Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby butlermatt » Wed Jun 12, 2013 5:30 pm

krankyd wrote:Hi guys,
Glad to be on the forums again!

Recently Waze has added Gas Station prices as one of the crowd sourced features it offers to its millions of Wazers around the world.
<snip>
* We currently don't have the Gas prices feature available in Canada.
</snip>


Is this still the case? Is the Gas prices feature still not available in Canada? I ask due to the age of the original post but no updated information in the original post (and with 19 pages of posts it's hard to skim through them all to see).

Matt
butlermatt
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:06 pm
Location: Cape Breton, NS Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby carlosvasco » Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:42 pm

We have an issue here in Colombia. The gas prices are in thousands. For example regular gas price on average in $8400 COP.

In the US the prices are arround 4 or 3 USD.

When Im in a gas station I can't report prices because of format, it just says that there is an error. The app expects prices in units of dollars. Not in thousands of pesos, our currency

Please fix it.

Congratulations. This app helps me a lot to avoid traffic

Greetings from Medellin - Colombia.

Im using Waze on Android. A smartphone Samsung mini 2
carlosvasco
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 1:30 am
Location: Medellín - Colombia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby CBenson » Tue Aug 28, 2012 5:18 pm

Mike-1323 wrote:Oddly they sometimes have different prices.

Wow. So how accurately does waze route to them? I've found that the waze routing to the station addresses isn't very precise. In other words, once waze routes to the intersection, which way waze tells you to turn seems fairly random. For instance, the destination flag occurs in the middle of split roads for a few stations that waze has routed me to. Until we can actually correct the station locations so that waze can route precisely to the station with the lowest price among stations with the same brand at the same intersection, I'm not sure that being able to distinguish them when entering the price is going to make much difference.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6883
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 436 times
Been thanked: 989 times

Re: Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby CBenson » Wed Jan 30, 2013 3:11 pm

Twister_UK wrote:Given that this station is still showing up as a valid location for price updates, either it hasn't been removed from the map, or the flakey back-end implementation has kept a ghost copy of this station in the database after it's been deleted in WME.

This is a US station. The US stations can't be deleted in WME.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6883
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 436 times
Been thanked: 989 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby CBenson » Wed Oct 09, 2013 12:13 am

Sure.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Altantic, US
Verizon, Droid Razr Maxx HD, Android 4.1.2, Waze 3.7.9.909
CBenson
Global Champ Mentor
Global Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 6883
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 436 times
Been thanked: 989 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby chagen666 » Sun Nov 18, 2012 9:00 am

How close does the nearest gas station have to be before it appears on the Navigate search? When I try to search for a station to navigate to I receive no results but if I chose to navigate to somewhere else and search for a station to add as a stop on the way I get heaps of results.

Thank you.
Image
chagen666
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby clferraz » Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:02 pm

Hi...

In Brazil, we use the comma as decimal delimiter instead of the point. The Waze for IOS does not accept comma to update fuel prices...
clferraz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:34 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby CrackedLCD » Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:11 am

My big issue with these gas prices is that a) they're difficult to enter in, even while stopped. It needs to be more big button friendly like the rest of Waze. (The GasBuddy app for the US is a good example of "clear & concise" when it comes to gas price entry.)

The 3rd Party seems to post correct prices for the most part where I live, but usually only one or two grades (and not usually diesel, which I need.) What I wish we had was a way to correct wrong 3rd Party station info. I've got duplicates (like two Chevrons where only one exists) and long-established stores (mostly Shells) that don't show up at all. And then there are stations that are placed correctly but have the old/outdated names or have changed brands. Do we know who the third party is, so we could go directly to them to freshen their data?
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

HTC Droid DNA (Android 4.2.2) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby CrackedLCD » Sun Oct 07, 2012 3:19 pm

deeggo wrote:Just hitting ok to confirm the prices is much easier than typing new wrong prices. And, blindly typing numbers will probably lead to very odd prices, clearly wrong.


At least where I live, that happens now. I can't speak for the iOS and other versions, but on Android the entry windows for gas prices are too small to be easily used and I think it leads to people putting prices in incorrectly. The interface really needs a "finger friendly" overhaul, and I say this as someone with a phone with one of the larger screens out there.

They need to look at the GasBuddy app in the US and see how it accepts prices; big letters, big price entry slots, easy to read at a glance, easy to confirm existing prices. No tiny buttons anywhere. If I'm stopped a red light, for example, and wish to update a price at a nearby station, I often can't get the price posted before the light turns green, even if it's just one price. It takes multiple taps on the screen to select the entry box, and sometimes one more press to bring up the keypad. Then if I don't hit the 'send' button exactly perfectly, I often wind up bringing up the notification window by mistake.

If it weren't such a cumbersome method, it might gain more traction with users. Right now it's only safe to use while sitting still or in a station. But how often do any of you stop at a gas station JUST to report prices? It ensures that prices will either be entered incorrectly by people driving (and unsafely, at that) or the prices will be incredibly sparse.

A lot of the territory I drive is only 1x/RTT (like GPRS for you GSM users) and I can't report prices at all because Waze times out too much. But that's another complaint for another thread.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

HTC Droid DNA (Android 4.2.2) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Gas prices feature: everything you need to know

Postby CrackedLCD » Tue Oct 09, 2012 3:13 am

ally_b wrote:If somebody selects "N/A" does this prevent others from entering a price for that type of fuel? For example, my local Sainsbury's (UK supermarket fuel station) stocks 3 out of the 4 types of fuel available in the UK version of Waze - normal unleaded, super unleaded and diesel. It doesn't stock LPG which is the 4th type of fuel in Waze.


No, at least not on the US version. I have entered N/A when a station was out of one type of fuel and was able to enter it again later when that fuel was available again. I also enter N/A on stations that Waze lists that are actually closed (in some cases, closed for 5 or more years!) and still get 8 points each time. Those stations sometimes have prices listed, so it's not locking anyone out. Again, at least on the US server.
~CrackedLCD
AM for Baldwin-Mobile Cos., AL // Grenada-LeFlore-Carroll Cos., MS // Escambia-Santa Rosa Cos., FL // CM for the USA

HTC Droid DNA (Android 4.2.2) on Verizon Wireless
Image
CrackedLCD
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 22 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: xelamitch