Excessive junctions

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Excessive junctions

Postby Kaffesnoken » Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:35 pm

Hi!

I am using Waze on my Nokia C7, and generally I am very pleased with it. Both with the general accuracy of the GPS and how it works in general.
However, when I am paving new roads, they are littered with unneeded junctions. Even if I'm driving at speeds of 80 - 90 km/h it drops junctions at between 150 and 1000 meter intervals. This is a pain to remove afterwards in the map editor. I have been editing a few km's of roads, and I have seen other users driving a lot without a single junction. I would prefer this behaviour, all the time I have to manually make junctions at crossroads anyway.

I am running Waza Release 2.0.0.0 (From the about screen)
And the Nokia C7 with the Symbian Anna OS.
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
Kaffesnoken
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:09 pm

Are their updated Aerials of the area where you are paving roads? If so, it may be more efficient to draw the roads in the map editor vs. paving them with the Application. This way you have greater control of the number of junctions and road points.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6076
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby Kaffesnoken » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:40 pm

No there are just low resolution maps / photos available, so I have to rely on using the paving method. I am mapping roads in sparsely populated rural areas in northern Norway. Some cities have higher resolution aerial photos, but I'm not sure if it's legal to draw roads "directly on the photos". (Ref. to what happened in Chile)
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
Kaffesnoken
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:43 pm

If they are the aerial's in the Waze map editor, you can draw streets using them. Any others, likely no.

So paving may be your best option. But no way to the geometry nodes and junctions that are created when paving.

But since you have to go into the map editor to set the road type, name the road, junction, etc - it's really easy to use the keyboard shortcut 'd' to delete the extra geometry nodes. Also, you can draw the mouse while holding down the 'd' key to delete them wherever you are dragging the mouse, on the hi-lited segment. Really easy to remove them.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6076
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby Kaffesnoken » Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:31 pm

I am aware of the shortcuts to easily remove geometry nodes, but this approach does not work on the junctions.

Tonight I have edited about 60 km's of roads made up of 79 to 1100 meter segments divided by junctions.

Is there an official way to add city names to a stretch of road without adding junctions?
I think I have found a way to do this. I just draw an unconnected road and naming it before connecting it to next segment of the road.

I would like to use the POI method and draw a perimeter around the villages or cities and define the city name inside that instead of using the road naming method. This would also make it possible to define a city and name the geographical (sub)areas of a city and classify them accordingly.
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
Kaffesnoken
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:40 pm

noralf wrote:Is there an official way to add city names to a stretch of road without adding junctions?
I think I have found a way to do this. I just draw an unconnected road and naming it before connecting it to next segment of the road.

I would like to use the POI method and draw a perimeter around the villages or cities and define the city name inside that instead of using the road naming method. This would also make it possible to define a city and name the geographical (sub)areas of a city and classify them accordingly.


You are correct that the approach above does not work with junctions. Only geometry nodes.

There is no current way to draw a perimeter and change a field on every road within.

Regarding adding the city name to multiple road segments - you can select multiple segments with Ctrl-Mouse click and modify them all at one time.

I am not quite understanding why you need to add a junction to add a city name to a segment.

All road segments need to be junctioned otherwise Waze can not route on these roads that you are paving. If you have too many junctions due to using the paving method, you can remove unnecessary junctions by selecting the junction and deleting it. You can't delete a junction unless the road segments are the same. Country, City, Road name, and Road direction need to be set the same before you can remove the excess junction.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6076
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby Kaffesnoken » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:08 pm

gettingthere wrote:I am not quite understanding why you need to add a junction to add a city name to a segment.

This is connected to my situation - long road segments, without any natural junctions or crossroads, passing through settlements with only a few houses close to the road. Most of those places have names.... :-)

gettingthere wrote:All road segments need to be junctioned otherwise Waze can not route on these roads that you are paving. If you have too many junctions due to using the paving method, you can remove unnecessary junctions by selecting the junction and deleting it. You can't delete a junction unless the road segments are the same. Country, City, Road name, and Road direction need to be set the same before you can remove the excess junction.


I know all that, but when there is only one road... :-) In cities and towns the junctions come natural, as there are more roads.

This sends me back to the phone client "problem" that I started this thread with. It produces lots and lots of junctions, totally unneeded, for miles and miles of road. It's a mess.... :-)
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
Kaffesnoken
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:20 pm

noralf wrote:This sends me back to the phone client "problem" that I started this thread with. It produces lots and lots of junctions, totally unneeded, for miles and miles of road. It's a mess.... :-)


You just have to removed the ones you don't want in the editor. The paving mode is not 'smart enough' to understand where to junction roads and where not to junction roads. That is why you have to go in the map editor afterwards to fix it up.

Really I don't understand the big problem. You must go in the map editor anyway to add the Country, City, Road Type, Road Name, etc. Just remove the extra junctions when you are there editing the other details.
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6076
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:30 pm

Although I suppose that the paving function should not add any junctions at all. I suppose that would make you happy?
San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 9.3.1, Waze 4.4
Waze - PLEASE ADD CARPLAY SUPPORT
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6076
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 42 times
Been thanked: 203 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:02 am

Use Papyrus and deleting lots of junctions is much faster once they are in place.

Both Cartouche and Papyrus have a method to select a range of a single street (one name). Works better in Cartouche right now as Papyrus does not actually let you change anything once you select with this method. You can multi-select manually and name them all at once.

The perimeter-defined idea has been kicked around a lot, and because it has the potential to be misused by altering a massive amount of objects at once, it is not going to be implemented.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23478
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1084 times
Been thanked: 4594 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users