Excessive junctions

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:02 am

Use Papyrus and deleting lots of junctions is much faster once they are in place.

Both Cartouche and Papyrus have a method to select a range of a single street (one name). Works better in Cartouche right now as Papyrus does not actually let you change anything once you select with this method. You can multi-select manually and name them all at once.

The perimeter-defined idea has been kicked around a lot, and because it has the potential to be misused by altering a massive amount of objects at once, it is not going to be implemented.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19496
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 654 times
Been thanked: 2257 times

Excessive junctions

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sat Sep 24, 2011 11:25 pm

It's not any different in that both segments must have matching attributes, but you can also bridge instead of deleting the junction. It is more work to select two segments, bridge, then set the level back, but that used to be the only way to do it in the early days of Papyrus. ;)
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.0.6 | Waze v3.7.9.992
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19496
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 654 times
Been thanked: 2257 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby Dash-2 » Sun Oct 02, 2011 4:49 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:It's not any different in that both segments must have matching attributes, but you can also bridge instead of deleting the junction. It is more work to select two segments, bridge, then set the level back, but that used to be the only way to do it in the early days of Papyrus. ;)


I'm glad I found this topic. Alan's description of bridging was the only way I knew how (I started Wazeing with Papyrus) and it is very tedious. Especially with all the dang Pedestrian Boardwalks that cut up the roads all over town. :roll:
Dash-2
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 3:53 am
Location: Oregon
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Re: Excessive junctions

Postby dmcconachie » Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:42 am

noralf wrote:Well..
The new Papyrus editor is bugging me now...
I have found out how to edit the roads, and have found many improvements.
But I have not found a way to remove unneeded junctions.... Suggestions anyone?

Depends on the editing rights you have in that area. If you have the rights then click on the junction, click on the recycle bin up top, click on the save icon.
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6021
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby dmcconachie » Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:56 am

Do the separated segments have the same details? Name, city, direction etc.
dmcconachie • UK Country Admin • Forum Moderator • Former Global Champ
Nexus 4 • Android 4.3
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6021
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 260 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:09 pm

Are their updated Aerials of the area where you are paving roads? If so, it may be more efficient to draw the roads in the map editor vs. paving them with the Application. This way you have greater control of the number of junctions and road points.
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 5, iOS 7.1, Waze 3.7.8
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 134 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:43 pm

If they are the aerial's in the Waze map editor, you can draw streets using them. Any others, likely no.

So paving may be your best option. But no way to the geometry nodes and junctions that are created when paving.

But since you have to go into the map editor to set the road type, name the road, junction, etc - it's really easy to use the keyboard shortcut 'd' to delete the extra geometry nodes. Also, you can draw the mouse while holding down the 'd' key to delete them wherever you are dragging the mouse, on the hi-lited segment. Really easy to remove them.
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 5, iOS 7.1, Waze 3.7.8
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 134 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:40 pm

noralf wrote:Is there an official way to add city names to a stretch of road without adding junctions?
I think I have found a way to do this. I just draw an unconnected road and naming it before connecting it to next segment of the road.

I would like to use the POI method and draw a perimeter around the villages or cities and define the city name inside that instead of using the road naming method. This would also make it possible to define a city and name the geographical (sub)areas of a city and classify them accordingly.


You are correct that the approach above does not work with junctions. Only geometry nodes.

There is no current way to draw a perimeter and change a field on every road within.

Regarding adding the city name to multiple road segments - you can select multiple segments with Ctrl-Mouse click and modify them all at one time.

I am not quite understanding why you need to add a junction to add a city name to a segment.

All road segments need to be junctioned otherwise Waze can not route on these roads that you are paving. If you have too many junctions due to using the paving method, you can remove unnecessary junctions by selecting the junction and deleting it. You can't delete a junction unless the road segments are the same. Country, City, Road name, and Road direction need to be set the same before you can remove the excess junction.
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 5, iOS 7.1, Waze 3.7.8
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 134 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:20 pm

noralf wrote:This sends me back to the phone client "problem" that I started this thread with. It produces lots and lots of junctions, totally unneeded, for miles and miles of road. It's a mess.... :-)


You just have to removed the ones you don't want in the editor. The paving mode is not 'smart enough' to understand where to junction roads and where not to junction roads. That is why you have to go in the map editor afterwards to fix it up.

Really I don't understand the big problem. You must go in the map editor anyway to add the Country, City, Road Type, Road Name, etc. Just remove the extra junctions when you are there editing the other details.
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 5, iOS 7.1, Waze 3.7.8
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 134 times

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby gettingthere » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:30 pm

Although I suppose that the paving function should not add any junctions at all. I suppose that would make you happy?
Wazer in San Diego, California USA and Tijuana, Mexico
iPhone 5, iOS 7.1, Waze 3.7.8
gettingthere
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5987
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 5:30 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 134 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users