Toll roads option in the client  Topic is solved

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Toll roads option in the client

Postby tigertanghao » Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:27 am

fvwazing wrote:Given that some absolutely want to have an alternative INCLUDING toll and some want alternatives AVOIDING toll the solution can only be to show 1 alternative for each - and indicate which is toll. At least that indication is in the making.

Sorry, I don't like this idea. Avoid toll should same as avoid high way. High way don't show in 2nd /3rd option. Don't mean to mess up avoid high way after this. Waze just finally make it right for it(avoid freeway only).
If user NOT choose avoid toll road , it would be proper to show options with/ without toll road, and allow user to choose. But not otherway. It just destroy this feature.

Completely avoid toll please, if user choose so!!
tigertanghao
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 6:07 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby dmcconachie » Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:31 am

I agree with fvwazing, I'd want to see an alternative including the toll road.

via Tapatalk
dmcconachie • Former Global Champ
OnePlus One • Android 6.0.1
UK WikiFB PageForum FAQCurrent status
dmcconachie
 
Posts: 6124
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 11:44 pm
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Has thanked: 106 times
Been thanked: 309 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby petervdveen » Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:39 am

But it should say it is including toll-roads.
petervdveen
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 9883
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 506 times
Been thanked: 1380 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby Olestas » Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:40 am

Don't forget about indication of place of toll and amount to pay. It would be super.
ImageImageImageImage

GC: Latvia
Coordinator: Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus
Country manager (Full coverage): Latvia/Lithuania/Belarus/Russia/Ukraine
Olestas
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 5171
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 2081 times
Been thanked: 1661 times

Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:46 am

olestas wrote:Don't forget about indication of place of toll and amount to pay. It would be super.


Forget the amount to pay. It differs per type of vehicle, time of day, day of week, number of passengers, type of fuel, amount of traffic on other roads.
Waze jezelf!
600K+ edits
AM for some 25.000 km² around Maastricht, the Netherlands
iPhone 3Gs / iOS 6.0.1
fvwazing
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 3593
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby shirlig » Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:00 pm

Hi guys,

Toll roads have been enabled in Sweden and Czech Republic as well.

Please inform us if you encounter any issues.

Thanks!

Shirli
Image
shirlig
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1737
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:40 am
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 2116 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby floppyrod84 » Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:01 pm

There wouldn't be any need to not show alternatives including tolls if they were labelled or a dialog came up, maybe next to the 1,2,3 route numbers have a red T next to it?

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby zsezo » Thu Aug 16, 2012 12:18 pm

shirlig wrote:Hi guys,

Toll roads have been enabled in Sweden and Czech Republic as well.

Please inform us if you encounter any issues.

Thanks!

Shirli


Thanks again for the quick support! :D
Outsmarting ourselves, together. :D
Country manager, Global Champ: Hungary and FTW
http://waze.hu and Facebook and HU:Térképszerkesztés/Map Editing
zsezo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 4:00 am
Location: Magyarország/Hungary
Has thanked: 466 times
Been thanked: 113 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:40 pm

xteejx wrote:There wouldn't be any need to not show alternatives including tolls if they were labelled or a dialog came up, maybe next to the 1,2,3 route numbers have a red T next to it?

That's the plan, but requires a new client rev.

As was proposed many many months ago, Waze should implement the option differently than simply "avoid." There should be possibly three options, similar to autozoom:
  1. Never use (never show or select a route with a toll road),
  2. Avoid (prefer non-toll, but include at least one in routes, especially if it is significantly faster at that time)
  3. Include (primary, initial route selection may include a toll road and 2 of 3 alternate routes can be tolls).
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 10.1.1 | Waze v4.14
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23501
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1090 times
Been thanked: 4640 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby floppyrod84 » Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:51 pm

Ah right, thanks Alan for the clarification. :-)

Sent from my GT-I9100P using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot]