Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby haluca » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:54 am

Petrol prices have just launched here (New Zealand) too. My first attempt at adding them today, and I get the message 'sorry you cannot report gas prices as you are a waze baby' (which I'm not) - anyone else have this problem?
haluca
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2012 10:20 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby dovos » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:47 am

Hello!

How I can add numbers in gas price after a dot?
Image
I can't add it, because i don't have a button of a dot, such as http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Gas_Stations
Image
dovos
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:43 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby porubcan » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:53 am

just type all digits you need, Waze client will put the decimal dot automatically as the format and value-range is defined for each country. (E.g. here we use 3 decimals, so the price is like 1,469 €. to report that price, it is enough to submit 1469.)
Image Image Image
SK Country Coordinator, SK Country Manager, Global Champ, Android Beta Tester
Waze 4.5.0.1 on HTC One M9, Android 6.0 @ white Škoda Octavia RS Combi
porubcan
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 1514 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby dovos » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:58 am

porubcan wrote:just type all digits you need, Waze client will put the decimal dot automatically as the format and value-range is defined for each country. (E.g. here we use 3 decimals, so the price is like 1,469 €. to report that price, it is enough to submit 1469.)

I tried so. But numbers after the second aren't entered and saved.
Image
dovos
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:43 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby porubcan » Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:04 am

I think you should report this to support. in ideal case, upload relevant screenshots (e.g. how it looks like when you enter the price and how it is displayed after save) somewhere and put links to those screenshots into the support request with detailed description of the problem.
Image Image Image
SK Country Coordinator, SK Country Manager, Global Champ, Android Beta Tester
Waze 4.5.0.1 on HTC One M9, Android 6.0 @ white Škoda Octavia RS Combi
porubcan
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 1514 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby dovos » Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:17 am

I solved this problem, having changed the region in settings of Iphone. :( instead of Russia I chose the USA. It is necessary to solve a problem with support that they corrected now.
Image
dovos
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:43 pm
Location: Russia
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Gas prices feature start in new country

Postby artuuras » Tue Nov 06, 2012 11:52 am

Artuuras wrote:Gas prices feature finally started in Lithuania today. First try - first disappointment. Client says:
Sorry, but the prices you entered don't seem to be valid.
na.jpg
na.jpg (12.08 KiB) Viewed 1818 times



petervdveen wrote:Try the inputs 1 by 1.
First 95, then 98, than diesel and then LPG.
Maybe you'll find the corrupt one then.


I tried. about 5 times it didn't help and you know what? I got my first gas price points for accidentally entered prices N/A N/A N/A and, you will not believe, N/A :idea:
I continued to enter various prices and it was may be 21st try and - success :D Since that moment Waze said nothing about validity of prices.
I guess Waze has some average prices, and at the starting point they are 0,00 , so
deeggo wrote:It seems it always goes better after a couple of days.

I'm not sure, but my point is: why to wait? just try and try (and try) :geek: and you will take your success :mrgreen:
WAZE'ing: Lithuania
WAZE 3.7.3.0 Samsung Galaxy mini Android 2.2.1
artuuras
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 4:11 pm
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby porubcan » Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:23 pm

I've just tried to check situation in Lithuania by faking GPS position for Waze client... I've found I was able to enter price for this station: Neste Savanoriu 1 A24, degaline, Neste Lietuva
with price value 1.234. however I was not able to put in price 4.9 or so. based on this it seems that there is price range defined which controls validity of provided information...

it is also possible, that configuration of Gas Prices feature is not based on gas station location, but on user's profile (as I have seen different (slovak) gas types and the price I've entered was indicated as EUR)

so I see two possible issues there:
1. price range is set wrong for Lithuania (seems more likely to me)
2. user's profile indicates other country than Lithuania
and I would suggest to check issue with support or HQ representatives (someone who was managing implementation of gas prices for your country).
Image Image Image
SK Country Coordinator, SK Country Manager, Global Champ, Android Beta Tester
Waze 4.5.0.1 on HTC One M9, Android 6.0 @ white Škoda Octavia RS Combi
porubcan
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5593
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 649 times
Been thanked: 1514 times

Re: Re: Gas prices feature start in new country

Postby deeggo » Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:15 pm

Artuuras wrote:I'm not sure, but my point is: why to wait? just try and try (and try) :geek: and you will take your success :mrgreen:

Yeah, sometimes I was able to succeed after a couple of times, sometimes I wasn't. Sometimes the next day I succeeded, sometimes after a couple of days. There's no logic. In the end, the server will deem the price valid.
Global Champ. Country manager Nederland & België
NL: Wiki: hoe label ik een (snel)weg correct?
HTC One M8 | Follow me on Twitter
Join Dropbox, free online file sync! Register through this link and give you and me 250MB extra for free. Thanks!
deeggo
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4046
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:21 pm
Has thanked: 490 times
Been thanked: 519 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby artuuras » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:01 pm

porubcan wrote:I've just tried to check situation in Lithuania by faking GPS position for Waze client...


Thank you for testing "porubcan" :) (thank you Shirlig, too ;) )

porubcan wrote:I've found I was able to enter price for this station: Neste Savanoriu 1 A24, degaline, Neste Lietuva
with price value 1.234. however I was not able to put in price 4.9 or so. based on this it seems that there is price range defined which controls validity of provided information...
it is also possible, that configuration of Gas Prices feature is not based on gas station location, but on user's profile (as I have seen different (slovak) gas types and the price I've entered was indicated as EUR)

Yes you really entered 1.23 and it is in Lt, not EUR :
SC-123-1.jpg
SC-123-1.jpg (14.32 KiB) Viewed 2149 times

SC-123-2.jpg
SC-123-2.jpg (12.5 KiB) Viewed 2149 times


As you can see now everything is o.k. and we can enter real prices. :D
Thanks again for you and Shirlig and Waze . :D
WAZE'ing: Lithuania
WAZE 3.7.3.0 Samsung Galaxy mini Android 2.2.1
artuuras
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 4:11 pm
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NicolasWaisman, NotontheT, Yahoo [Bot]