How to report infinite loops in roundabouts

Read the forum posting instructions.

If your country has a dedicated forum for unlocks or update requests. See this thread for details first.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Forum rules
BEFORE YOU POST HERE

Read these rules:
1. Use this forum ONLY if your country does not have a Dedicated Forum for update requests.
2. Read the forum posting instructions.

How to report infinite loops in roundabouts

Postby jasonh300 » Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:32 pm

This is what happens when there is no intermediate junction in a loop. IOW the loop connects to itself. The only way to correct this is to add a junction, which is currently not easy to do, but a CM may be able to handle it for you.


---------
Via my iPhone 3GS.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice ... Waze chat on IRC.
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6868
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Has thanked: 239 times
Been thanked: 624 times

How to report infinite loops in roundabouts

Postby jasonh300 » Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:45 pm

rafaelds wrote:Thanks. I don't know what an intermediate junction is, but I'll look into it and try to correct it.


You just need an additional junction in the loop. You won't be able to do it without special tools. Your only option will be to delete and redraw. Best option is to post a permalink in this thread and let a CM take a look at it.

(Post moved to update requests forum. Definitely doesn't belong in Bugs)
---------
Via my iPhone 3GS.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice ... Waze chat on IRC.
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6868
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Has thanked: 239 times
Been thanked: 624 times

How to report infinite loops in roundabouts

Postby rafaelds » Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:26 pm

Near where I live there is a roundabout that, if it's part of my route, causes Waze to generate an "infinite" loop over it (actually route just follows the whole thing once than stops rather than going on to the destination).

I have checked the map and it seems the geometry and turn restrictions are all okay. Yet routing through it does not work (I have run into this problem in other roundabouts).

How do I report this? Map issue? General issue? Client-specific thing?
Rafael S.

Image
AM Lajeado, RS (Brazil) - editor wherever possible
rafaelds
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:00 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How to report infinite loops in roundabouts

Postby rafaelds » Sat Nov 10, 2012 3:36 pm

Thanks. I don't know what an intermediate junction is, but I'll look into it and try to correct it.
Rafael S.

Image
AM Lajeado, RS (Brazil) - editor wherever possible
rafaelds
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:00 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How to report infinite loops in roundabouts

Postby WeeeZer14 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 7:45 pm

You can try some of the steps outlined in this wiki page on loop roads. If that doesn't work, then you'll need help as Jason said.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3761
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 309 times


Return to Update/Unlock requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users