Voice Commands reference

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Voice Commands reference (US?)

Postby AndyPoms » Fri Aug 03, 2012 9:05 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:The secret in the phrasing, is to say "closed lane" and not "lane closed." When Waze reports back what it is reporting, it specifically says "reporting closed lane" and not "reporting lane closed." After listening to the phrase upon successfully getting Waze to report a lane closed, I now get a 75% success rate for reporting a closed lane.


Can you specify which lane is closed (and how many)? i.e. When the construction sign says "Right Two Lanes Closed", can you say "Closed Lane Right Two"?
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 885 times

Re: Voice Commands reference (NA only)

Postby AndyPoms » Wed Oct 16, 2013 9:06 pm

cigator wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
cigator wrote:The only voice command that I can get to work is drive. I have tried "switch off" and it never recognizes the command. Am I missing something?

Due to noisy cars, voice commands rarely work without the use of a headset or in-car BT integration.


I have my phone paired to a Motorola Roadster BT transceiver, so my voice should be picked up with that, not the phones microphone. Seems like a software bug.

Not all headsets are compatible - it depends on several factors including HOW (which protocols) your headset connects to your phone - some will only connect the mic for phone calls. My Jawbone headset works great (Calls, Directions, Voice Commands, etc), but my other one doesn't work with voice commands.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5924
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 885 times

Re: Voice Commands reference (NA only)

Postby cigator » Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:35 pm

The only voice command that I can get to work is drive. I have tried "switch off" and it never recognizes the command. Am I missing something?
cigator
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Voice Commands reference (NA only)

Postby cigator » Wed Oct 16, 2013 8:05 pm

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
cigator wrote:The only voice command that I can get to work is drive. I have tried "switch off" and it never recognizes the command. Am I missing something?

Due to noisy cars, voice commands rarely work without the use of a headset or in-car BT integration.


I have my phone paired to a Motorola Roadster BT transceiver, so my voice should be picked up with that, not the phones microphone. Seems like a software bug.
cigator
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 5:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Voice Commands reference (NA only)

Postby dborn62 » Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:36 pm

What about other languages (such as french)?
I live in Montreal, Quebec and most all street names are in french and the text-to-speach has a terrible time at trying to pronounce those french names in english. As I don't have any problem with either language, I switched the text and speech to french and it's much more understandable now!
However, when I try to give it a voice command, it doesn't seem to understand anything anymore. I tried both english and french words/phrases and nothing get recognized.
dborn62
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:10 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Voice Commands reference (NA only)

Postby gabbs1123 » Sun Jul 07, 2013 4:53 pm

Is there a way for the waze app on the iPhone to verbalize the fact that there is upcoming traffic, upcoming cop, etc.? Because having to look at your phone while driving is not the safest thing.
gabbs1123
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 8:48 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Voice Commands reference (US?)

Postby hegedusa » Sun Jul 15, 2012 2:36 pm

xteejx wrote:Over-pronounce the S sound like I-Ssss? It'll be looking for a specific waveform pattern, that should give the ASR what it wants.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2


Do you know if there is there any way to enable this in the UK?
--
Anthony Hegedus
Running Ubuntu 12.04 / Windows 7 / iPhone 4s
Wazeing about 250 miles a week!

Area Manager for South Essex (UK)
hegedusa
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 12:42 pm
Location: Billericay, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Voice Commands reference (US?)

Postby hegedusa » Sun Jul 15, 2012 7:33 pm

xteejx wrote:Used to be able to change the preferences file but last time I tried it didn't work. It expects an American accent, so is a bit useless over here atm.

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2


Well hopefully won't be long, would be a USP for the app
--
Anthony Hegedus
Running Ubuntu 12.04 / Windows 7 / iPhone 4s
Wazeing about 250 miles a week!

Area Manager for South Essex (UK)
hegedusa
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 12:42 pm
Location: Billericay, UK
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Voice Commands reference (NA only)

Postby holmes4 » Tue Jul 09, 2013 5:14 pm

The app does verbalize alerts of this nature - I have heard them.
Steve
holmes4
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 6:09 pm
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Voice Commands reference

Postby JOHN-LALA » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:25 pm

another maybe off topic question: how's the voice command option enabled/disabled?

in the client?? (couldn't find it!!)

or per country preset? (like the toll road option...)

I'm drivin through Germany right now. How can we/ can I get the voice commands enabled over here?

I wouldn't mind to talk either English or German to the device...

Speaking of which: its an iPhone 4, iOS 6, system language set to British English, Waze 3.7.3.0.

ty,
JOHN
Image
JOHN-LALA
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:41 am
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 2 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]