Bryighton, MA?

Read the forum posting instructions.

If your country has a dedicated forum for unlocks or update requests. See this thread for details first.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Forum rules
BEFORE YOU POST HERE

Read these rules:
1. Use this forum ONLY if your country does not have a Dedicated Forum for update requests.
2. Read the forum posting instructions.

Bryighton, MA?

Postby anthopper » Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:05 pm

In the Cities layer at the following Permalink, the City name is listed as 'Bryighton', which is a type of 'Brighton'.

https://www.waze.com/editor/?lon=-71.15251&lat=42.34937&zoom=2&layers=BFTFFTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTFT&segments=69684996

I am pretty new and have no idea what drives the city names, and subsequently, do not know how to address this issue.

Looking for help and a little insight from a more experienced map editor.

Thanks,

anthopper
anthopper
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 12:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Bryighton, MA?

Postby anthopper » Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:27 pm

So is the implication here that as little as a single street with a unique name in the City field will drive a change to the Cities layer?

That is good to know (provided I have that right and please correct me if I do not).

On a related note, what is the standard convention for naming cities in places like Boston where Boston proper is 'correct' throughout the city but various well established neighborhood names exist and are considered by many to be more 'correct'. I am not talking about sub-neighborhood names (e.g Adams Corner is Dorchester, but the big ones (e.g. Brighton, Allston, Dorchester, Mattapan, Roxbury, South Boston, etc)?

I've looked in the wiki, but did not find anything that seemed to provide guidance on this. If I missed it, please just let me know where to look.

Thanks,

anthopper
anthopper
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 12:24 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Bryighton, MA?

Postby harling » Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:43 pm

anthopper wrote:So is the implication here that as little as a single street with a unique name in the City field will drive a change to the Cities layer?

Yes, if it isn't caught before it is regenerated. (FTR, the PLot segment in question also was not junctioned to Beechcroft St. I took care of that while I was there.)
On a related note, what is the standard convention for naming cities in places like Boston where Boston proper is 'correct' throughout the city but various well established neighborhood names exist and are considered by many to be more 'correct'. I am not talking about sub-neighborhood names (e.g Adams Corner is Dorchester, but the big ones (e.g. Brighton, Allston, Dorchester, Mattapan, Roxbury, South Boston, etc)?

Some background for the out-of-towners: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boston_neighborhoods

I have left the city fields in the Boston area as-is, since the basemap presumably was provided by the Commonwealth. I suppose some day it might help disambiguate roads with the same name in different neighborhoods.
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
Help wanted. Drop me a line!
Wiki Resources: Area Manager Wiki | Map Editing | Best Practices | Known Issues List
harling
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1730
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 114 times

Re: Bryighton, MA?

Postby Supernovareborn » Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:14 pm

Someone named a street incorrectly and it wasn't caught before the last update. I spent probably a good 10-15mins looking for it today. I've corrected it, but we'll have to wait for the next city tiles update for the fix to be completed. Unknown if this is going to happen with the next map update or if this is a separate process (like the water tiles).
Framingham, Natick, Sudbury and surrounding areas
Supernovareborn
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:01 am
Location: Framingham, MA
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Bryighton, MA?

Postby Supernovareborn » Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:40 pm

Thanks for the junction. I was trying to edit on my laptop and the touchpad can be a bit tempermental at times. I was just happy to have been able to find the segment and get it selected, lol.

*edit: I guess I should have just tried zooming in on the erroneous city name first, lol. I used the highlighting script, next time I'll do it the easy way. :oops:
Framingham, Natick, Sudbury and surrounding areas
Supernovareborn
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:01 am
Location: Framingham, MA
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Update/Unlock requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users