Toll roads option in the client  Topic is solved

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:02 pm

Or an indicator, like this? If you get a list of alternatives it is in there too.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358690532.288586.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358690532.288586.jpg (44.98 KiB) Viewed 2486 times
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby g0wfv » Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:56 pm

fvwazing wrote:Or an indicator, like this? If you get a list of alternatives it is in there too.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358690532.288586.jpg

Do you know, I've never noticed that! I'll get back in my box then :D
g0wfv
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 8:09 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby davipt » Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:00 pm

g0wfv wrote:I would like to see an 'avoid toll roads' option on a per journey basis.


If avoid-toll is enabled, only the first alternative is toll-free. The second and third, if any, may have tolls (with the indicator as stated in the other message).
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2737
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 558 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby shirlig » Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:00 pm

Hurray! Toll roads have been enable in Mexico!
Image
shirlig
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:40 am
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 2023 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby shirlig » Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:08 pm

Hi Wazers,

We added toll roads in New Caledonia & South Africa!

Enjoy,

Shirli
Image
shirlig
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1731
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:40 am
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 2023 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby lakeyboy » Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:52 pm

Just thought of this suggestion while driving today.

I drove onto a toll road (on purpose) while I had Waze set to avoid them. Currently with that setting on, Waze will pretend the toll road does not exist at all on the map while you drive on it (It does the same thing as would driving somewhere where Waze has no map data). I personally think that instead, Waze should calculate and route you the shortest way to get off the toll road, then resume normal navigation with no tolls.

Is this something that is being worked on or is it just the way the 'avoid toll roads' feature is programmed?
ImageImageImageImage
Proud Melburnian and Australian Country Manager.
Map edits: 273,200+ | Distance travelled: 55,120km+ | Reports made: 1780+
Waze Australia Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WazeAustralia
lakeyboy
Australia Waze Champs
Australia Waze Champs
 
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 251 times

Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:16 pm

lakeyboy wrote:Is this something that is being worked on or is it just the way the 'avoid toll roads' feature is programmed?

This is likely part of what is being worked on. We continue to give Waze examples of bad toll routing and related issues and they claim to be working on it.


Tapatalk made me do it.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1084 times
Been thanked: 4607 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby davipt » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:51 pm

lakeyboy wrote:Just thought of this suggestion while driving today.

I drove onto a toll road (on purpose) while I had Waze set to avoid them. Currently with that setting on, Waze will pretend the toll road does not exist at all on the map while you drive on it (It does the same thing as would driving somewhere where Waze has no map data). I personally think that instead, Waze should calculate and route you the shortest way to get off the toll road, then resume normal navigation with no tolls.

Is this something that is being worked on or is it just the way the 'avoid toll roads' feature is programmed?


Last time I did something like this Waze was re-routing me for each single segment and terminating my route at the end of the segment. Meaning I'd be on the freeway, and when arriving at the next node (junction with ramp, or even just a two segment junction), the client would say "you have reached your destination". Then it would try to re-route again, pick the next segment, and repeat the instruction cycle.

In my case it may have happened because I've set *all* segments as toll, from the first ramp where you can't leave anymore without paying, until the last ramp or segment where a free entry joins.

Haven't tried this for several months though.

I still have the issue where the Waze client prefers to drive *against the traffic* on a *locked freeway* just to avoid the toll, because the given *illegal and deadly* route is just 10KM, whilst the only free alternative is 180KM long :o
ImageBruno D. Rodrigues | Global Champ
Coordinator for Portugal | Expert iPhone and others
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2737
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 271 times
Been thanked: 558 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby harling » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:47 pm

We have experienced first-hand the down-side of addressing this issue by making toll penalties cumulative: Eventually, the penalty builds up to the point where it is "better" to violate a turn restriction or directionality.

IMO, if you're already on a toll road when you start to navigate, and you have "avoid tolls" set, Waze can leave it to the driver to find a legal way off the toll system. Scenario: user has "avoid tolls" set, but on a particular trip selects an alternate route that includes a toll road. While on the toll road, Waze recalculates for whatever reason. Does the driver want Waze to keep trying to route him off of a toll road that he voluntarily entered?

This is another case where Waze should assume a certain amount of competence on the part of the driver. Exits on toll roads are usually clearly marked.
Image
Area Manager, Eastern MA & Southern NH. Country Manager, USA.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:24 pm

They should make the Toll Roads work the same way as Parking Lot Roads. They got that working perfectly.
Image
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
South-Central Regional Coordinator
(LA/MS/AR...contact karlcr9911 for TX/OK related issues)
U.S. Champ, Global Champ
Waze FAQ ... Best Map Editing Practice
Ask me about Louisiana Editors Chat in Google Hangouts!
jasonh300
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7565
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 401 times
Been thanked: 969 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users