State Option in Pakistan

Moderators: MapSir, Marcin_S

Re: State Option in pakistan

Postby Saadat-Awan » Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:51 pm

Thanks in that Case
Islamabad sectors are (equell To Cites) and each sectore got Their own Street numbers.we should be putting sector name in the city field. For example
City: F10
Street: Street 44
City: G8
Street: Street 44

So When States Feature Coms. We dont Have 2 Do it again
After States Feature it will look like This
State: Islamabad
City: F10
Street: Street 44

State: Islamabad
City: G8
Street: Street 44

What do you think?
Saadat-Awan
Map Editor - level 3
Map Editor - level 3
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:59 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: State Option in pakistan

Postby asterix06 » Sat May 27, 2017 2:33 pm

We had same problem in many other coutries.
The main problem is to understand how people is used to search roads in Pakistan.

If someone need to go to street 44, Islamabad G8... how they would search for this road ?
- St44 Islamabad
- ST44 islamabad, G8
- St 44 G8 Islamabad

I am asking that because to add for instance G8 in AN it doesn't mean the Google/Waze search should founf it
[ img ][ img ]
Iphone8+ Waze 4.43.0
Coordinator Waze Italy
Country Administrator Italy, CM China , CM Africa, Iran, Croatia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Turchia.
Forum Administrator
asterix06
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 4708
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 9:23 am
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2140 times

Re: State Option in pakistan

Postby Kashif_Alvi » Fri Dec 08, 2017 6:38 am

Hi,

The states mentioned in above messages are basically the Districts. I think that the better option (for Pakistan) would be "Sector" Option; example: we can say city = Islamabad and then sector = G8... Another example: city Islamabad and sector Soan Gardens...

Regards
Kashif_Alvi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: State Option in pakistan

Postby asterix06 » Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:50 pm

Update 14.12.2017

Pakistan is in the Waze list to add State Layer, but it will take time.

I suggest to decide a common way to edit ,as turnaround, till the state layer will be activated.

We already used such a kind of turnaround in other countries in order to "solve temporarily" the issue
[ img ][ img ]
Iphone8+ Waze 4.43.0
Coordinator Waze Italy
Country Administrator Italy, CM China , CM Africa, Iran, Croatia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Turchia.
Forum Administrator
asterix06
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 4708
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 9:23 am
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2140 times

Re: State Option in pakistan

Postby Kashif_Alvi » Sat Dec 23, 2017 6:05 am

I would suggest to put Community / Sector Name with City Name e.g., G4/3, Islamabad or Soan Garden, Islamabad. Sometimes, there are multiple same name streets in a city, for example street 1 could be in G4/3 sector as well as in Soan Garden in Islamabad and also in other sectors. Addition of Sector /Community name with City Name will make it very easy to find an address. In this way, we will have a neat street map with complete address (containing sector information etc). This would be more helpful, in my point of view

So in this example we may write the address in the following way,
Street Name: Street 1
City Name: Soan Garden, Islamabad

And for other sector,
Street Name: Street 1
City Name: G4/3, Islamabad
Kashif_Alvi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: State Option in pakistan

Postby asterix06 » Sat Dec 23, 2017 12:12 pm

Good Idea, IMO. Same kind of editing has been used In other countries with good succes


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
[ img ][ img ]
Iphone8+ Waze 4.43.0
Coordinator Waze Italy
Country Administrator Italy, CM China , CM Africa, Iran, Croatia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Turchia.
Forum Administrator
asterix06
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 4708
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 9:23 am
Location: Italy
Has thanked: 1207 times
Been thanked: 2140 times

Re: State Option in pakistan

Postby mohsinrafiq » Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:49 am

Kashif_Alvi wrote:I would suggest to put Community / Sector Name with City Name e.g., G4/3, Islamabad or Soan Garden, Islamabad. Sometimes, there are multiple same name streets in a city, for example street 1 could be in G4/3 sector as well as in Soan Garden in Islamabad and also in other sectors. Addition of Sector /Community name with City Name will make it very easy to find an address. In this way, we will have a neat street map with complete address (containing sector information etc). This would be more helpful, in my point of view

So in this example we may write the address in the following way,
Street Name: Street 1
City Name: Soan Garden, Islamabad

And for other sector,
Street Name: Street 1
City Name: G4/3, Islamabad


Hi,

I think with this way each sector name will be displayed with Islamabad in the end. I think address should be

Street Name: Street 1
City Name: Model Town
State: Lahore, Punjab
mohsinrafiq
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:46 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: State Option in Pakistan

Postby Marcin_S » Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:13 am

@mohsinrafiq Thank you for your suggestion.
Unfortunately, the state option for Pakistan is still somewhere in the future.

Would you be so kind and join Pakistan Slack - that is a communicator which is used by active in Pakistan editors in their daily cooperation and to coordinate tasks.

Best,
Marcin
(Volunteer from Poland)
LC and CM Pakistan, India and Poland
[ img ] [ img ] [ img ][ img ]
Marcin_S
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 10:59 am
Location: Poland
Has thanked: 735 times
Been thanked: 667 times

Previous

Return to Pakistan

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users