Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:53 pm

Has the price reporting functionality just been given a behind the scenes tweak? Every set of prices I submitted today was acknowledged in the client, not by the usual message, but instead by "Your price will be posted once confirmed with other Wazers", which I've never seen before.

Whilst the idea of not posting prices until they've been confirmed seems like a good idea (a few times I've seen completely incorrect prices locally, all appearing to come from the same user...), I think there needs to be some tweaking to the implementation. Based on the client behaviour today, other than that text at the bottom of the price submission screen, there's no other feedback given to the user that their submitted prices are awaiting confirmation, so if you're in an area with a whole bunch of stations and you've forgotten which once you've already submitted that day, you can't then select a station and see that you were the most recent update - until your prices are confirmed, the station details show up exactly the same as before you made your earlier submission, so you might end up trying to resubmit in the belief that you hadn't sibmitted to that station already, or that your earlier submission didn't make it. It'd be useful if the client could mark the stations somehow to show if we've already submitted prices today...

One other thing about this feature-if no-one else confirms the new prices, do they just get lost or do they get posted anyway after a while? I'm thinking that if prices *have* to get confirmed before they're used, some stations could end up with very out of date pricing, especially if by the time the next Wazer passes the station, the prices have changed leaving them unable to confirm. If their updated prices then get put in the confirmation queue, and the prices then change again, will the station ever get updated?
L4 AM for NW London and Shetland Islands - HTC One X/Android 4.1.1
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ userscripts.org and Chrome Web Store
Twister-UK
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 323 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Sun Dec 23, 2012 12:22 pm

Outdated prices don't need to be highlighted specifically, as the client tells you when they were last updated when you access the price entry screen-what we need is a way of knowing that we've already submitted an unconfirmed price for that station, so that we don't end up wasting time resubmitting.

Having now said that, today at every station I've passed so far, the client has been accepting new prices immediately, so it looks as if something has been changed again...
L4 AM for NW London and Shetland Islands - HTC One X/Android 4.1.1
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ userscripts.org and Chrome Web Store
Twister-UK
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 323 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Sun Dec 23, 2012 1:44 pm

Twister_UK wrote:Having now said that, today at every station I've passed so far, the client has been accepting new prices immediately, so it looks as if something has been changed again...


And now it's saying prices will need confirming again... I think what's happening is that any station where I've regularly submitted prices is still accepting updates straight away, but for stations where I don't usually submit prices it's saying they'll need confirmation. Which seems like an odd logic to use-if Waze thinks I'm capable of submitting prices correctly at some locations, why not any others?
L4 AM for NW London and Shetland Islands - HTC One X/Android 4.1.1
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ userscripts.org and Chrome Web Store
Twister-UK
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 323 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Mon Dec 24, 2012 12:00 pm

Well, bang goes that theory... just been queued for confirmation at a station I've been updating almost every day since the fuel prices feature went live in the UK.
L4 AM for NW London and Shetland Islands - HTC One X/Android 4.1.1
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ userscripts.org and Chrome Web Store
Twister-UK
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 323 times

Re: Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Wed Jan 30, 2013 7:08 am

foxitrot wrote:Maybe the always-only-confirmed prices should be reset after the default timeout period (two weeks ATM) and need to be manually entered at least once in a while? (Could be inconvenient, if some prices really do not change, but it would solve this way of cheating.)


Given that this station is still showing up as a valid location for price updates, either it hasn't been removed from the map, or the flakey back-end implementation has kept a ghost copy of this station in the database after it's been deleted in WME. So even if the price data gets reset after x days of staying at the same values no matter how often those values are confimed, surely all the points-fanatics will just have to enter new prices every x days and then continue confirming them as at present until the next x day timeout, then enter new price again and continue...


The real problem here is that the client believes this station is still active - fix that problem (either by a local editor removing the station from WME, or by Waze fixing their databases to prevent deleted stations continuing to appear in the client) and the problem of points-fanatics being able to earn points by confirming non-existent prices would be resolved without any means for them to work around it in the client.

They could always start editing the map and adding fake stations along their daily routes, but once that activity has been detected (and if Waze is already aware of their previous fake-price-pointgrabbing, it should be easy for them to quickly pick up on any odd-looking editing behaviour) Waze simply slaps a permaban on their editing rights, or possibly even removes their ability to earn points for anything but still allowing them access to the client in "read-only" mode so that it still functions as a satnav but without exposing any of the functionality (hazard reporting etc.) that could be used to inject malicious data and screw things up for everyone else if the user takes affront to having their point grabbing activities curtailed.
L4 AM for NW London and Shetland Islands - HTC One X/Android 4.1.1
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ userscripts.org and Chrome Web Store
Twister-UK
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 323 times

Re: Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:31 am

foxitrot wrote:
Twister_UK wrote: So even if the price data gets reset after x days of staying at the same values no matter how often those values are confimed, surely all the points-fanatics will just have to enter new prices every x days and then continue confirming them as at present until the next x day timeout, then enter new price again and continue...
... and the problem of points-fanatics being able to earn points by confirming non-existent prices would be resolved without any means for them to work around it in the client.

I understand the problem with flakey ghost copies of GS in the DB. But I think that these points-fanatics would not bother entering some guessed prices, if the fields were empty.


I don't quite share your optimism here - given the lengths some users will go to in collecting points at the expense of data integrity, I'm not sure having to make up a price (they'd only need to fake the price for one fuel type in order to "earn" their 8 points, making it even easier than the genuine user who goes to the trouble of correctly updating several fuel type prices to earn the same points) a handful of times a month would be much of a disincentive.

To be honest, given that it is only 8 points/station, and given that there aren't all that many ghost stations in the db, I don't think it's worth expending much effort on changing the behaviour of price entry/confirmation just to stop some users picking up a few extra points each day from ghost stations - better for the Waze programmers to concentrate on resolving the problem which is allowing these ghosts to remain in the db in the first place.
L4 AM for NW London and Shetland Islands - HTC One X/Android 4.1.1
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ userscripts.org and Chrome Web Store
Twister-UK
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 323 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Unholy » Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:17 pm

gianekaren wrote:well..today instead of a different price I've a n/a everywhere... communication error?



Hi,

Can you give me a perma link of this station or it's coordinates please?

Thanks,

Ori
Image
Unholy
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:14 pm
Location: Waze HQ
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby vince1612 » Mon Apr 07, 2014 9:22 am

MrGiiWa wrote:a very stupid one. In Switzerland we are still have the Swiss Franc (CHF) ... We do not pay in Euro ! :shock:

petervdveen wrote:It shows euro?
Are you sure to have a good gps fix inside Switzerland?


The prices do show up in Swiss Francs when you are in Switzerland. However as Geneva is geographically surrounded by France (see pic) it sometimes happens that when you are driving close to the border, the prices switch to Euros. This is something that we already know happens sometimes because of the particularity of the region. I don't know if there is much that the Waze staff can do about it.

Image
Image
1+1=3 - L'union des talents dépasse leur simple addition. / Uniting talents goes beyond simply adding them up.
vince1612
 
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:30 pm
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Has thanked: 124 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby vitj » Sat Dec 29, 2012 4:30 pm

Thank you, that was enabled Gas prices in Czech Republic. But we have problem to update prices. Always after command send is answer Pardon, not possible update price. Could you help to us?
ImageImage
vitj
 
Posts: 1537
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:09 pm
Has thanked: 224 times
Been thanked: 215 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby wroadd » Wed Aug 15, 2012 3:50 pm

foxitrot wrote:Something like 9 at the end should be either a country-dependent policy, or disabled - it can not be global. In Slovakia some gas station networks are using 9 at the end, some do use 0 and some any arbitrary value.


When I filled the form for gas stations' preferences, there was a question about the format of the price and I remember well, that the example said: xxx.xx or xxx.x9
So if you setted the xxx.xx format, then it sould not automatically changed to xxx.x9
Or not?
Waze Global Champ, Retired
Hardware: THL W8S : Original rom
Car: Opel Insignia : blueish grey
Honlap:http://waze.hu
Facebook:http://www.facebook.com/waze.hu
wroadd
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1836
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2010 4:35 pm
Location: Szeged,Hungary
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 18 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher