Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby shmupi2 » Tue Dec 18, 2012 8:22 am

aviljoen wrote:Hi Shmupi,
Is there prehaps any feedback on the progress made to get BB devices to work again. BB devices are really very popular in South Africa and the people that really matter and that can contribute to driving information on WAZE are a lot of BB users.
Please help?
Thank you
Andre


Ori - Unholy , just informed me about a know issue at RIM that is affecting the Israeli users.

I keep reminding the support team almost each day that the world server has also an issue with the BB's and their issue is not the same like ours Israeli users).

Hopefully the will fix your issue as well as ours.
Last edited by shmupi2 on Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Country Manager : Israel , Thailand , Romania

Blackberry 9780 OS. 6.0.0.723 - Waze v 2.0.2.3
BlueStacks 0.7.7.813 Android Emulator,Waze v.3.5.1.905
Image
shmupi2
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby aviljoen » Tue Dec 18, 2012 8:56 am

It would be such a relief if they can get it fixed. We all want to use WAZE now in the holiday season. I'm woried that with BB services down so long that we are losing interest and users for WAZE.
aviljoen
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby Unholy » Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:44 pm

Hi guys,


I need your help here, if you may:

Can you please post here, using Permalinks, area which missing map tiles, area where you keep getting reroutes and any place that giving you hard times when using Waze on BB.

Thanks,


Ori
Image
Unholy
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:42 pm
Location: Waze HQ
Has thanked: 265 times
Been thanked: 974 times

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby aviljoen » Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:59 pm

Hi Ori,
I will be happy to help.
Can you please just give me step-by-step instructions of what you would like me to do on my Blackberry to get the information?
Thank you
Kind Regards
Andre
aviljoen
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby Kuhlkatz » Tue Dec 18, 2012 1:31 pm

Ori,

The route that I sent debug logs for per post https://world.waze.com/forum/posting.php?mode=reply&f=3&t=27526#pr318416 was roughly this Livemap route.

If multiple routes are shown, It's the one via N1 South, M12 West. From what I gather, it's not specific tiles that does not load. The constant recalculation of the route seems to be the bigger problem and that could possibly interfere with tile loading. It certainly does interfere with navigation instructions.

The same route on an Android tablet for the same drive was rock solid with no missing tiles or any route recalcs.

If I can assist in setting up a controlled test for a specific short route in the area, please let me know.
I normally use Android, but I'm sure I can persuade my son to do something else for a few minutes while I borrow his phone.

Regards
Carel
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 5.0.2, v7.19.401.51)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 159 times

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby aviljoen » Tue Dec 18, 2012 1:42 pm

Hi Ori,
How do I do this Permalink thing on a Blackberry?
Andre
aviljoen
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:16 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby shmupi2 » Tue Dec 18, 2012 1:44 pm

IMHO it's not a tile loading problem.

Last month in Romania the map was fully loaded and it kept recalculating for 700 km non stop.

I was on 3G 90% of the time.

Shmupi

P.S. Andre , you can't create a permalink from the BB only from the web site.
Last edited by shmupi2 on Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Country Manager : Israel , Thailand , Romania

Blackberry 9780 OS. 6.0.0.723 - Waze v 2.0.2.3
BlueStacks 0.7.7.813 Android Emulator,Waze v.3.5.1.905
Image
shmupi2
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby Unholy » Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:09 pm

aviljoen wrote:Hi Ori,
I will be happy to help.
Can you please just give me step-by-step instructions of what you would like me to do on my Blackberry to get the information?
Thank you
Kind Regards
Andre



Hi,

We need to see whether it's a tile issue, so what we need is to know where do you get reroutes and see where do you see blank map tiles or curropted ones.

The most simple way is just send us a permalink from the WME of the area which you encountered issues such as the ones you described here.

Thanks,

Ori
Image
Unholy
Waze Team
Waze Team
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:42 pm
Location: Waze HQ
Has thanked: 265 times
Been thanked: 974 times

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby shmupi2 » Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:11 pm

Ori ...believe me ..it's not a tile issue.

Read my previous response.

I have enough experience with Waze in Israel and on the World server with my blackberry.

Shmupi
Country Manager : Israel , Thailand , Romania

Blackberry 9780 OS. 6.0.0.723 - Waze v 2.0.2.3
BlueStacks 0.7.7.813 Android Emulator,Waze v.3.5.1.905
Image
shmupi2
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:58 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Not Loading on BlackBerry + Rerouting Loop

Postby Kuhlkatz » Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:24 pm

Ori,

Just to confirm what Shmupi said, I used a BB and my son his Android tablet, side by side on the same route. The Android had no problems, and never did any recalcs.
Unless the devices source tiles from a different set of servers, we are likely not looking at corrupt tiles.
Carel Cornelius
AM : Centurion & Sandton, ZA
CM & Coordinator, South Africa
(HTC One, Android 5.0.2, v7.19.401.51)
Image
South African Wiki Waze Wiki Map Editing
Kuhlkatz
Waze Local Champs
Waze Local Champs
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 6:11 pm
Location: Centurion, Pretoria, South Africa
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 159 times

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], JaimeMaturanaV, Onmywaysir, RussPA