Closed loop roads

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby AndyPoms » Mon Aug 06, 2012 7:17 am

crazycomputingdotnet wrote:Best way to handle them is to be sure that loop has two nodes. Waze will be able to route them.


For something that small (or at least how small it appears in the images) why not just treat it like a dead end street?

Now, for bigger ones, sure make the extra loop in the road with the extra junction node in there...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 886 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby bgodette » Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:38 pm

What happens if you create a roundabout with only one connecting segment?
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby bgodette » Tue Aug 07, 2012 1:13 am

jasonh300 wrote:
bgodette wrote:What happens if you create a roundabout with only one connecting segment?


Same problem. I've got notes about that in the Wiki on the "dead end node" page and also on the "roundabout" page.
This brings up a follow on question of, what happens to a roundabout's turn instructions if there's an extra node in it?
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby bgodette » Tue Aug 07, 2012 3:27 am

jasonh300 wrote:I'm not sure you'd ever get any instructions with the roundabout unless you were heading on the street toward the roundabout and routing was taking you to it, around, and then back out.
Like for a U-Turn. Most of the time in residential areas, Waze will either use a dead-end or loop, it'd be interesting to see what shows up for a cul-de-sac as a roundabout with an extra node would do.
ImageImage
bgodette
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2936
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 228 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby CBenson » Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:24 pm

dmcconachie wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:I see what you're talking about, and that is no longer the case. That routes just fine. But that's not what I'm referring to as a closed loop.

Are you sure? I still see these odd routes.

I know the closed loop is technically different but it's related and "solved" by the same method is it not?

I'm not sure. I don't have any good examples, because I would have put in two nodes for the loop around the lake. Are we really sure that one would solve all problems?
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6879
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 435 times
Been thanked: 987 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby CBenson » Mon Sep 17, 2012 10:28 pm

I don't think you're linking to the public forum.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6879
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 435 times
Been thanked: 987 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby crazycomputingdotnet » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:16 am

Best way to handle them is to be sure that loop has two nodes. Waze will be able to route them.
crazycomputingdotnet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby crazycomputingdotnet » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:01 pm

AndyPoms wrote:
crazycomputingdotnet wrote:Best way to handle them is to be sure that loop has two nodes. Waze will be able to route them.


For something that small (or at least how small it appears in the images) why not just treat it like a dead end street?

Now, for bigger ones, sure make the extra loop in the road with the extra junction node in there...

I was referring to gsogeek's question about larger loops. cul-d-sacs and the like the loop / roundabout gets deleted and the segment expanded if needed.
crazycomputingdotnet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby crazycomputingdotnet » Tue Aug 07, 2012 1:27 am

I can set up a roundabout in my pasture and in 3 months when the roads are live I can drive on it and see what happens.
crazycomputingdotnet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby crazycomputingdotnet » Tue Aug 07, 2012 3:38 am

I set up a couple of roundabouts. Both with one road going to the bout. One with an extra node in the middle of it.
crazycomputingdotnet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Next

Return to Wiki Updates and Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users