Closed loop roads

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby crazycomputingdotnet » Tue Aug 07, 2012 4:22 am

Going to PM them to you. On my property.
crazycomputingdotnet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby crazycomputingdotnet » Tue Aug 07, 2012 4:55 am

I am about to go home from work myself. I just built them an hour ago, they are not live.
crazycomputingdotnet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby crazycomputingdotnet » Sun Oct 07, 2012 9:24 pm

I ran into a few of these today, done by iradwaze. Is s/he a paid editor, map tester or??
https://www.waze.com/editor/?zoom=5&lon ... 3,66347390

Iradwaze is putting in roundabouts as col-de-sacs. I don't want to kill them if they are trying to test the software.
crazycomputingdotnet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby crazycomputingdotnet » Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:24 am

Thanks, I suppose they have their own test environment for those types of things. Will not proceed with caution.
crazycomputingdotnet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby dmcconachie » Mon Aug 06, 2012 8:55 am

jasonh300 wrote:Two segments, not two nodes.

It always used to be two nodes, ie a segment could not connect to another segment in two places. It may no longer be the case but I've never seen anything to suggest otherwise.

As ever YMMV but it is the only explanation I have for routing going via laybys, that are set as PLRs, rather than sticking to the main highway!
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6020
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby dmcconachie » Mon Aug 06, 2012 2:05 pm

jasonh300 wrote:I see what you're talking about, and that is no longer the case. That routes just fine. But that's not what I'm referring to as a closed loop.

Are you sure? I still see these odd routes.

I know the closed loop is technically different but it's related and "solved" by the same method is it not?
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6020
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby gsogeek » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:13 am

Does anyone know if there are any plans to add any kind of loop road logic to the system? I've got some fairly large loops in my area that having that ability to see both ends could make a noticeable difference in the routing options presented to a user.
Matt
The map to Hell was made with no nodes.
gsogeek
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:05 am
Location: Greensboro, NC (KGSO)
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Closed loop roads

Postby jasonh300 » Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:14 am

Something needs to be put into the wiki about this. When I say closed loop roads, I'm referring to a road that loops back onto itself with no junction in between. Waze can't handle this, even though they're all over the map from the basemap import, plus those that have been inserted by inexperienced editors.

The reason they don't work is illustrated below. Waze can't see them as a three-way option. As you can see in pictures 3 and 4, if they're one way against the drawn direction of the road, they can't be routed at all...note the lack of directional arrows from both ends. When they're two-way, or one-way in line with the drawn direction, Waze still sees only one option.

This is also accomplished sometimes by "helpful" editors who think that roundabouts can be used for this sort of thing, and add them to the end of cul-de-sac streets. I put a note about this on the wiki cul-de-sac page and also on the roundabout page last month, but I think this needs to be addressed somewhere, possibly on the BMEP page, or at least linked from the BMEP page. This example was a basemapped loop, which I've now removed. It's basically a cul-de-sac, but often there's a large loop like this that has multiple houses on it, and that's where the routing problems are going to really come in when Waze can't find a route away from the address, or to the address.

Streets like in my example should simply be a dead-end, since it's really a cul-de-sac. The bulb on the end doesn't add any value to the map whatsoever and will only be visible in the client at the closest zoom level, and even then, it may not appear. Larger versions of these loops, need to be broken up into two segments to get proper routing.

I'm not sure where this needs to go, or how to word it all, so I'll leave it up kentsmith and the Wiki Reorganization Team.

Illustration of the problem loop.
closed loop 1.jpg
closed loop 1.jpg (34.02 KiB) Viewed 1637 times


Only one direction available to turn.
Closed loop 2.jpg
Closed loop 2.jpg (30.44 KiB) Viewed 1640 times


One way against "natural direction", no turn options to get in.
closed loop 3.jpg
closed loop 3.jpg (33.5 KiB) Viewed 1638 times


One way against "natural direction", no turn options to get out.
closed loop 4.jpg
closed loop 4.jpg (31.9 KiB) Viewed 1637 times
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice ... Waze chat on IRC.
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6868
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Has thanked: 239 times
Been thanked: 628 times

Closed loop roads

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:44 am

Two segments, not two nodes.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice ... Waze chat on IRC.
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6868
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Has thanked: 239 times
Been thanked: 628 times

Re: Closed loop roads

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:23 pm

dmcconachie wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:Two segments, not two nodes.

It always used to be two nodes, ie a segment could not connect to another segment in two places. It may no longer be the case but I've never seen anything to suggest otherwise.


I see what you're talking about, and that is no longer the case. That routes just fine. But that's not what I'm referring to as a closed loop.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana
Regional Coordinator, South-Central Region
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice ... Waze chat on IRC.
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6868
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Has thanked: 239 times
Been thanked: 628 times

PreviousNext

Return to Wiki Updates and Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lelehman