Embedding house numbers fix

Important messages to community users. This forum is locked (waze staff only).

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Embedding house numbers fix

Postby zottel » Mon Jul 05, 2010 10:32 pm

svache wrote:it should be possible, imho, to place any housenumber on any spot of the road.


Yes, definitely. In Germany, there are many very small villages where there are no street names at all, only house numbers. In these cases, the house numbers are spread over the village in no real order at all, simply in the order when the house was built. It's currently impossible to add these to waze.
zottel
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 11:38 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Embedding house numbers fix

Postby zottel » Mon Jul 05, 2010 10:32 pm

svache wrote:it should be possible, imho, to place any housenumber on any spot of the road.


Yes, definitely. In Germany, there are many very small villages where there are no street names at all, only house numbers. In these cases, the house numbers are spread over the village in no real order at all, simply in the order when the house was built. It's currently impossible to add these to waze.
zottel
 
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 11:38 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Embedding house numbers fix

Postby WeeeZer14 » Wed Jun 23, 2010 2:33 pm

Out of the 10's of addresses I put in, only 2 became approved. I re-approved old ones and added new ones yesterday (old ones point south and new ones point north for some reason).

https://www.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=6& ... TTFFFFTTTT
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 316 times

Re: Embedding house numbers fix

Postby Watt25 » Thu Jul 29, 2010 7:43 am

Please do something!
It's impossible to make house numbers! It's looks the chances are like a dice roll when a house number gets acepted (blue) and when not (red). Nobody creates house numbers in Hungary because it's a waste of time!
I've re-created the house number hundred times in the area linked in my previous post, but they're always turns to red.
Very-very-very-very-very-very-very-very annoying!!!
Samsung Galaxy SIII LTE - Android 4.4
Area Manager: Érd - Martonvásár - Dunaújváros háromszögben
Ford Mondeo MK2 Tournier
Watt25
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1469
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 4:36 pm
Location: Hungary - Érd
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Embedding house numbers fix

Postby Watt25 » Sun Jul 18, 2010 1:49 pm

What's the problem with these???

http://world.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=7 ... 1=90354818

I think the whole house numbering thing is still a mess.
It's imposibble to set house numbers accurately.
If I walk on a street, to set house numbers, the screen isn't updating because I walk too slow. But how should I set the house numbers when I'm driving???
It's crazy, and very annoying!
Samsung Galaxy SIII LTE - Android 4.4
Area Manager: Érd - Martonvásár - Dunaújváros háromszögben
Ford Mondeo MK2 Tournier
Watt25
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1469
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2010 4:36 pm
Location: Hungary - Érd
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Embedding house numbers fix

Postby TK80866 » Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:09 pm

rytis wrote:Why are numbers 3, 4 and 5 rejected? I don't see any problems with them...

http://world.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=4 ... TTTFFFTTTT

Hi,

It is best if you email them at alpha@waze.com, that way the Waze team sees it faster :)
Had a lot of outdated stuff here.. I should be more active, I guess ;)
TK80866
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:03 am
Location: Oahu, HI
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Embedding house numbers fix

Postby TK80866 » Fri Jul 02, 2010 3:27 am

Ok, Ill send them an email instead.. kinda thought they would be seeing it here as well lol :)

Kind odd it has to have logic.. I have seen so many examples in my life before where streets and their housenumbers didn't have any logic... it should be possible, imho, to place any housenumber on any spot of the road.
Had a lot of outdated stuff here.. I should be more active, I guess ;)
TK80866
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:03 am
Location: Oahu, HI
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Embedding house numbers fix

Postby TK80866 » Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:36 am

Well.. I don't know if it is me but about a week ago, when the message came that it was fixed, I re-approved a couple of house numbers that were still red, they turned white and when I checked again today, they were red again..

The location is here: http://www.waze.com/cartouche/?zoom=5&l ... TFFFFFTTTT

Any idea what the reason for this could be?


And yes, I still need dashes to be added to housenumbers, but at the time I added these, I figured to add housenumbers so people could at least have a way to navigate, just by using the housenumbers without dashes. The dash missing couldn't be why they got turned back red by the system because there are a couple of blue ones and they should have been denied as well in that case.



edit: and no, this is not the best work, I've been meaning to re-allign everything and continue once the dashes in housenumbers would be available.. thing is, however, back when I added these numbers, I did not have any aerials available and I was working with google maps next to me, so mostly just by guessing where the houses exactly were.
Had a lot of outdated stuff here.. I should be more active, I guess ;)
TK80866
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:03 am
Location: Oahu, HI
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Embedding house numbers fix

Postby TK80866 » Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:23 pm

Now the dash in the housenumbers and I can finally add housenumbers also :D
Had a lot of outdated stuff here.. I should be more active, I guess ;)
TK80866
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 9:03 am
Location: Oahu, HI
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Embedding house numbers fix

Postby support » Tue Jun 22, 2010 12:10 pm

wazers of the world!

after a long time and painstaking work, we finally fixed and upgraded the house numbering process.
We ran the process on all the historical house numbers that were submitted but never uploaded, and most of them (64%) were matched properly and should join the map within the next indexing / update (up to 24 hours).

Most of those that failed, failed because the house number wasn't associated with a street (or to a street with no name), or they weren't in a logical sequence. Please check the house numbers you've submitted in the past, and if you notice that some weren't updated even though they are properly matched to a street (can be checked in the details section) or they are in a logical order (trust your senses), please update this post.

thanks!

Dror
Image
support
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Next

Return to Official announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users