Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby petervdveen » Wed Jan 08, 2014 4:33 pm

porubcan wrote:For the 1st one put N/A for all prices. As they have no prices listed on sign, I wonder someone put price for it.

I would just remove it from the editor, or change the name to 'ClOSED'.
But removing it is the easiest, I guess.
Coördinator BeNeLux
- Nederland Belgium Lëtzebuerg
ImageImageImageImage

peter@wazenederland.nl peter@wazebelgium.be
petervdveen
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8150
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 220 times
Been thanked: 826 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby petervdveen » Wed Apr 02, 2014 3:03 pm

It shows euro?
Are you sure to have a good gps fix inside Switzerland?
Coördinator BeNeLux
- Nederland Belgium Lëtzebuerg
ImageImageImageImage

peter@wazenederland.nl peter@wazebelgium.be
petervdveen
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8150
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 220 times
Been thanked: 826 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby petervdveen » Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:44 am

ˆˆ Yes, I already toughed so.
Nothing much they can do.

I've talked with Orit about it, I think a year ago ;-)
I talked about her with some problems. But nothing has done about it, yet.
Coördinator BeNeLux
- Nederland Belgium Lëtzebuerg
ImageImageImageImage

peter@wazenederland.nl peter@wazebelgium.be
petervdveen
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 8150
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 220 times
Been thanked: 826 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby pixelgeek » Tue Aug 21, 2012 5:07 pm

Just an idea:
Would it be possible to change the permission requirement so that one could add gas stations outside his/her editable area?

Here in Finland we are verifying the locations of gas stations using a tool which gives the coordinates where a gas station should be to see if someone added it already... If the aerial imagery is good, it usually is quite easy to spot where the gas station should be.. but now I have added/verified all the gas stations within my area... would love to add more, but the editable area is preventing me to do so... (and no, I'm not going to drive around the country just so that I can add gas stations...)
Image
Wazing in Finland / Switzerland
AM Switzerland: Ostschweiz - St.Gallen - Appenzell
HTC Sensation / Android Revolution HD / Waze Beta Tester
pixelgeek
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby porubcan » Wed Oct 31, 2012 1:51 pm

Hello all, gas prices were implemented for my country yesterday, so first experience with the functionality revealed some areas which might need improvement.

Sorry if this was already risen in this topic (or elsewhere) before, I haven't went thru all pages.

1. in GS landmarks we had provided many information - Brand, Name, Address, Phone and Details (usually what services are offered, like car wash, and opening hours). Even there were no clear instructions provided what to use in particular attributes (Name, Details) we tried to provide relevant and useful information.
2. in client many of those information are not used at all, or not used in correct place.
e.g. in Search - only Brand is used to describe GS in search results, without further details.
listing Name (or Brand) + Address would be much better, how would i know which one to choose if I only got Brand, distance and price?
mainly in cases when 2 GS of same Brand are nearby (pretty common is that on each side of street (or FW) we got GS with same brand)

same in reporting gas prices. if there are 2 or more nearby GS of same brand, it is impossible to judge which is correct one for price update.
3. proposal of showing additional information:
3.1 Category search results: use Name + Address
3.2 GS Preview - Location tab: Use Brand + Name + Address
3.3 GS Preview - Info tab: add Details to current screen
4. In GS Preview - Info tab the prices is rounded to 2 decimals which is incorrect. Please use 3 decimals - same as for reporting prices and same as shown in search results
5. use € symbol instead of E. minor thing is that in our country the usual currency format is X.XXX €, not € X.XXX.
6. please let us choose more than one preferred GS brand.
7. we have 4 gas types in client now: 95, 98, LPG and Diesel. some stations are offering Premium Diesel, which is impossible to track now.
8. reporting prices window: € instead of E, use Name + Address to identify GS which prices are being reported.
9. now, when some GS got prices reported, while others not, search results only show GS with reported prices and others are not reported at all. please include all nearby GS in results regardless on reported prices.

thank you for reviewing my proposal, hope that above ideas might bring better experience for thousands Wazers. good luck.
Image Image
Editing & Client Expert, AM @ South-West Slovakia
Waze 3.7.6.992 on HTC One, Android 4.2.2 @ white Škoda Octavia
porubcan
 
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 228 times
Been thanked: 744 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby porubcan » Wed Oct 31, 2012 4:42 pm

Are there any known problems regarding functionality? Currently I cannot report prices for GS which haven't had prices reported yet. So not only those are not listed in searches,... Feature was launched just yesterday in Slovakia.

if it looks strange, it's my phone's fault
Image Image
Editing & Client Expert, AM @ South-West Slovakia
Waze 3.7.6.992 on HTC One, Android 4.2.2 @ white Škoda Octavia
porubcan
 
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 228 times
Been thanked: 744 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby porubcan » Wed Oct 31, 2012 7:50 pm

problem is, that while standing in front of GS (created long time ago, I've tried 3 different today, for one I put UR) and tapping report gas price we got message No GS nearby. this is for all GS which haven't had price reported yet (those also do not appear in search for GS... those were there yesterday and are not today... resulting in having no GS in my city in the search). for the rest which had prices reported yesterday, everything works fine.

here is screenshot I made yesterday while sitting at home. today I got no results when doing the same...
Image
Image Image
Editing & Client Expert, AM @ South-West Slovakia
Waze 3.7.6.992 on HTC One, Android 4.2.2 @ white Škoda Octavia
porubcan
 
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 228 times
Been thanked: 744 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby porubcan » Wed Oct 31, 2012 8:07 pm

already reported to support via nanorep. probably already by several users.
you might check Bratislava. we already have few GS with prices and others without, so you will be able to see difference. e.g this one was reported as not available.
Image Image
Editing & Client Expert, AM @ South-West Slovakia
Waze 3.7.6.992 on HTC One, Android 4.2.2 @ white Škoda Octavia
porubcan
 
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 228 times
Been thanked: 744 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby porubcan » Thu Nov 01, 2012 5:56 pm

seems that support had fixed the issue, now it is working fine.
Image Image
Editing & Client Expert, AM @ South-West Slovakia
Waze 3.7.6.992 on HTC One, Android 4.2.2 @ white Škoda Octavia
porubcan
 
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 228 times
Been thanked: 744 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby porubcan » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:53 am

just type all digits you need, Waze client will put the decimal dot automatically as the format and value-range is defined for each country. (E.g. here we use 3 decimals, so the price is like 1,469 €. to report that price, it is enough to submit 1469.)
Image Image
Editing & Client Expert, AM @ South-West Slovakia
Waze 3.7.6.992 on HTC One, Android 4.2.2 @ white Škoda Octavia
porubcan
 
Posts: 3232
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:13 am
Location: Slovakia
Has thanked: 228 times
Been thanked: 744 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot]