Replacing the Base-Map in India (now live!)

[ img ]

Moderators: Unholy, cherianchris, Marcin_S, moweez

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby Unholy » Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:11 am

Hi folks,

We anticipate that the replacement of the map will be delayed once again.
Our current estimation is that the replacement will take place in the next couple of days.


Thanks,


Ori
Unholy
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:42 pm
Location: Waze HQ
Has thanked: 342 times
Been thanked: 1093 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby foxitrot » Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:48 am

Ori, is it still bound to appearance of new tiles?
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7244
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2647 times
Been thanked: 1165 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby cherianchris » Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:56 am

Unholy wrote:Hi folks,

We anticipate that the replacement of the map will be delayed once again.
Our current estimation is that the replacement will take place in the next couple of days.


Thanks,


Ori


Thank you Ori..

Chris->MB526->Tapatalk 4
“It is not power that corrupts, but fear. Fear of losing power corrupts those who wield it, and fear of the scourge of power, corrupts those who are subject to it.”
[ img ]
cherianchris
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 83 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby coolncute » Tue Sep 24, 2013 6:13 am

Seems things are getting messed up. I will be going to OSM for my mapping contribution, but will still use waze to help other wazers(if any in Bangalore, I dont see much of them though)! It was good time here, driving 300+km just within a month. Have good times ahead folks...
coolncute
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:46 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby lunarplexus » Tue Sep 24, 2013 6:55 am

coolncute wrote:Seems things are getting messed up. I will be going to OSM for my mapping contribution, but will still use waze to help other wazers(if any in Bangalore, I dont see much of them though)! It was good time here, driving 300+km just within a month. Have good times ahead folks...


Just bad timing, buddy. It's good you're already helping drivers out and hope you keep doing so. And hope you do come back sometime and continue the work you started with waze.

Sent from my GT-I8552 using Tapatalk 4
Wazers, keep on Wazin'!

Lunarplexus
Level 5 Editor | Area Manager: New Delhi NCR | Country Manager: India | Global Champ
Platform: iOS on iPhone X
lunarplexus
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:26 pm
Location: New Delhi
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby cherianchris » Tue Sep 24, 2013 9:09 am

Basemap import is complete.. :)

Chris->MB526->Tapatalk 4
“It is not power that corrupts, but fear. Fear of losing power corrupts those who wield it, and fear of the scourge of power, corrupts those who are subject to it.”
[ img ]
cherianchris
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 83 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby Unholy » Tue Sep 24, 2013 10:59 am

Hi folks!

...And we're on - The new map is now live in India!
Please try it out, we would love to hear any feedback you may have.


Thank you very much for your support, help and patience.

Ori
Unholy
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:42 pm
Location: Waze HQ
Has thanked: 342 times
Been thanked: 1093 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India (now live!)

Postby lunarplexus » Tue Sep 24, 2013 1:26 pm

Unholy wrote:Hi folks!

...And we're on - The new map is now live in India!
Please try it out, we would love to hear any feedback you may have.


Thank you very much for your support, help and patience.

Ori


Thanks Ori. One of my biggest wishes of road alignment seem to have been granted. Woohoo!

However, I do have a few questions.

The city names, at least for new Delhi, is written in hindi script. I presume changing them to English or keeping them like this would be a call taken by Indian wazers, or is there a standard we need to follow?

I've noticed a lot of names of neighbourhoods appearing at the 200 mtr resolution. But I can't see the names when I zoom in or in the segment details. How can they be edited?

Sent from my GT-I8552 using Tapatalk 4
Wazers, keep on Wazin'!

Lunarplexus
Level 5 Editor | Area Manager: New Delhi NCR | Country Manager: India | Global Champ
Platform: iOS on iPhone X
lunarplexus
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:26 pm
Location: New Delhi
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India (now live!)

Postby cherianchris » Tue Sep 24, 2013 2:28 pm

lunarplexus wrote:
Thanks Ori. One of my biggest wishes of road alignment seem to have been granted. Woohoo!

However, I do have a few questions.

The city names, at least for new Delhi, is written in hindi script. I presume changing them to English or keeping them like this would be a call taken by Indian wazers, or is there a standard we need to follow?


Indian Wazers will take a call on this Abhijit..

lunarplexus wrote: I've noticed a lot of names of neighbourhoods appearing at the 200 mtr resolution. But I can't see the names when I zoom in or in the segment details. How can they be edited?


You need to use the Highlighter script please..



Chris->MB526->Tapatalk 4
“It is not power that corrupts, but fear. Fear of losing power corrupts those who wield it, and fear of the scourge of power, corrupts those who are subject to it.”
[ img ]
cherianchris
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 83 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India (now live!)

Postby coolncute » Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:23 am

Now, in my area double roads are shown ! Anyway, I have stopped editing, just FYI. Check here:

https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&l ... TFTTTTTTFT
coolncute
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:46 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to India

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron