Waze is not marking speed cameras or red-light cameras

Moderators: delilush, ply8808, stephenr1966

Waze is not marking speed cameras or red-light cameras

Postby Redeemed52597 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 1:49 pm

Hello,

I don't have enough street cred to be a map editor yet, but as a delivery driver I regularly submit alerts for street closures, potholes, objects on road, etc. Such submissions appear immediately on my map. It's a different story however for speed cameras and red-light cameras.

I have been repeatedly marking one location in Baltimore City with a speed camera and one location with a red-light camera for WEEKS and they still do not appear on the Waze map. The cameras are as follows:

- On South Wolfe St there is a red-light camera at the intersection of Aliceanna St.

- On West Ostend St there are two speed cameras (one for eastbound and one for westbound traffic) at the intersection of Race St.

How can it be that I can report an accident, police, street closure, or pothole and have it appear immediately on my map, but not so for red-light and speed cameras?

If Waze doesn't want a speed or red-light camera to appear on other Wazer's maps until it is confirmed by some higher up, fine, but at the very least it should appear on the map of the one making the submission.

What needs to be done to get the map updated with these cameras?
Last edited by Redeemed52597 on Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Redeemed52597

Re: Waze is not marking speed cameras or red-light cameras

Postby nzahn1 » Mon Jan 14, 2019 2:05 pm

Welcome! You found the right place.

The speed camera submissions via the app have been disabled for some time, as HQ found the data quality was very poor. But you did the right thing bringing it to the volunteer community.