Excessive junctions

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby mapcat » Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:09 pm

noralf wrote:I don't know any other way to add city names to roads passing through several communities without splitting them with junctions. This "problem" only shows in very rural areas with only one road passing by, so I will just use this method for now.

It's really the only method you have, so don't fret over those junctions. They serve a purpose, so they're not excessive at all.
CM, USA/Canada ∙ iPhone 5 ∙ iOS 7.1
mapcat
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2444
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:29 am
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 192 times

Excessive junctions

Postby noralf » Mon Sep 12, 2011 8:35 pm

Hi!

I am using Waze on my Nokia C7, and generally I am very pleased with it. Both with the general accuracy of the GPS and how it works in general.
However, when I am paving new roads, they are littered with unneeded junctions. Even if I'm driving at speeds of 80 - 90 km/h it drops junctions at between 150 and 1000 meter intervals. This is a pain to remove afterwards in the map editor. I have been editing a few km's of roads, and I have seen other users driving a lot without a single junction. I would prefer this behaviour, all the time I have to manually make junctions at crossroads anyway.

I am running Waza Release 2.0.0.0 (From the about screen)
And the Nokia C7 with the Symbian Anna OS.
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
noralf
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby noralf » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:40 pm

No there are just low resolution maps / photos available, so I have to rely on using the paving method. I am mapping roads in sparsely populated rural areas in northern Norway. Some cities have higher resolution aerial photos, but I'm not sure if it's legal to draw roads "directly on the photos". (Ref. to what happened in Chile)
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
noralf
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby noralf » Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:31 pm

I am aware of the shortcuts to easily remove geometry nodes, but this approach does not work on the junctions.

Tonight I have edited about 60 km's of roads made up of 79 to 1100 meter segments divided by junctions.

Is there an official way to add city names to a stretch of road without adding junctions?
I think I have found a way to do this. I just draw an unconnected road and naming it before connecting it to next segment of the road.

I would like to use the POI method and draw a perimeter around the villages or cities and define the city name inside that instead of using the road naming method. This would also make it possible to define a city and name the geographical (sub)areas of a city and classify them accordingly.
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
noralf
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby noralf » Mon Sep 12, 2011 11:08 pm

gettingthere wrote:I am not quite understanding why you need to add a junction to add a city name to a segment.

This is connected to my situation - long road segments, without any natural junctions or crossroads, passing through settlements with only a few houses close to the road. Most of those places have names.... :-)

gettingthere wrote:All road segments need to be junctioned otherwise Waze can not route on these roads that you are paving. If you have too many junctions due to using the paving method, you can remove unnecessary junctions by selecting the junction and deleting it. You can't delete a junction unless the road segments are the same. Country, City, Road name, and Road direction need to be set the same before you can remove the excess junction.


I know all that, but when there is only one road... :-) In cities and towns the junctions come natural, as there are more roads.

This sends me back to the phone client "problem" that I started this thread with. It produces lots and lots of junctions, totally unneeded, for miles and miles of road. It's a mess.... :-)
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
noralf
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby noralf » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:19 am

gettingthere wrote:Really I don't understand the big problem. You must go in the map editor anyway to add the Country, City, Road Type, Road Name, etc. Just remove the extra junctions when you are there editing the other details.


I know.. My problem is that there are roads stretching for 20 - 30 km's, and the app is dropping about 3 junctions pr. km. In reality there should be just 10 - 15 junctions along those stretches..
Anyway the problem disappears gradually all the time I am taking the work to remove unneeded junctions manually and there are fewer and fewer new roads to pave. :-)
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
noralf
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby noralf » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:21 am

gettingthere wrote:Although I suppose that the paving function should not add any junctions at all. I suppose that would make you happy?


That would work for me! Better still if the function was selectable.
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
noralf
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby noralf » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:33 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Use Papyrus and deleting lots of junctions is much faster once they are in place.


I have not tried Papyrus that much yet, so I have not familiarized me enough with it.

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:Both Cartouche and Papyrus have a method to select a range of a single street (one name). Works better in Cartouche right now as Papyrus does not actually let you change anything once you select with this method. You can multi-select manually and name them all at once.


I have tried multi-selecting (Ctrl/Click) and that works well in Cartouche. But I have never been able to select the roads at each end of a stretch and use the "Select all roads between" function. That would be a timesaver.

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:The perimeter-defined idea has been kicked around a lot, and because it has the potential to be misused by altering a massive amount of objects at once, it is not going to be implemented.


I can see that point. It's better to make it more difficult to do such big changes. :-)
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
noralf
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Excessive junctions

Postby noralf » Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:39 am

Well..
The new Papyrus editor is bugging me now...
I have found out how to edit the roads, and have found many improvements.
But I have not found a way to remove unneeded junctions.... Suggestions anyone?
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
noralf
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Re: Excessive junctions

Postby noralf » Sat Sep 24, 2011 9:48 am

dmcconachie wrote:
noralf wrote:Well..
The new Papyrus editor is bugging me now...
I have found out how to edit the roads, and have found many improvements.
But I have not found a way to remove unneeded junctions.... Suggestions anyone?

Depends on the editing rights you have in that area. If you have the rights then click on the junction, click on the recycle bin up top, click on the save icon.

I have full AM rights in the area. But the recycle bin is gray when I select the junction by clicking on it. I have removed several erroneous GPS tracks using this method.
Area Manager, Tromsø, og Midt-Troms
noralf
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anon4227