Disable snap / autozoom COMPLETELY

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Disable snap / autozoom COMPLETELY

Postby RobAGD » Sat May 17, 2014 3:10 am

I have the say the Snap back needs to be an option.

As an example, today 16/5/14 I was having some horrid GPS issues. Going to an area I was not very familiar I had a route that worked, it just wasn't updating my current location which I could live with but because of the snap back it kept putting me back in Va vs Ohio.

The tablet almost went out the window.

There needs to be some work on a few things when GPS isn't working or locking.

Not really sure WHY but it would never remember that the last place it had GPS so when it would attempt to resume it always snapped back to the start in Va.

-R
RobAGD
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:26 am
Location: Northern Virginia
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Disable snap / autozoom COMPLETELY

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sat May 17, 2014 3:37 am

RobAGD wrote:There needs to be some work on a few things when GPS isn't working or locking.

Not really sure WHY but it would never remember that the last place it had GPS so when it would attempt to resume it always snapped back to the start in Va.

That all is also dependent on what data the phone OS is feeding Waze. If it isn't giving correct information, such as giving the location and an incorrect margin of error of 1m or 3m or something, then there is no reason for Waze to "doubt" the accuracy of the location being reported.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1085 times
Been thanked: 4610 times

Re: Disable snap / autozoom COMPLETELY

Postby Mike-1323 » Mon May 19, 2014 1:36 pm

RobAGD wrote:Not really sure WHY but it would never remember that the last place it had GPS so when it would attempt to resume it always snapped back to the start in Va.

Based on my observations when Waze does not get gps coordinates from the os it displays an "approximate location" based on the network connection. For phones this seems to be the location of the nearest cell tower. If your tablet is wifi only it may be using the last network connection (wifi location) as the "approximate location," thus jumping you the whole way back to your start point. Dunno if that is happening, it's just a theory.
Mike-1323
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:06 pm
Location: Lorton, Va
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 186 times

Re: Disable snap / autozoom COMPLETELY

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Mon May 19, 2014 9:35 pm

Mike-1323 wrote:
RobAGD wrote:Not really sure WHY but it would never remember that the last place it had GPS so when it would attempt to resume it always snapped back to the start in Va.

Based on my observations when Waze does not get gps coordinates from the os...

It makes more sense that devices require apps to go through an API to get data, not to query the hardware directly, but I could be wrong about that.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1085 times
Been thanked: 4610 times

Re: Disable snap / autozoom COMPLETELY

Postby Edward50095 » Thu Jul 17, 2014 3:20 am

AFAIK, I'll have to check, but as long as I'm not moving it will stay zoomed out, at least it seems to sitting in this chair at home now.
Edward50095
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:02 am
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Disable snap / autozoom COMPLETELY

Postby felohidalgo » Thu Jul 17, 2014 3:47 am

Sometimes when GPS don't fix the position if because the satellite information (almanacs) of your device needs to update. That's usually an automatic process, but you can force it downloading a software to do it. Also to help the GPS fix, it is better to stop the car to let the GPS establish the current position.
Felipe Hidalgo
Coordinador Costa Rica

WIKI COSTA RICA
EDITOR DE MAPAS
PUBLICIDAD EN WAZE
felohidalgo
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 1854
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 7:27 am
Location: Costa Rica
Has thanked: 523 times
Been thanked: 702 times

Re: Disable snap / autozoom COMPLETELY

Postby Edward50095 » Sun Jul 27, 2014 1:15 am

Just touch the screen before that "5 seconds" expires. As long as you continue to touch the screen, slide it up a little slide it back a little, keep moving it.

But if you do not touch the screen, it is going to go back to navigating, as it should.

Unless you are stopped. If you are stopped it will not return to the auto-zoom. If you are stopped you do not have to continue to touch the screen. It will remain wherever you put it.
Edward50095
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:02 am
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Previous

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users