Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby stevesalf » Fri Nov 29, 2013 9:38 pm

When I try to update the Gas Price in on My Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini (GT-I8190N) with upto date OS Android 4.1.2 sometimes (more often than not) the App crash's when entering the digit's.

On another matter - the App often starts up and resets to km when I switch to Miles...

Any advice would help tremendously... thanks :-)
stevesalf
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 8:01 pm
Location: Rotherham
Has thanked: 99 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Sticks221 » Mon Aug 20, 2012 6:51 pm

Firstly, thanks for the new feature and to all those involved!

In the Beta forum, a question was posed by Dave2048 here http://www.waze.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=23638&hilit=Beta regarding the layout of the gas price list and showing the address. Is this likely to happen as per the documentation and, could the same view be applied to updating of gas prices when selecting the nearby station? When trying to add a gas price at a motorway service station and there are two stations (one either side of the motorway), it's just a pure guess as to which one I am updating and being able to see the address would add much needed clarification.

Thanks in advance! :D
Sticks221
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:23 pm
Location: Kent, UK
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Swiiney » Wed Sep 04, 2013 6:30 am

Hi,

same here in France, no more gas prices, no more button in the menu. Stations proposed by Waze are coming from Fousquare search.

Tryed to uninstall, re-install waze with no luck.

Regards,
Stephane

renaatski wrote:Hmm, is anyone else missing gas price features (comparison & update) since the latest 3.7.3 waze app? Using Waze in Belgium and it's gone now (from the menu, from the settings section, etc)..

Renaat
Swiiney
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2011 9:20 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby tallyg8tor » Wed Nov 21, 2012 8:05 pm

There is a gas station near me that is in the long location on the map. I believe that its GPS coordinates were calculated when the data was imported, and incorrect house numbers led to it being incorrect in the Waze gas station database.

I have since fixed the house numbers, but it still shows up in the old, incorrect location. I am guessing that I either have to wait for it to be updated or that new editing feature to be added for the US.
tallyg8tor
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:01 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Tekmisfit » Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:11 am

I can post gas prices in Canada but unfortunately the price format is the US type.
Tekmisfit
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:40 pm
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby ThatSeaOtter » Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:57 pm

oshawapilot wrote:
bcmedic16 wrote:Gas prices seem to be working in Canada now, except my iphone version of the app forces the price to end in 9, which isn't always accurate.


I've been trying on and off for weeks to update prices and earn some bonus points...but it has never ONCE worked for me.

And yes, every price being forced to end in .9 is bad. The difference between $1.011/L and $1.019/L probably doesn't seem like much to someone who isn't familiar with the Metric system, but for comparison, $1.011/L is $3.789/Gallon, and $1.019 is $3.792/Gallon. A not insignificant difference - almost 1c/L is more than enough for a person to pick 1 station over another, so the fact that Waze isn't respectful of the last digit is just plain bad.

But of course, if the feature doesn't work...what does it matter I guess.


I agree. UNABLE to update prices. Being able to enter the posted price is important. This is a key feature to gain critical mass. IMO.

Thanks Wazers!
ThatSeaOtter
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:01 pm
Location: Calgary, AB
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby thePunishERD » Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:53 am

We have an issue with gas prices here in Panama. Gas was always sold per gallon, but not anymore, now it's been sell per liter. So now the price shown by the gas stations is around $1 per liter, when it used to be around $4 per gallon.

Here is where the problem begins. When we try to update the prices in the app, it sends us an error because prices that low doesn't seem correct to Waze.

Also, the prices used to have 2 decimals, but now they have 3 decimals.

So we will appreciate if you can take this into consideration and do the fixing ASAP.

Thanks you for this excellent app!
thePunishERD
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:32 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby TonyG-UK » Tue Aug 14, 2012 5:21 pm

dmcconachie wrote:
Billderwent wrote:Sorry if this has been covered, but I couldn't find it from a search. Are there any guesses when this feature will becomje available in the UK?

It's already live in the UK!


What was I saying about users not using this feature the way it's currently implemented because of the UI.
TonyG-UK
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 4:36 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 51 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:28 pm

CrackedLCD wrote:On more than one occasion I've seen my own name, "updated by CrackedLCD today" when I hadn't submitted prices yet. I conferred with another Wazer here and he has noticed the same issue. We're not faking prices but the system is acting like we've posted when we haven't.


Are these at stations where you've submitted prices within the last 24 hours? I get this a lot on stations I pass every day, where I'm passing by a few minutes earlier than I did the day before. At these sites, even though the UI says I updated today, I still get the 8 points for the update. I've only ever seen it happen once on a station that I'd never submitted a price for, and at this location it did behave as if I had already entered a price that day, not giving me the 8 points.
Twister-UK
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 2891
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 436 times
Been thanked: 2576 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby Twister-UK » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:53 pm

Has the price reporting functionality just been given a behind the scenes tweak? Every set of prices I submitted today was acknowledged in the client, not by the usual message, but instead by "Your price will be posted once confirmed with other Wazers", which I've never seen before.

Whilst the idea of not posting prices until they've been confirmed seems like a good idea (a few times I've seen completely incorrect prices locally, all appearing to come from the same user...), I think there needs to be some tweaking to the implementation. Based on the client behaviour today, other than that text at the bottom of the price submission screen, there's no other feedback given to the user that their submitted prices are awaiting confirmation, so if you're in an area with a whole bunch of stations and you've forgotten which once you've already submitted that day, you can't then select a station and see that you were the most recent update - until your prices are confirmed, the station details show up exactly the same as before you made your earlier submission, so you might end up trying to resubmit in the belief that you hadn't sibmitted to that station already, or that your earlier submission didn't make it. It'd be useful if the client could mark the stations somehow to show if we've already submitted prices today...

One other thing about this feature-if no-one else confirms the new prices, do they just get lost or do they get posted anyway after a while? I'm thinking that if prices *have* to get confirmed before they're used, some stations could end up with very out of date pricing, especially if by the time the next Wazer passes the station, the prices have changed leaving them unable to confirm. If their updated prices then get put in the confirmation queue, and the prices then change again, will the station ever get updated?
Twister-UK
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 2891
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 436 times
Been thanked: 2576 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users