Update: What do I do when Waze has my destination Wrong

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Update: What do I do when Waze has my destination Wrong

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Nov 19, 2013 5:27 pm

Which change Kent?

Also, it may bear including, as I have seen it happen in no less than 6 URs in the last month, and in a forum response: users complain that the address keeps taking them to the wrong location, but what is actually happening is that the user is selecting the destination from their nav history, thinking that a "new search" is executed to the address, when in fact, the nav history selection will take you to the same spot over and over again. Only by executing a new search manually in the app will the address pin location change become evident.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.2 | Waze v3.9.4
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23307
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1052 times
Been thanked: 4322 times

Re: Update: What do I do when Waze has my destination Wrong

Postby CBenson » Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:31 pm

Well as is evident from the other thread, the removal of that sections seems appropriate to me.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9032
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 748 times
Been thanked: 1811 times

Re: Update: What do I do when Waze has my destination Wrong

Postby CBenson » Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:43 pm

I'd remove "exact" as my understanding is that the waze result is used only if Google is unable to turn up any result at all.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9032
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 748 times
Been thanked: 1811 times

Re: Update: What do I do when Waze has my destination Wrong

Postby CBenson » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:05 pm

Its hard to tell. Seems State Route 35 passes through quite a few towns. It hard for me to know which have a valid number 1800. My understanding is that if waze understands the search to be for an address and Google doesn't return a result, then yes waze may just guess at the nearest number actually defined in the waze database.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Turbo, Android 4.4.4, Waze 3.9.4.0
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 9032
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 748 times
Been thanked: 1811 times

Re: Update: What do I do when Waze has my destination Wrong

Postby kentsmith9 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 7:33 am

Looks like we did not come to a decision on this change.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 977 times
Been thanked: 1110 times

Re: Update: What do I do when Waze has my destination Wrong

Postby kentsmith9 » Wed Nov 27, 2013 2:55 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Which change Kent?

:oops: I have no idea. I must have been sleeptyping. Never mind.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 977 times
Been thanked: 1110 times

Re: Update: What do I do when Waze has my destination Wrong

Postby PhantomSoul » Mon Nov 11, 2013 9:18 pm

You get some weird results in New Jersey with highway-shield-based addresses. For example, according to the post office, addresses in NJ along federal highways should either use the word Route or the phrase US Highway - 2344 Route 130, or 2344 US Highway 130. Both ways seem to work well, but if you try to search for 2344 US-130 (or other addresses along federal routes - I've seen many, many UR's for this) you get completely unpredictable results.

The same thing happens for state highways. The post office accepts the phrase State Route - 1800 State Route 35, and it appears to find addresses that way pretty well. But put in 1800 SR-35 or 1800 NJ-35 (or other address along a state route) and you get completely unpredictable results.

Is this because neither Google nor Waze can find the address and Waze just ends up guessing at the nearest number actually defined in its system? I've seen some UR complaints epically off, even in other cities sometimes.
Image
MENTOR, CM: United States, AM: Northern NJ, Upstate NY
Waze Editing Manual | USA Road Types | USA Forum
Verizon iPhone 6 / iOS 8.1.3 / Waze 3.9.1
PhantomSoul
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:00 am
Location: Union, NJ USA
Has thanked: 230 times
Been thanked: 400 times

Re: Update: What do I do when Waze has my destination Wrong

Postby russblau » Thu Nov 07, 2013 1:29 am

CBenson wrote:I'd remove "exact" as my understanding is that the waze result is used only if Google is unable to turn up any result at all.


I've seen a couple of cases recently where Waze returns different results for the same address with slight spelling variations. E.g., in Washington DC, putting "N.W." at the end of an address may give you a different result than putting "NW". I guess that Google returns a result for one spelling and not the other.
ImageImageImage
AM Northern Virginia/Washington, D.C./Sussex County, DE
State Manager: District of Columbia
russblau
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 988
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 11:36 pm
Has thanked: 112 times
Been thanked: 404 times

Update: What do I do when Waze has my destination Wrong

Postby shawndoc » Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:08 pm

There's been some debate in this thread ( https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 9&p=598211 ) about changing the wording in the FAQ about what to do when location information is wrong, specifically about referring people to the GPS.gov website which explains where GPS location data comes from and provides links to the pages to submit corrections to.

For the moment, I've removed that section from the FAQ.

The paragraph in question:
Most providers offer a way to submit corrections to their location data. It is normal for more than one provider to have the same bad information. This is due to their being two primary providers of GPS location data, which other companies then license. After correcting the location information with the correct Waze provider, it is a good idea to update with these two original providers. Instruction on how to do so can be found here ( http://www.gps.gov/support/user/mapfix/ ).
Last edited by shawndoc on Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
shawndoc
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 342 times

Re: Update: What do I do when Waze has my destination Wrong

Postby shawndoc » Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:10 pm

Link to the entire answer as it appears currently:
https://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/FAQ ... ocation.3F
Image
shawndoc
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1702
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Californialand, USA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 342 times

Next

Return to Wiki Updates and Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users