Toll roads option in the client  Topic is solved

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Sat Jun 08, 2013 12:31 pm

Given the extreme diversity in prizing schemes in use worldwide - don't hold your breath. Pricing can vary upon vehicletype, number of axes, number of occupants, season, day of the week, time, traffic conditions on other roads.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby pvaladares » Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:44 am

It would be nice if the toll cost of each route could br estimated.
pvaladares
 
Posts: 954
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:05 pm
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 163 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Fri Apr 19, 2013 12:46 am

Given the extreme diversity in prizing schemes in use worldwide - don't hold your breath. Pricing can vary upon vehicletype, number of axes, number of occupants, season, day of the week, time, traffic conditions on other roads.
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby talsworthy » Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:57 pm

Yep that shows - now I know what to look for. Personally I would prefer it more in my face ie this is a toll route do you want to use tolls or similar. Price like petrol prices would be useful to know what I need on me :)
talsworthy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Thu Apr 18, 2013 7:45 pm

Like this? If you get a list of alternatives it is in there too.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1358690532.288586.jpg
(44.98 KiB) Downloaded 3333 times
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby talsworthy » Thu Apr 18, 2013 6:21 pm

I don't mind being routed through a toll but (in uk) I am not aware that has happened (and then give the choice to avoid) and even better if it could indicate the price of the tolls.
talsworthy
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby orit_y » Sun Apr 07, 2013 3:03 pm

Hi,

We added the toll roads feature in;

1. Russia
2. Bosnia & Herzegowin

Best,
Orit
orit_y
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:45 am
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 191 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby fvwazing » Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:00 am

davipt wrote:Update: I'm pretty sure it works. With avoid-tolls I can't ever get a route - I doubt there is proper majors and minors connections through all Portugal (I know one of the roads I need to fix here) and then through Spain and France, whilst without avoid-tolls I get one route - but timeout if I ask for alternatives. It's 1400KM to Paris.

Too bad it doesn't work for such long distances. Back in 2005-2007 navigation worked perfectly form me with Wayfinder and Nokia devices - Düsseldorf-Lisbon is 2400KM. (full disclosure: I might have been involved in the shameful destruction of Wayfinder, I apologize for my small part in it)


Expect all this to change when the roadrank-based longdistance routing is in place. Probably change for worst first, hopefully for better later ;-).
fvwazing
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:48 pm
Has thanked: 415 times
Been thanked: 385 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby davipt » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:52 am

foxitrot wrote:There is one major design flaw with toll roads and its implementation in the client - why the heck is the option available just when I'm physically (GPS) placed in the country(...)


Fully agree, hence why I asked at least "for some consistency over Europe"
davipt
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 2750
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Oeiras, Portugal
Has thanked: 279 times
Been thanked: 585 times

Re: Toll roads option in the client

Postby foxitrot » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:39 am

There is one major design flaw with toll roads and its implementation in the client - why the heck is the option available just when I'm physically (GPS) placed in the country, where toll roads' coverage is being considered "complete" and the functionality being enabled for routing? I could understand why Waze hesitates to enable the routing functionality in a country, where the coverage is not yet considered "complete enough", but why should the switch be kept hidden, when I'm planning a route through a country, where it is live?

(The same problem, when I'm 5 km inside a country, where gas stations are not "switched on". Illogically I'm not allowed to see gas prices in the neighboring country, where GS are completely functional. I've to cross the border, then I'm suddenly allowed to. The prices should be hidden, not the option to see them!!)
foxitrot
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7065
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 10:22 pm
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 2353 times
Been thanked: 1076 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], BumbleBeeZ06