location: New Delhi
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Waze Map Problem Reporting, for New Indian Wazers

Postby cherianchris » Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:30 am

sk2380 wrote:Hi Chris,

I am attaching the permalink for the UR.

The problem area, is there are three gas station near by but only one is visible client App. I tried updating the other two, but still the same.

https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&l ... TTTTTTTTFT

I hope you can solve this.


Dear Sk,

Solved

Chris
Image Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 73 times

Re: Waze Map Problem Reporting, for New Indian Wazers

Postby cherianchris » Mon Feb 25, 2013 8:31 am

sk2380 wrote:I am not able to find that street now! :(

Another query, in a gas station is placed where in there is no address mentioned and I was trying to update it but it said you have no permission todo it so !

Here is the permalink

https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&l ... TTTTTTTTFT


Dear Sk,

Solved

Chris
Image Image
cherianchris
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 73 times

Waze Map Problem Reporting, for New Indian Wazers

Postby sk2380 » Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:15 am

cherianchris wrote:
sk2380 wrote:I am not able to find that street now! :(

Another query, in a gas station is placed where in there is no address mentioned and I was trying to update it but it said you have no permission todo it so !

Here is the permalink

https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&l ... TTTTTTTTFT


Dear Sk,

Solved

Chris






Thanks a lot chris, Anyways will check it online as well.

I was away for quiet some time lot many things have changed need to get in touch with you for some help !

Regards,
sk.
sk2380
CM India

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
sk2380
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 8:41 pm
Location: India
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Waze Map Problem Reporting, for New Indian Wazers

Postby pmnarsapur » Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:12 am

Hi All,

I got two queries:

1. Abbrevation pronunciation for Indian streets on Waze App:
Many streets in India have some abbrevations that the Waze App doesn't pronunce correctly.
Such as
a. "Dr." is pronunced as "Drive" (Which is right according to the TTS wiki), however in India its actually referred to as "Doctor", as in "Dr. Ambedkar Rd" or "Dr. Kelkar. Rd."
b. Few of the roads in Pune (haven't checked in other places) have "Marg" at their end, kindof meaning a path. However, Waze app pronunces this as "Marginal" or something of that sort. "Marg" is nowhere mentioned in the TTS Wiki as well.

My question is what should be the ideal way of naming the streets in such cases? Should they be corrected according to the way Waze pronunces it and keep the original name in "Alternate name" fields? Or is there any other way.

2. Regarding Naming conventions on Major Highways:
According to the India Wiki http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/How_ ... Convention, every major/minor national/state highways are to be named "from Major town to Major town".
If the highway is already split into two-way streets, should each street be named according to the direction it is going?
For Ex. Street going from Pune to Satara be named as "Pune - Satara Hwy (SH 84)" and street going from Satara to Pune (next to the one described above) be named as "Satara - Pune Hwy (SH 84)"? or should they both be named as "Pune - Satara Hwy (SH 84)"?
In the first case the incidence report will show exactly in which direction the traffic is jammed/moving, while in the second case, we only know that there is a jam but in which direction is not much clear.
Image
pmnarsapur
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 4:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

PreviousNext

Return to India

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users