Toll roads option in the client  Topic is solved

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:00 am

davipt wrote:Update: I'm pretty sure it works. With avoid-tolls I can't ever get a route - I doubt there is proper majors and minors connections through all Portugal (I know one of the roads I need to fix here) and then through Spain and France, whilst without avoid-tolls I get one route - but timeout if I ask for alternatives. It's 1400KM to Paris.

Too bad it doesn't work for such long distances. Back in 2005-2007 navigation worked perfectly form me with Wayfinder and Nokia devices - Düsseldorf-Lisbon is 2400KM. (full disclosure: I might have been involved in the shameful destruction of Wayfinder, I apologize for my small part in it)


Expect all this to change when the roadrank-based longdistance routing is in place. Probably change for worst first, hopefully for better later ;-).
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby orit_y » Sun Apr 07, 2013 3:03 pm

Hi,

We added the toll roads feature in;

1. Russia
2. Bosnia & Herzegowin

Best,
Orit
Image
orit_y
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:45 am
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 191 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby talsworthy » Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:21 pm

I don't mind being routed through a toll but (in uk) I am not aware that has happened (and then give the choice to avoid) and even better if it could indicate the price of the tolls.
talsworthy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Thu Apr 18, 2013 7:45 pm

Like this? If you get a list of alternatives it is in there too.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358690532.288586.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358690532.288586.jpg (44.98 KiB) Viewed 3253 times
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby talsworthy » Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:57 pm

Yep that shows - now I know what to look for. Personally I would prefer it more in my face ie this is a toll route do you want to use tolls or similar. Price like petrol prices would be useful to know what I need on me :)
talsworthy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:46 am

Given the extreme diversity in prizing schemes in use worldwide - don't hold your breath. Pricing can vary upon vehicletype, number of axes, number of occupants, season, day of the week, time, traffic conditions on other roads.
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby pvaladares » Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:44 am

It would be nice if the toll cost of each route could br estimated.
Image
Country Manager for Portugal | Champ | Expert Android and others
Area Manager for Luanda (Angola) and Macau (China)
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
pvaladares
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Sat Jun 08, 2013 12:31 pm

Given the extreme diversity in prizing schemes in use worldwide - don't hold your breath. Pricing can vary upon vehicletype, number of axes, number of occupants, season, day of the week, time, traffic conditions on other roads.
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby pvaladares » Sun Jun 09, 2013 1:27 pm

It seem to be feasible.

There is already the option to choose the car picture.
It could be possible to specify the number of axes and further details.

Viamichelin has a very good example of this.
Image
Country Manager for Portugal | Champ | Expert Android and others
Area Manager for Luanda (Angola) and Macau (China)
Forum PT | Wiki PT | Facebook PT | Twitter PT
pvaladares
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 160 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby etatan » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:34 am

Please enable this option for Malaysia. The maps for BOTH tolled roads and roads without toll are already comprehensively comprehended in the Waze maps.

The issue I am faced with currently is the option to "avoid toll roads" was available when i used Waze while I was driving in Australia, and i turned it on in order to avoid the toll roads - as i was driving a rental car, and did not have a toll tag.

Now that I am back in Malaysia, the option has disappeared from my Waze menu (same device), and i am stuck with the option being enabled. Waze is consistently asking me to use the old trunk roads (no toll), when the tolled roads (all highways) is the better option..

Thanks!
etatan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:33 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]