Speedtrap notification glitch

Moderators: delilush, ply8808, stephenr1966

Speedtrap notification glitch

Postby Allen_B » Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:36 pm

Have a known/marked speed camera in the area. Recently (past 2 weeks or so) the camera location is marked BUT the app will give numerous pop-ups/notifications for the same camera.

Guessing that multiple users tagged the same camera with slightly different locations, I have attempted to report as not there to kill the extra notifications but no improvement.

**Edit- What needs to happen to fix the multiple notifications?

For reference, the location is 38°36'10.4"N 77°07'54.9"W and is valid but again the app will give a dozen or so notifications.

System info: Android 9.0 (OnePlus 6t) Waze release 4.46.1.3 and Android Auto version 3.8.584564.
Allen_B
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Speedtrap notification glitch

Postby subs5 » Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:34 pm

Thanks the not here button in the app does not work in the US.
One has to look in the WME at the location and see if there are multiple cameras.
subs5
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1731
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Virginia, USA
Has thanked: 565 times
Been thanked: 894 times

Re: Speedtrap notification glitch

Postby kodi75 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:33 am

There were two at that location. I removed the one. It may take a few days to be reflected in the app.
kodi75
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 908
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:43 am
Location: Central Maryland
Has thanked: 850 times
Been thanked: 272 times

Re: Speedtrap notification glitch

Postby Allen_B » Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:55 am

kodi75 wrote:There were two at that location. I removed the one. It may take a few days to be reflected in the app.


Much appreciated!

There technically are 2 in the same/similar location, but one in each direction. For some reason, the app has been freaking out only on the west-bound side (the map point provided). The east-bound one is properly identified and only gives the single "correct" alert...


Allen
Allen_B
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Speedtrap notification glitch

Postby subs5 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:42 pm

Hi, I see that you added a camera in each direction after Kodi75 made the change.

The one camera in each direction is adequate. The eastbound camera was moved to your location, but the mulitiple camera adds will just cause the problem that you are asking to be removed.

If you have a problem with the current set up, can you please discuss here vice adding more cameras? Thanks.
subs5
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1731
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Virginia, USA
Has thanked: 565 times
Been thanked: 894 times

Re: Speedtrap notification glitch

Postby Allen_B » Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:50 am

subs5 wrote:Hi, I see that you added a camera in each direction after Kodi75 made the change.

The one camera in each direction is adequate. The eastbound camera was moved to your location, but the mulitiple camera adds will just cause the problem that you are asking to be removed.

If you have a problem with the current set up, can you please discuss here vice adding more cameras? Thanks.


Gladly, just a bit of a noob with editing and attempting to add value.

What was a bit confusing is when the area was pulled up no cameras were identified, suggesting (to me) the area was not well identified for the cameras. If this was in error, I apologize.

I noted today that the problem originally reported was unchanged, giving a dozen or so notifications. Please explain what I can contribute to fix the problem- I would like to be part of the fix and not compound the problem...


Allen
Allen_B
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Speedtrap notification glitch

Postby subs5 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 12:28 pm

Allen,
Please make sure you have the enforcement camera layer turned on.

To the upper right corner of the WME page (www.waze.com/editor) looks like 3 pieces of paper. It is the layers drop down menu (paper layers is the symbology).
Hover over it and in the ROADS section the bottom item is the enforcement cameras. If that box is unchecked you won't see the cameras that are already there.

It typically takes about 2 days (or if a tile update delay up to 1-2 weeks) for changes to move from WME to the app. So please wait another day or two.

I'll send you a welcome message in your Waze inbox with some good areas to start in for a beginner. Cheers, subs5
subs5
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 1731
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Virginia, USA
Has thanked: 565 times
Been thanked: 894 times

Re: Speedtrap notification glitch

Postby Allen_B » Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:16 pm

subs5 wrote:Allen,
Please make sure you have the enforcement camera layer turned on.

To the upper right corner of the WME page (http://www.waze.com/editor) looks like 3 pieces of paper. It is the layers drop down menu (paper layers is the symbology).
Hover over it and in the ROADS section the bottom item is the enforcement cameras. If that box is unchecked you won't see the cameras that are already there.

It typically takes about 2 days (or if a tile update delay up to 1-2 weeks) for changes to move from WME to the app. So please wait another day or two.

I'll send you a welcome message in your Waze inbox with some good areas to start in for a beginner. Cheers, subs5


Great info and really appreciate it! I took a look at the area in question (with the appropriate layer turned on) and the camera location is correctly marked with no duplicates, but confirmed today the app is still giving a dozen or so notifications for the one.

Have to think this is a glitch in the app but no idea how to correct. I will force clear caches on my phone and re-test tomorrow. If that doesn't correct it, will uninstall the app, clear caches again and see how it responds on Friday...


Allen
Allen_B
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Speedtrap notification glitch

Postby nzahn1 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 9:27 pm

FYI Allen, it can take several days for cameras to clear from the app. They are one of the slowest features to respond to changes. You might be waiting until next week for the change to occur.
[ img ][ img ][ img ][ img ]
Rank 6 | US Local Champ | Mid-Atlantic Assist. Coordinator | WME Beta | iOS Beta
WME Profile E-Mail MD Twitter MDForum MDWiki Welcome!
nzahn1
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 1475
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA (SM)
Has thanked: 796 times
Been thanked: 906 times

Re: Speedtrap notification glitch

Postby Allen_B » Sun Dec 23, 2018 5:56 pm

So reporting back- Same issue, same location.

I did uninstall the app, cleared caches and re-installed with no change. Also noted today that the same issue persists with a different phone (Samsung S8) and different vehicle having my wife check it...
Allen_B
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:26 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Maryland

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users