Toll roads option in the client  Topic is solved

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby scarlogarcia » Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:52 pm

foxitrot wrote:Have you already signed a NDA with Waze? No? Then imagine it as a "somewhat large value, but not too much".

Wait - has bgodette already found it out? I've possibly missed it being announced, sorry...


Since a larger measure is a subjective measurement...100 meters could be larger enoght for some issues...

Actually, some NDA are completely unnecessary, mainly when one must config his app based on a unknown size. :(
scarlogarcia
 
Posts: 2475
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:12 am
Location: Brasília/Brazil.
Has thanked: 1015 times
Been thanked: 1846 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby foxitrot » Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:46 pm

Have you already signed a NDA with Waze? No? Then imagine it as a "somewhat large value, but not too much".

Wait - has bgodette already found it out? I've possibly missed it being announced, sorry...
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7157
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2488 times
Been thanked: 1132 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby scarlogarcia » Wed Mar 20, 2013 9:06 pm

Hi, I don't know if I lost that information along the thread but, currently, anyone knows how long is a "long dirty road" from the feature "avoid long ones"?

I couldn't find that information within forum and support http://www.waze.com/support

Thanks,
Carlos.
scarlogarcia
 
Posts: 2475
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 4:12 am
Location: Brasília/Brazil.
Has thanked: 1015 times
Been thanked: 1846 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby harling » Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:42 pm

foxitrot wrote:If the driver were already on a Toll road, while his preference were "no toll" and the road would consist of an uninterrupted stretch of tolled segments, then the routing engine would have no problem to route him along the Toll road indefinitely long. But he should be navigated away, ASAP...

In my experience, exits from toll roads are usually clearly marked, and there aren't many opportunities to get lost or go off-track (e.g., they usually don't even let you reverse direction). If you're on a toll road and you navigate somewhere with "Avoid Tolls" enabled, I think it's fine if Waze lets you choose with the steering wheel whether to leave the toll road or not. Maybe you took this one toll road for a reason, and don't want Waze telling you to get off at every exit.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby beto4p » Sun Mar 17, 2013 3:59 am

lol :D
beto4p
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:53 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby foxitrot » Tue Feb 19, 2013 7:28 am

jasonh300 wrote:
AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:They should make the Toll Roads work the same way as Parking Lot Roads. They got that working perfectly.

But it isn't quite that simple everywhere. Parking lots have an "exit" penalty. If a Toll Road is made of bits where some are toll and some are not, then this "exit" penalty would apply multiple times.

But that's fine...if you have tolls set to "avoid", it'll still avoid them. If you have it turned off, it would ignore the restriction.

If the driver were already on a Toll road, while his preference were "no toll" and the road would consist of an uninterrupted stretch of tolled segments, then the routing engine would have no problem to route him along the Toll road indefinitely long. But he should be navigated away, ASAP.

OTOH, If this driver decides to agree with a suggested tolled route alternative, then the routing engine could ignore his "no toll" preference, but just now and only for this particular stretch.
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7157
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2488 times
Been thanked: 1132 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby jasonh300 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:43 am

AlanOfTheBerg wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:They should make the Toll Roads work the same way as Parking Lot Roads. They got that working perfectly.

But it isn't quite that simple everywhere. Parking lots have an "exit" penalty. If a Toll Road is made of bits where some are toll and some are not, then this "exit" penalty would apply multiple times.


But that's fine...if you have tolls set to "avoid", it'll still avoid them. If you have it turned off, it would ignore the restriction.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 985 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:24 am

jasonh300 wrote:They should make the Toll Roads work the same way as Parking Lot Roads. They got that working perfectly.

But it isn't quite that simple everywhere. Parking lots have an "exit" penalty. If a Toll Road is made of bits where some are toll and some are not, then this "exit" penalty would apply multiple times.
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23612
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1126 times
Been thanked: 4797 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby jasonh300 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:24 pm

They should make the Toll Roads work the same way as Parking Lot Roads. They got that working perfectly.
jasonh300
 
Posts: 7568
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 985 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby harling » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:47 pm

We have experienced first-hand the down-side of addressing this issue by making toll penalties cumulative: Eventually, the penalty builds up to the point where it is "better" to violate a turn restriction or directionality.

IMO, if you're already on a toll road when you start to navigate, and you have "avoid tolls" set, Waze can leave it to the driver to find a legal way off the toll system. Scenario: user has "avoid tolls" set, but on a particular trip selects an alternate route that includes a toll road. While on the toll road, Waze recalculates for whatever reason. Does the driver want Waze to keep trying to route him off of a toll road that he voluntarily entered?

This is another case where Waze should assume a certain amount of competence on the part of the driver. Exits on toll roads are usually clearly marked.
harling
 
Posts: 1736
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 8:42 pm
Location: Eastern MA
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 123 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users