Source code repository on github

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Source code repository on github

Postby cymike » Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:38 pm

I've put together all publicly available source code files (from this page: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Source_code ) into a git repo and pushed it to github:
https://github.com/mkoloberdin/waze

Here is what "gitk --all" output looks like:
Image
So guys, go ahead, clone/fork it and do something with it ;)
It would be nice if Waze developers cloned it too and committed the latest version ;)

Note: The "master" branch is empty, use platform-specific branches (android, iphone etc.).
Last edited by cymike on Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cymike
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Cyprus
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby floppyrod84 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 1:16 pm

What was the point of doing that? 3.0 source isn't even available yet.

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby cymike » Sun Apr 29, 2012 1:23 pm

xteejx wrote:What was the point of doing that?

Just wanted to see how different versions relate/differ etc. Git repository makes it convenient. Also it might be convenient for people who want to make their own improvements/modifications.
3.0 source isn't even available yet.

3.0 changes seem to be mostly gui-related anyway.
cymike
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Cyprus
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby floppyrod84 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:05 pm

Not according to the devs. There was quite a big base rewrite to be able to use all the extra features etc, but that may be to stir up interest.

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby Suik » Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:54 am

cymike wrote:
xteejx wrote:What was the point of doing that?

Just wanted to see how different versions relate/differ etc. Git repository makes it convenient. Also it might be convenient for people who want to make their own improvements/modifications.
3.0 source isn't even available yet.

3.0 changes seem to be mostly gui-related anyway.


not only gui changed, you cannot tweak "preferences" file anymore, afaik.
BA-SVK & surroundings AreaManager, Soc. Med. XP
Renault Fluence 2011, 1.6 16V Exception+HTC One S, stock Android 4.0.4, waze 3.6.0.0
FB pg: Waze Slovensko / Twitter: @waze_slovensko / G+: Waze Slovensko
Suik
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby floppyrod84 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:57 pm

You certainly can, on Android at least.

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2583
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 44 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:04 pm

You can also tweak iOS pref files too. I'm not sure how often the files may be overwritten by a download from the server, though.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23436
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1079 times
Been thanked: 4543 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby Suik » Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:43 pm

xteejx wrote:You certainly can, on Android at least.

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk


if so...how? since 3.x. I can't manage to make the line

Code: Select all
GPS.Show GPS: no


"functional" if changed to yes.
Same applies to changing the ID numbers of Hazards shown in the client :).
BA-SVK & surroundings AreaManager, Soc. Med. XP
Renault Fluence 2011, 1.6 16V Exception+HTC One S, stock Android 4.0.4, waze 3.6.0.0
FB pg: Waze Slovensko / Twitter: @waze_slovensko / G+: Waze Slovensko
Suik
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:54 pm

Suik wrote:if so...how? since 3.x. I can't manage to make the line

Code: Select all
GPS.Show GPS: no


"functional" if changed to yes.
Same applies to changing the ID numbers of Hazards shown in the client :).

Being able to change prefs is different than the client actually using the prefs. They could have internalized those settings for good reasons. Sorry to be picky, but there is a difference in what you're asking could be done vs. the effect of doing it. :geek:
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.1 | Waze v4.4.9904
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23436
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1079 times
Been thanked: 4543 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby Suik » Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:00 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
Suik wrote:if so...how? since 3.x. I can't manage to make the line

Code: Select all
GPS.Show GPS: no


"functional" if changed to yes.
Same applies to changing the ID numbers of Hazards shown in the client :).

Being able to change prefs is different than the client actually using the prefs. They could have internalized those settings for good reasons. Sorry to be picky, but there is a difference in what you're asking could be done vs. the effect of doing it. :geek:


No worries Alan :). I thank you for the explanation :). I've read across the forum several times, that 3.x. code has not been released etc. etc. (not sure on current status), so I thought it has something to do with it....
BA-SVK & surroundings AreaManager, Soc. Med. XP
Renault Fluence 2011, 1.6 16V Exception+HTC One S, stock Android 4.0.4, waze 3.6.0.0
FB pg: Waze Slovensko / Twitter: @waze_slovensko / G+: Waze Slovensko
Suik
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], istvansz82