House numbers page

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: House numbers page

Postby kentsmith9 » Sun Apr 07, 2013 9:24 pm

Split Roads

Do we want to simply say if a road is split be sure to add only house numbers on the side of the street accessible to those drivers? I think it is simple enough to say and understand.

Also split roads have the added complexity of people unsplitting them and losing the house number data on one side of the street (depending upon which segments are kept). I wonder if we need to propose a feature to "merge segments" to retain house numbers and other road details.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3165
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 537 times
Been thanked: 599 times

Re: House numbers page

Postby kentsmith9 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:19 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:I'm not sure we have enough information to act on this yet. We don't know if house numbers should be added to only one side of a split street. Might there be a reason to add it to both? (can't think of any off-hand).

I assumed this would be a straight forward answer. If you get routed to the street closest to the house that can be driven (vs. the back yard when the house is on a long driveway and there is a street behind it), then we must map only the side of split roads that actually takes you to the driveway of the house in question.

If you put the house numbers only on one side of the split road, then half of the houses will be routed to the wrong side of the street with U-turns being forced leaving you on the wrong side.

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Also, I'm not sure about the merging thing. If you take both sides and put them together and turned to two-way, do all house numbers remain?

I would expect if you have house numbers on each of the split roads then you need to get all the house numbers back to a single two-way road. I would think this is a monumental task for a long roads with hundreds of houses.

That makes me realize that anyone can delete a single segment with house numbers and when someone tries to add the road segment back, the house numbers are gone? This could be a very big problem for vandalism beyond just losing the street segment itself which is frankly pretty easy to replace.

This would be solved it the house numbers were somehow attached to a location and street name in the database and if a segment gets added to the map with that same name, then the house number automatically gets reattached to that segment to the closest location on that road. It would not be 100%, but would save probably 95% of the work after a major error.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3165
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 537 times
Been thanked: 599 times

Re: House numbers page

Postby kentsmith9 » Mon Sep 16, 2013 9:10 pm

Has anything in the interface or operation of House Numbers change for the recent editor updates? I don't recall off hand, but wanted to see if we need to update anything on our House Numbers article.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3165
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 537 times
Been thanked: 599 times

Hyphenated addresses in Hawaii

Postby LarryHI1 » Sun Jun 30, 2013 6:53 pm

I'm not sure that I have read all the posts on this subject, but I'm here because this morning I tried to enter a hyphenated address on Oahu for the first time, and Waze would not take it. It drops the second half of the address whether I include a hyphen or not.

I discovered in 2007 that TomTom devices would not take the hyphenated addresses, and reported it to their customer service. Others had apparently beat me to it, because TomTom was well aware of the situation--and didn't care to fix it. I think it was only 2012 (?) when a version of their software came out that had hyphens on their keyboard. Meanwhile, they did accurately navigate to restaurants and other pre-loaded addresses with hyphens.

Unfortunately, the overwhelming majority of addresses in Hawaii have hyphens.

Stores (at least the responsible ones) advised potential TomTom buyers of the problem. I was in a Best Buy when a military guy consulted a sales person about what would be a good GPS to buy. I overheard the sales person (an honest fellow) cautioning the customer that the TomTom models would not handle any of the addresses near where he lived, or elsewhere on Oahu.

There are highways where the number after the hyphen makes all the difference. There could be a couple of miles, I understand, between one end an the other of a hyphenated street number.

I hope this will be treated with great seriousness. It also affects parts of New Jersey and I'm sure other areas that use a similar scheme.

I am a newbie here, if someone can suggest to me a way to raise the profile of this issue, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks

P.S. Google Maps, as an example, has no trouble with accepting hyphenated addresses.
LarryHI1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 10:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: House numbers page

Postby ncc1701v » Mon Apr 08, 2013 10:31 am

kentsmith9 wrote:That makes me realize that anyone can delete a single segment with house numbers and when someone tries to add the road segment back, the house numbers are gone? This could be a very big problem for vandalism beyond just losing the street segment itself which is frankly pretty easy to replace.

This would be solved it the house numbers were somehow attached to a location and street name in the database and if a segment gets added to the map with that same name, then the house number automatically gets reattached to that segment to the closest location on that road. It would not be 100%, but would save probably 95% of the work after a major error.

Yes and let the "stop point" be smart, having its own GPS location independent of the associated house number point.
... and the "v" is for Volvo.
ncc1701v
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 545
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 6:08 pm
Location: Ithaca, NY USA
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: House numbers page

Postby txemt » Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:18 am

Am I to understand that the house numbers node needs to be placed where the driveway and the street meet up?
Just wazeting my time to help you waze your route smoothly
AM-S Florida & Texas
US CM
RC-US Territories
"Don't Mess With TxEmt"
Read, Read & Read
txemt
US Waze Champs
US Waze Champs
 
Posts: 3748
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 7:03 pm
Location: Miami, Fl
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 743 times

Re: House numbers page

Postby vickimachado » Mon Mar 25, 2013 12:21 am

Question for AoftheB, or anyone with the knowledge:

When I activated the House Numbers interface and checked my own neighborhood, it displays numbers on the houses, all of which are marked "forced." Besides being somewhat in the wrong spot (fixable), the numbers themselves omit the prefix part of the address. There are hyphenated numbering systems on some streets/highways: My house number, for example, is 46-111. But on my house there's only "111.")

I gather hyphenation is an issue, but should these numbers all be corrected to read 46111, etc.? I need to be clear on this before adding new ones or editing these. Thanks.
Area manager, Hawaii
iPhone4, iOS 6.1.2
Image
vickimachado
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 12:36 am
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: House numbers page

Postby vickimachado » Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:28 pm

I don't think it's a problem with the existing import. After testing it out this morning, I saw that typing in my full numbered address, which is how a user would do it, got me to my house, with the hypen typed in and without.

I don't know this, but it would seem that the prefix acts like an area code.

I'm guessing that new addresses don't need to include the prefix, but I'll wait to get more official instruction before adding in any.

I did add in a few new addresses that have no prefixes, in response to URs, and it's SO COOL to be able to correct these things directly yourself!
Area manager, Hawaii
iPhone4, iOS 6.1.2
Image
vickimachado
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 12:36 am
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: House numbers page

Postby vickimachado » Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:40 pm

kentsmith9 wrote:I am not sure the new addresses are being searched yet. Is it possible the address came from one of the other search providers?


That is possible. I know addresses that aren't on WME are still turning up in search, prolly from Bing or Google. I'll wait until the next update, and test again.
Area manager, Hawaii
iPhone4, iOS 6.1.2
Image
vickimachado
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 12:36 am
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: House numbers page

Postby vickimachado » Mon Mar 25, 2013 11:41 pm

That sounds like a plan! Guess I'll wait until the next NA update to try that out. I'll just come back to this thread to report the results.

By the way, I'll be glad when in the next upgrade developers figure out a way to put the stop point somewhere other than right in front. Many destinations have driveways off another street. Until then, there's no real way to improve search results for these places from what the third-party services provide.
Area manager, Hawaii
iPhone4, iOS 6.1.2
Image
vickimachado
 
Posts: 776
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 12:36 am
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 64 times

PreviousNext

Return to Wiki Updates and Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users