Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby joelinisrael » Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:53 pm

I've got a brand new Blackberry 9900, but I can't figure out where I can get the Waze app for it. I see lots of people here are running it,though. Any advice? (The Blackberry app store says it doesn't work on 9900s.)

Thanks.
joelinisrael
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 3:52 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby KB_Steveo » Thu Nov 22, 2012 4:09 am

I have been having problems with tiles not loading in the middle of my route and lots of rerouting loops similar to the complaints in this thread.

I am running Android 2.3.5 on a Motorola Photon 4G. It is super annoying! I couldn't find any threads about this elsewhere. The roads also do not show up when zoomed all the way out (not even interstates) It's been happening ever since upgrading to 3.5.0.0 - I tried uninstalling and re-installing without any luck. Maybe there is a similar bug in play here?
ImageImage
NE Wisconsin Area Manager (Green Bay / Appleton / Sturgeon Bay)
Wisconsin mapping resources
KB_Steveo
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:26 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby KB_Steveo » Sat Dec 01, 2012 5:54 pm

I think this is an issue with the client, as similar things are happening on the Android as well. It just started with version 3.5, it got better with 3.5.1.4, but it still happens. Is your problem similar to this?
ImageImage
NE Wisconsin Area Manager (Green Bay / Appleton / Sturgeon Bay)
Wisconsin mapping resources
KB_Steveo
State Manager
State Manager
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:26 pm
Location: Wisconsin
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby Kuhlkatz » Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:27 pm

This seems to be a recurring problem for BB users after every map update now. Almost like somebody forgets to switch on something afterwards....

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using Tapatalk 2
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 4.4.2, v5.11.401.10)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby Kuhlkatz » Wed Dec 05, 2012 10:38 am

I can confirm that this is still the case on INTL server, at least in South Africa where BB still has a large user base.

In a 5 km space, my son's recalced about 15 times where my HTC had no issue. In many places, the roads did not even show up on the device , even though the ETA remained and distance decreased properly while driving.

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using Tapatalk 2
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 4.4.2, v5.11.401.10)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby Kuhlkatz » Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:59 am

aviljoen wrote:When I enter debug mode with 2##2, what must I do next?


Andre,

The best is likely to set debug mode on and drive / navigate for a short section to allow it to do a few recalcs. After this you can submit the logs, as it should then contain the recalcs and any info on map related load attemps.

Carel
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 4.4.2, v5.11.401.10)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby Kuhlkatz » Mon Dec 17, 2012 7:30 pm

I drove with a BB this afternoon and submitted debug logs at 15h10 GMT.
Navigation is virtually useless with BB. It recalculates constantly, map tiles and route does not show. The warnings are almost nonexistent.

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using Tapatalk 2
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 4.4.2, v5.11.401.10)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby Kuhlkatz » Tue Dec 18, 2012 1:31 pm

Ori,

The route that I sent debug logs for per post https://world.waze.com/forum/posting.php?mode=reply&f=3&t=27526#pr318416 was roughly this Livemap route.

If multiple routes are shown, It's the one via N1 South, M12 West. From what I gather, it's not specific tiles that does not load. The constant recalculation of the route seems to be the bigger problem and that could possibly interfere with tile loading. It certainly does interfere with navigation instructions.

The same route on an Android tablet for the same drive was rock solid with no missing tiles or any route recalcs.

If I can assist in setting up a controlled test for a specific short route in the area, please let me know.
I normally use Android, but I'm sure I can persuade my son to do something else for a few minutes while I borrow his phone.

Regards
Carel
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 4.4.2, v5.11.401.10)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby Kuhlkatz » Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:24 pm

Ori,

Just to confirm what Shmupi said, I used a BB and my son his Android tablet, side by side on the same route. The Android had no problems, and never did any recalcs.
Unless the devices source tiles from a different set of servers, we are likely not looking at corrupt tiles.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 4.4.2, v5.11.401.10)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby Kuhlkatz » Tue Dec 18, 2012 10:57 pm

Blackberry 9700 Series, Using OS 7.1.
Short drive of 7 Km, primary on Livemap via Midstream Dr..
First recalc : Just after intersection ( travel Eastbound )
The eastern portion of that segment was not displayed in the map, missing from here.
Next recalc was still eastbound on the same segment, just before turning south onto Midstream Drive.

Another recalc was done here.

Half of this segment did not display.

Just that short route had 4 portions of tiles missing, and about 10 recalcs was done back & forth across the same route.
If you have access to closed URs in that area, all marked as 'not identified' each UR was logged under account Daemar, closed by me. All logged between 21:00 GMT & 21:18 GMT. Each recalc & each missing tile start was logged in the description.

Full debug logs for that session was uploaded at 21:18 GMT.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 4.4.2, v5.11.401.10)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Localizers
Localizers
 
Posts: 873
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 138 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]