[BUG] iPhone 2.4 not using selected Departure location

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

[BUG] iPhone 2.4 not using selected Departure location

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:37 pm

I found yesterday when trying to get drive time between two specific locations on the map, using the "Use as Departure" and "Use as Destination" menu options when tap-holding the screen, that Waze would instead create a route to the destination using my current location as the departure point. This worked fine until 2.4 that I can remember.

Could someone else confirm this behavior for me?
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19467
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

Re: iPhone 2.4 not using selected Departure location

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:14 pm

gerben wrote:It has been working like this on Android for a while now...

Meaning it's broken for you on Android?

jasonm128 wrote:It's working fine for me on Android but I think the key might be that you have to pick the departure before you pick any destination.

I thought that might be the case, too, but I have tried it both ways.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19467
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

[BUG] iPhone 2.4 not using selected Departure location

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:52 pm

GPS acquisition is key. Good to know. When GPS is available, it overrides the selected departure location. Nice work.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19467
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 647 times
Been thanked: 2247 times

Re: iPhone 2.4 not using selected Departure location

Postby gerben » Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:54 pm

It has been working like this on Android for a while now...
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: iPhone 2.4 not using selected Departure location

Postby gerben » Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:16 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
gerben wrote:It has been working like this on Android for a while now...

Meaning it's broken for you on Android?


Indeed...

I used this feature ocasionally before, I think it broke around the 2.3 beta's
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Re: iPhone 2.4 not using selected Departure location

Postby jasonm128 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:04 pm

It's working fine for me on Android but I think the key might be that you have to pick the departure before you pick any destination. If I try to specify the destination first, it just routes there from my current position. Actually, once I've specified a point as the departure, I can't seem to get rid of it and route from my current position without exiting.
Area Manager : NW Suburbs of Boston, MA
HTC Droid DNA - Android 4.2 - Verizon
jasonm128
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:55 am
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [BUG] iPhone 2.4 not using selected Departure location

Postby jasonm128 » Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:44 pm

Interesting. When I tested it on my Android phone and it worked, I was inside with no GPS.
Area Manager : NW Suburbs of Boston, MA
HTC Droid DNA - Android 4.2 - Verizon
jasonm128
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:55 am
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: [BUG] iPhone 2.4 not using selected Departure location

Postby petervdveen » Thu Aug 18, 2011 8:41 pm

I toughed it still works, but only if you have NO gps connection.
Coördinator BeNeLux
- Nederland Belgium Lëtzebuerg
ImageImageImageImage

peter@wazenederland.nl peter@wazebelgium.be
petervdveen
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8146
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 220 times
Been thanked: 821 times

Re: [BUG] iPhone 2.4 not using selected Departure location

Postby petervdveen » Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:43 pm

It does calculate the correct route if i try it with gps connected, but then he realizes he has a gps and reroutes.. ;)
Coördinator BeNeLux
- Nederland Belgium Lëtzebuerg
ImageImageImageImage

peter@wazenederland.nl peter@wazebelgium.be
petervdveen
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8146
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 220 times
Been thanked: 821 times

Re: [BUG] iPhone 2.4 not using selected Departure location

Postby shirlig » Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:42 am

Hi guys,

Thanks for the heads up. The issue has been forwarded to R&D.

Shirli
Image
shirlig
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 6:31 am
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 987 times


Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher