Source code repository on github

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Source code repository on github

Postby cymike » Sun Apr 29, 2012 12:38 pm

I've put together all publicly available source code files (from this page: http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Source_code ) into a git repo and pushed it to github:
https://github.com/mkoloberdin/waze

Here is what "gitk --all" output looks like:
Image
So guys, go ahead, clone/fork it and do something with it ;)
It would be nice if Waze developers cloned it too and committed the latest version ;)

Note: The "master" branch is empty, use platform-specific branches (android, iphone etc.).
Last edited by cymike on Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cymike
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Cyprus
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby floppyrod84 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 1:16 pm

What was the point of doing that? 3.0 source isn't even available yet.

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby cymike » Sun Apr 29, 2012 1:23 pm

xteejx wrote:What was the point of doing that?

Just wanted to see how different versions relate/differ etc. Git repository makes it convenient. Also it might be convenient for people who want to make their own improvements/modifications.
3.0 source isn't even available yet.

3.0 changes seem to be mostly gui-related anyway.
cymike
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Cyprus
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby floppyrod84 » Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:05 pm

Not according to the devs. There was quite a big base rewrite to be able to use all the extra features etc, but that may be to stir up interest.

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby Suik » Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:54 am

cymike wrote:
xteejx wrote:What was the point of doing that?

Just wanted to see how different versions relate/differ etc. Git repository makes it convenient. Also it might be convenient for people who want to make their own improvements/modifications.
3.0 source isn't even available yet.

3.0 changes seem to be mostly gui-related anyway.


not only gui changed, you cannot tweak "preferences" file anymore, afaik.
The one that returned
almostImageImage
Renault Fluence 2011, 1.6 16V, Samsung GS7 stock Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.18.0.1ß
FB pg: Waze Slovensko / Twitter: @waze_slovensko / G+: Waze Slovensko
Suik
 
Posts: 892
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby floppyrod84 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:57 pm

You certainly can, on Android at least.

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:04 pm

You can also tweak iOS pref files too. I'm not sure how often the files may be overwritten by a download from the server, though.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2 | Waze v4.17
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23563
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1116 times
Been thanked: 4715 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby Suik » Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:43 pm

xteejx wrote:You certainly can, on Android at least.

Sent from my Telenor_OneTouch using Tapatalk


if so...how? since 3.x. I can't manage to make the line

Code: Select all
GPS.Show GPS: no


"functional" if changed to yes.
Same applies to changing the ID numbers of Hazards shown in the client :).
The one that returned
almostImageImage
Renault Fluence 2011, 1.6 16V, Samsung GS7 stock Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.18.0.1ß
FB pg: Waze Slovensko / Twitter: @waze_slovensko / G+: Waze Slovensko
Suik
 
Posts: 892
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:54 pm

Suik wrote:if so...how? since 3.x. I can't manage to make the line

Code: Select all
GPS.Show GPS: no


"functional" if changed to yes.
Same applies to changing the ID numbers of Hazards shown in the client :).

Being able to change prefs is different than the client actually using the prefs. They could have internalized those settings for good reasons. Sorry to be picky, but there is a difference in what you're asking could be done vs. the effect of doing it. :geek:
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.2 | Waze v4.17
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23563
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1116 times
Been thanked: 4715 times

Re: Source code repository on github

Postby Suik » Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:00 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
Suik wrote:if so...how? since 3.x. I can't manage to make the line

Code: Select all
GPS.Show GPS: no


"functional" if changed to yes.
Same applies to changing the ID numbers of Hazards shown in the client :).

Being able to change prefs is different than the client actually using the prefs. They could have internalized those settings for good reasons. Sorry to be picky, but there is a difference in what you're asking could be done vs. the effect of doing it. :geek:


No worries Alan :). I thank you for the explanation :). I've read across the forum several times, that 3.x. code has not been released etc. etc. (not sure on current status), so I thought it has something to do with it....
The one that returned
almostImageImage
Renault Fluence 2011, 1.6 16V, Samsung GS7 stock Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.18.0.1ß
FB pg: Waze Slovensko / Twitter: @waze_slovensko / G+: Waze Slovensko
Suik
 
Posts: 892
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users