Voice Commands reference

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby mr5picker » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:53 pm

kentsmith9 wrote:
mr5picker wrote:Edit: just realized this is probably not the best thread to post this question to. Sorry.

Another user is also reporting voice command problems at https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=78326. That thread might be better.


Thanks. Similar in that they also can't use voice commands but different OS (I'm running iOS) and symptoms are different. I'll just start a new thread an apologize for a duplicate post ;)
mr5picker
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby JOHN-LALA » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:25 pm

another maybe off topic question: how's the voice command option enabled/disabled?

in the client?? (couldn't find it!!)

or per country preset? (like the toll road option...)

I'm drivin through Germany right now. How can we/ can I get the voice commands enabled over here?

I wouldn't mind to talk either English or German to the device...

Speaking of which: its an iPhone 4, iOS 6, system language set to British English, Waze 3.7.3.0.

ty,
JOHN-LALA
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:41 am
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby kentsmith9 » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:53 pm

mr5picker wrote:Edit: just realized this is probably not the best thread to post this question to. Sorry.

Another user is also reporting voice command problems at https://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=78326. That thread might be better.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5536
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1472 times
Been thanked: 1681 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Fri Jan 24, 2014 3:11 pm

mr5picker wrote:Voice commands have completely stopped responding for me. Haven't seen anyone else mention these symptoms yet.

Are you using iOS and bluetooth?
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23612
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4797 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby mr5picker » Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:36 am

Voice commands have completely stopped responding for me. Haven't seen anyone else mention these symptoms yet.
I'm running Waze version 3.7.7 but this problem started at least 4 months ago with the previous version. Basically, once I bring up voice command mode (3 finger tap or wave), I get the "how can I help" request but it fails to respond in any way to any voice input. In the past, voice command mode would close after a few failed attempts. Now, it just sits there - for hours if I let it. It doesn't tell me that it doesn't understand, it just waits. I've tried with the iphone mic and 2 different BT sets.
I've got a Verizon iphone 4 running iOS 7.0.3. Have completely uninstalled and reinstalled.
Had no problem with the earlier version on the same phone. TIA

Edit: just realized this is probably not the best thread to post this question to. Sorry.
mr5picker
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 5:23 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby kentsmith9 » Tue Jan 21, 2014 6:19 am

I updated the Wiki page on Voice Commands to reflect Alan's list in the OP. I believe the current app has a few other options for triggering voice commands that are not updated on the page I updated for the tables if someone wanted to update that part.
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5536
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1472 times
Been thanked: 1681 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby kentsmith9 » Tue Jan 21, 2014 6:08 am

I created a Bugzilla to sync the voice commands and manually entered reports so they match both ways. Many report options are not available manually and I noted RAIN was not available in the voice commands. For those with voting rights, please do so.

https://bugs.waze.com/show_bug.cgi?id=6294
kentsmith9
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5536
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:33 pm
Location: SF/SJ Bay Area of Northern California
Has thanked: 1472 times
Been thanked: 1681 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby majorben » Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:42 pm

No problem AlanofTheBerg. No offense taken. In a way, I'm glad that what I was experiencing was something that was taken away, and it wasn't something that was wrong with my phone. And yes, I do have an iPhone (4s). Thank you for posting the "bug" report. Hopefully, the powers that be will fix it.
majorben
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2011 7:00 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:35 pm

sketch wrote:Is there a command for "sleep"?

There is nothing that I see which can be used to sleep/shut down the app.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23612
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4797 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby sketch » Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:32 pm

Is there a command for "sleep"?

I would agree that most of those should be added back, except "close app", as it's misleading and inaccurate. The rest could be interpreted to mean "sleep".


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2
sketch
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6076
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 6:13 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Has thanked: 1534 times
Been thanked: 2074 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron