Gas Stations

Moderators: txemt, jasonh300

Re: Gas Stations

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:06 pm

pjlasl wrote:They have implemented the update where gas stations now are branded on the landmark. I had to go back into some of my area gas stations and update them.

Please ensure you are following the guidance posted to the US parent forum. There's lots of important info in that thread.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19472
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 2249 times

Re: Gas Stations

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:39 pm

In the US gas stations (for the gas price feature) come from a third party database. There currently is no way to add/edit/remove gas stations. HOWEVER, we've been told that there are changes coming & we should be adding Gas Station landmarks (as you attempted to do) in anticipation of these changes.

You need to draw the general shape of the gas station - taking care that the landmark does not snap to adjacent roads - and double click on the last node to get out of creation mode. Then set the "Name" property to the brand of the gas station (i.e. "Mobil" and not "Joe's Shell Gas & Repair"). This will NOT add the station to the gas price system, but it will appear on the map.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Gas Stations

Postby mayfieldh » Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:05 pm

I cannot firgure out how to ADD Gas Stations. I was trying to edit a map sections that I can edit when a user reported a missing Shell Gas Station. When picking the Gas Station tool to add the station, I'm not sure what to do. I tried drawing a section and trying to save it but no luck.

Can someone tell me how to do this so I can help with editing maps.

Thanks...
mayfieldh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 8:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas Stations

Postby mayfieldh » Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:54 pm

Thanks, I'll give that a try.
mayfieldh
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 8:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas Stations

Postby pjlasl » Wed Apr 17, 2013 12:46 pm

They have implemented the update where gas stations now are branded on the landmark. I had to go back into some of my area gas stations and update them.
Level 5 Area Manager - Texas

Image Image
pjlasl
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 2:41 pm
Location: Weatherford, TX
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Gas Stations

Postby pjlasl » Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:16 pm

Yep. Just for a quick access to the thread, here it is: viewtopic.php?f=129&t=46426&hilit=gas
Level 5 Area Manager - Texas

Image Image
pjlasl
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2012 2:41 pm
Location: Weatherford, TX
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 13 times


Return to Texas

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users