Toll roads option in the client  Topic is solved

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby mpawlicki » Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:10 am

When Avoid Toll Roads option is enabled, do you even get an option to see that route? What I mean by this is that I still would like to know the traffic times on a toll road because it may be cheaper to pay the toll and drive faster.
Image
mpawlicki
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:16 pm
Location: Columbus, OH, USA
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby muchomac » Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:33 am

I have a problem with this feature. It messed up my ability to trust Waze routes.
While visiting California, I had to enable the avoid toll roads feature since I was driving a rental car and did not want to deal with the hassle.
Anyway, forgot to turn it off and flew back to Puerto Rico. Now the button disappeared but the feature is turned on. So, it is avoiding all toll roads. Well, I do believe all toll toads have been mapped in Waze for Puerto Rico. This makes it for a fun ride when Waze is now telling me to take long scenic routes and all ETAs are actually double of the usual time. Frustrating!
So, can it be turned ON in Puerto Rico, please?
muchomac
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 4:42 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby muchomac » Sat Aug 02, 2014 3:02 am

Good Job. Puerto Rico is only 100x35 miles. We don't have many highways. So, tolls are very few. Most of us know where they are. The only thing that might be missing is a new express lane with toll that is opened during specific hours with heavy traffic. It is only available in one specific highway.

Anyway, I did reinstall Waze client and it is back to normal.

Thanks
muchomac
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 4:42 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby Olestas » Thu Aug 16, 2012 7:18 am

There also should be option to SEE, exactly WHERE the toll road is. I thought waze would WARN me when there are toll roads.. but it either includes them in route or just tries to avoid, but I do not KNOW this.. would be better to show it.
ImageImageImageImage
Coordinator: Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus
Full coverage (Country manager): Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus/Russia
Olestas
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3803
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 1006 times
Been thanked: 785 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby Olestas » Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:40 am

Don't forget about indication of place of toll and amount to pay. It would be super.
ImageImageImageImage
Coordinator: Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus
Full coverage (Country manager): Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus/Russia
Olestas
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3803
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 1006 times
Been thanked: 785 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby Olestas » Sat Aug 02, 2014 4:36 pm

You should ask for toll option to be enabled for your country.
ImageImageImageImage
Coordinator: Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus
Full coverage (Country manager): Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus/Russia
Olestas
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 3803
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 1006 times
Been thanked: 785 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby orit_y » Sun Apr 07, 2013 3:03 pm

Hi,

We added the toll roads feature in;

1. Russia
2. Bosnia & Herzegowin

Best,
Orit
Image
orit_y
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:45 am
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 189 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby orit_y » Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:08 pm

Hi,

Starting today we activated the toll roads feature in Malaysia.
All thanks to the hard work of the Malaysian community! great job!

Best,
Orit
Image
orit_y
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:45 am
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 189 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby ottonomy » Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:02 pm

I would like to see some differentiation in settings based upon whether a toll road is automated-only (no pay booths, but only sensors for on-board chips or transponders, like FastTrak) or a traditional toll road, where one can pay at a booth on a one-time basis. I don't mind paying for toll roads on occasion, when they will save me a great deal of time, so I leave the "avoid toll roads" setting switched to off. The problem is, sometimes Waze will direct me onto a toll road which has no option to pay as I go, and I have to figure out on the fly how to get out of the situation. In some cases, the "toll road" is actually just a toll lane, separated by some kind of barrier from the main road. When I don't enter that lane after Waze has instructed me to, because I have not got the required transponder device in my vehicle, Waze doesn't understand that I am now driving parallel on the main road instead, and as such will fail to give me the correct exit instructions, as the toll lanes sometimes exit to the left, and at different locations from the main road.
Area Manager - Southern California / Country Manager - United States
ottonomy
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:31 am
Location: Los Angeles CA
Has thanked: 706 times
Been thanked: 328 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby paulkok_my » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:49 am

etatan wrote:Please enable this option for Malaysia. The maps for BOTH tolled roads and roads without toll are already comprehensively comprehended in the Waze maps.

The issue I am faced with currently is the option to "avoid toll roads" was available when i used Waze while I was driving in Australia, and i turned it on in order to avoid the toll roads - as i was driving a rental car, and did not have a toll tag.

Now that I am back in Malaysia, the option has disappeared from my Waze menu (same device), and i am stuck with the option being enabled. Waze is consistently asking me to use the old trunk roads (no toll), when the tolled roads (all highways) is the better option..

Thanks!

Have you tried un-tick the avoid toll OR better still un-install the client and re-install back? By default when you re-install back the client, the avoid toll feature is not available for Malaysia yet. However we are in the process of getting the feature enabled for Malaysia as we have achieved the 90% target required for this feature to be enabled. You can read the toll road progress here
ImageImageImage
Area Manager: Shah Alam / Klang, Southern Region, Malaysia
Asus Zenfone 2 on Android 5.0

Join our FB group: Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah/Sarawak
or Google+ group: Waze in Malaysia on Google+
paulkok_my
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:34 am
Location: Selangor, Malaysia
Has thanked: 146 times
Been thanked: 162 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot]