Replacing the Base-Map in India (now live!)

Image

Moderators: Unholy, cherianchris, Marcin_S, moweez

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby foxitrot » Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:48 am

Ori, is it still bound to appearance of new tiles?
...with the good old crashing :roll: Symbian 2.1.99.114 (on N-E52), while
trying to get used to the good new asocial Android 4.xx.0.yyy (on OP-X March-me-Low).
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7227
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2609 times
Been thanked: 1158 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India (now live!)

Postby coolncute » Thu Sep 26, 2013 11:23 am

Now, in my area double roads are shown ! Anyway, I have stopped editing, just FYI. Check here:

https://world.waze.com/editor/?zoom=6&l ... TFTTTTTTFT
coolncute
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:46 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby coolncute » Tue Sep 24, 2013 6:13 am

Seems things are getting messed up. I will be going to OSM for my mapping contribution, but will still use waze to help other wazers(if any in Bangalore, I dont see much of them though)! It was good time here, driving 300+km just within a month. Have good times ahead folks...
coolncute
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:46 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby coolncute » Mon Sep 23, 2013 2:09 am

Still going on? Any updates?
coolncute
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:46 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India (now live!)

Postby cherianchris » Tue Sep 24, 2013 2:28 pm

lunarplexus wrote:
Thanks Ori. One of my biggest wishes of road alignment seem to have been granted. Woohoo!

However, I do have a few questions.

The city names, at least for new Delhi, is written in hindi script. I presume changing them to English or keeping them like this would be a call taken by Indian wazers, or is there a standard we need to follow?


Indian Wazers will take a call on this Abhijit..

lunarplexus wrote: I've noticed a lot of names of neighbourhoods appearing at the 200 mtr resolution. But I can't see the names when I zoom in or in the segment details. How can they be edited?


You need to use the Highlighter script please..



Chris->MB526->Tapatalk 4
“It is not power that corrupts but fear. Fear of losing power corrupts those who wield it and fear of the scourge of power corrupts those who are subject to it.” Image Image
cherianchris
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 82 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby cherianchris » Tue Sep 24, 2013 9:09 am

Basemap import is complete.. :)

Chris->MB526->Tapatalk 4
“It is not power that corrupts but fear. Fear of losing power corrupts those who wield it and fear of the scourge of power corrupts those who are subject to it.” Image Image
cherianchris
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 82 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby cherianchris » Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:56 am

Unholy wrote:Hi folks,

We anticipate that the replacement of the map will be delayed once again.
Our current estimation is that the replacement will take place in the next couple of days.


Thanks,


Ori


Thank you Ori..

Chris->MB526->Tapatalk 4
“It is not power that corrupts but fear. Fear of losing power corrupts those who wield it and fear of the scourge of power corrupts those who are subject to it.” Image Image
cherianchris
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 82 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby cherianchris » Sun Sep 22, 2013 8:59 pm

The base map import has been delayed as of today.. Will post more details when I get them please.

Chris->MB526->Tapatalk 4
“It is not power that corrupts but fear. Fear of losing power corrupts those who wield it and fear of the scourge of power corrupts those who are subject to it.” Image Image
cherianchris
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 82 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby cherianchris » Sat Sep 14, 2013 9:54 am

Chennai looked like this when I started work on it.
WME Chennai.JPG
WME Chennai.JPG (217.23 KiB) Viewed 1660 times

Looks like we will be forced to start from scratch in all the Indian Cities. :(
At least the Road categorisation is in place. But will it stay ? :?
Chris
“It is not power that corrupts but fear. Fear of losing power corrupts those who wield it and fear of the scourge of power corrupts those who are subject to it.” Image Image
cherianchris
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Location: Chennai, India
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 82 times

Re: Replacing the Base-Map in India

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:48 pm

madhuvsan wrote:The other thoughts : Can Waze edits done by users be merged back to Google and then Waze completely take all the Google base map. This way both Google and Waze gets benefitted. But I am not sure how practical it would be. And this is how it should work in the interest of all Waze community..

This was answered several times in the Google joins Waze thread: No. Google maps and Waze are separate products and there is no plan to merge them. Three years from now is a different story.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ
AlanOfTheBerg
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 23618
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1108 times
Been thanked: 4825 times

PreviousNext

Return to India

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users