Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby mikk254 » Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:47 pm

i can find 3 gas stations in my area stopped at two of them can enter the price for all 4 fuels but receive the message that the price seems to be incorrect. Sorry forget the exact error msg.
issue was previously reported and identified as solved...not!
mikk254
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 2:29 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Morphlin » Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:49 am

Hi,

Just wondering if there are any plans to enable Canadian users to input cost by liters?

Right now, we have to convert the prices per liters shown to a price per us galon in order for waze to accept it. Funny enough, the price in Canada is so high, waze will sometime not accept the converted value as it is not "realistic".

Thanks.
ImageImage
Morphlin
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 1:57 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby MrGiiWa » Mon Mar 31, 2014 6:56 pm

a very stupid one. In Switzerland we are still have the Swiss Franc (CHF) ... We do not pay in Euro ! :shock:
MrGiiWa
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 9:04 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Nacron » Tue Aug 28, 2012 12:58 am

Personally, I think there should be a way to report certain users who are just hitting correct price just to get the 8 points and probably while driving near but not close enough to see the gas prices. There are several users I know for certain that are just doing that because it says updated today and the price was from several days ago. Also, there needs to be a way to see the address of the station. I've seen it where there are several stations of the same brand on the same list.
2010 Subaru Legacy 2.5i | Sprint Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | 4.3 MJ4 | Waze 3.7.7.0 Official
[Oahu, Kauai, Maui, Lanai, Hawaii Island, Molokai] Hawaii Area Manager
Image
Nacron
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Waipahu, HI
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Nacron » Thu Oct 11, 2012 11:26 pm

mapcat wrote:
deeggo wrote:I would like to propose a smaller number of points for just confirming prices already put in. I fear people will just confirm prices of every station they pass, for gaining points.

That's not fair to the person who pulls into the station to add prices, and then sees that someone else got them first.

They're only worth 8 points anyway. Hardly an incentive to cheat.

Oh yeah? The top two ranked people in Hawaii weekly have probably 90% of their points from drive by confirmation of gas prices, almost all the time the prices are "confirmed" by them and are wrong.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
2010 Subaru Legacy 2.5i | Sprint Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | 4.3 MJ4 | Waze 3.7.7.0 Official
[Oahu, Kauai, Maui, Lanai, Hawaii Island, Molokai] Hawaii Area Manager
Image
Nacron
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Waipahu, HI
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Re: Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Nacron » Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:49 pm

mapcat wrote:
Nacron wrote:The top two ranked people in Hawaii weekly have probably 90% of their points from drive by confirmation of gas prices, almost all the time the prices are "confirmed" by them and are wrong.

Report them to support. Note the stations, time you saw the bad prices, and what the correct prices were. How many points are they getting by doing this?

FWIW, nobody's reporting prices around me (besides "3rd party") and the prices are wrong here too.

I'm pretty sure of it, all the prices i see for them are usually incorrect. They don't do map updates and never see any reports from them.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
2010 Subaru Legacy 2.5i | Sprint Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | 4.3 MJ4 | Waze 3.7.7.0 Official
[Oahu, Kauai, Maui, Lanai, Hawaii Island, Molokai] Hawaii Area Manager
Image
Nacron
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Waipahu, HI
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Nacron » Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:02 am

pvaladares wrote:
zabb wrote:We have troubles in Italy to insert the prices with iOs (iPhone and iPad).
It doesn't see the numbers after the point (.)

If you type 1.879, it takes 1.000



I am using latest Android beta client (3.4.99.100) and I just have to enter the 4 digits. No need to enter "." or ","
In my client it automatically formats the price.


Note: The current version has a bug (before editing prices they have "," and after edition they have ".")


In the US, the current android beta assumes the 9/10th of a cent so you only have to enter 3 digits.
2010 Subaru Legacy 2.5i | Sprint Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | 4.3 MJ4 | Waze 3.7.7.0 Official
[Oahu, Kauai, Maui, Lanai, Hawaii Island, Molokai] Hawaii Area Manager
Image
Nacron
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Waipahu, HI
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Nacron » Fri Oct 19, 2012 5:00 am

pvaladares wrote:
Bruno3589 wrote:Hi, I have problems too when trying to insert gas pricing in Italy with the Android app version.

When I am near or into the gas station landmark and I try to update gas prices, I get an error telling me that GPS is unreachable, even though it's not true (GPS is active, has signal, and Waze is using it to navigate).

I got the same error with both Waze 3.2.2.2 stable and 3.4.99.110 Beta, so I can't figure out what the problem is (I also tried clearing the cache, which did not help).


True. Today I had the same problem while updating most of gas stations in my way (maybe some anti-spam feature?).
Below I attached 2 examples

1 - Real GPS position
2 - Gas station
Image Image


Try look on category map search at the gas stations on the map within the app. the gas station might be placed incorrectly on the map. Discovered this when contacting support about a misnamed gas station. (sorry about the huge pics)

Image

Image

The red arrows point to where the gas stations should be. In the first pic, the two stations were a full block away from where they were supposed to be, so when you try to report it at the west most gas station, the gas station is not found.
2010 Subaru Legacy 2.5i | Sprint Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | 4.3 MJ4 | Waze 3.7.7.0 Official
[Oahu, Kauai, Maui, Lanai, Hawaii Island, Molokai] Hawaii Area Manager
Image
Nacron
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Waipahu, HI
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Nacron » Wed Jan 30, 2013 5:12 am

Haha caught a user who just confirms prices for points. This Aloha gas station has been closed for a year yet he's still confirming the prices from last year
Image
Image

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
2010 Subaru Legacy 2.5i | Sprint Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | 4.3 MJ4 | Waze 3.7.7.0 Official
[Oahu, Kauai, Maui, Lanai, Hawaii Island, Molokai] Hawaii Area Manager
Image
Nacron
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Waipahu, HI
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Re: Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Nacron » Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:37 am

CBenson wrote:
Twister_UK wrote:Given that this station is still showing up as a valid location for price updates, either it hasn't been removed from the map, or the flakey back-end implementation has kept a ghost copy of this station in the database after it's been deleted in WME.

This is a US station. The US stations can't be deleted in WME.

Yup. We have to jump through hoops with the support form to get them fixed or removed

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
2010 Subaru Legacy 2.5i | Sprint Samsung Galaxy Note 3 | 4.3 MJ4 | Waze 3.7.7.0 Official
[Oahu, Kauai, Maui, Lanai, Hawaii Island, Molokai] Hawaii Area Manager
Image
Nacron
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:08 pm
Location: Waipahu, HI
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, Rokcet