Do you leave your client running?

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby able2ru » Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:03 pm

I haven't seen a clear answer to this question. I've read that you must leave Waze running to get your points and alerts. Is this:

a) With the actual program running with the map displayed, or can it also be

b) With the actual program not displaying (such as returning to the home screen or accessing another app or making a phone call) but with the Waze icon displaying in the notification bar?

If (b) does not count as the app Waze is running, what is the purpose of putting the icon up in the notification area if Waze isn't actually running, and (?) recording points?
able2ru
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:45 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Do you leave your client running?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:16 pm

If you have data connection when you shut down Waze it should upload before it actually exits. If it doesn't have a data connection there will be an icon and msg at the top of the screen.


--
If it looks strange, or I used bad grammar or misspelled anything, it's my phone's fault.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 8.4 | Waze v4a
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23339
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1057 times
Been thanked: 4382 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby AndyPoms » Sun Sep 30, 2012 2:11 pm

Please note that you do need a data connection at the end of your drive for it to upload to Waze.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6996
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 126 times
Been thanked: 1251 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby AndyPoms » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:24 pm

If you don't have a working data connection to Waze, the top of the screen will show "Searching Network...". This also happens when switching between connection types (Cell Network/Wi-Fi. 3G/4G, etc)...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 6996
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 126 times
Been thanked: 1251 times

Do you leave your client running?

Postby Bigbear3764 » Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:41 pm

Turn it off when done driving. It will load your drives at night.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image Image
AM Chicagoland Area ILL Functional Class Map
CM North America
ILL Wiki
ILL To-Do
Bigbear3764
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 152 times
Been thanked: 853 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby douglasr007 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:42 am

rvnash wrote:I use an iPhone.

I don't understand what people mean by leaving your client running. If I start Waze, and then switch to another App, is it still registering my driving? If it stays idle for a long time in the background, is it still registering? If it stops registering will it pick up again when I start driving? How can I tell? Do I need to make the app "active" again to make it start?

I also don't know what you mean by "shutting it down". So does killing the app by clicking on the "x" in the running app list count as shutting it down, or are you talking only about the "close" button in the app? Does clicking the "x" cause an upload? If the upload fails, does it keep my data if and try later when I restart the app, or just throw it away?

Can Waze explain with some clarity how all of this works?

I thought Waze shuts off after it's running in the background for 10 minutes. You'll still have the Waze notification icon in the notification bar but when you go back to the app you'll notice it has to load again as if you're launching the app for the first time.
douglasr007
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby douglasr007 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:48 am

novarider79 wrote:Is there a way to automate shut down of Waze when removed from the car dock?

Not natively. However, if your phone has NFC you can buy an NFC chip, place it in the dock, and use an app to make it exit Waze when it's not in the dock. You can also have the chip make it so it launches Waze when it's placed in the dock. :)
douglasr007
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby gerben » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:41 pm

Please note that it is not needed to upload logs to record your driven miles/km's. The upload logs function sends the program logs to Waze so they can use it to troubleshoot crashes and other problems.
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4776
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 193 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby Ikkabar » Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:47 pm

You should always stop the Waze client if you are not driving your car. This avoids any false data that may lead to phantom traffic jams if you're stopped on a lightly trafficked road.

The client will upload your drive data, but there will be a delay until the drive session is processed and is shown in your drive list. Your points for the drive are only updated once a day, so you won't see them increase immediately.
Area Manager for North Co. Antrim & North Co. Derry/Londonderry, Northern Ireland - Twitter
"Mapping the world one segment at a time"
iPhone 4S (iOS 6.0) & Waze 3.6
If I'm not editing, I've got lost in Minecraft.. or Farming Simulator..
Ikkabar
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Coleraine, Northern Ireland
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby JohnDoe75 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:51 pm

Why don't you manually upload your logs by going to Settings, Help and then Send Logs.

And yes you should turn off the app with the Switch Off button.
RM IDF - AM Paris France
AM Auffains (Fains-la-Folie), Ygos-Saint-Saturnin France
AM Trentino, Augusta (Sicilia), Suvereto (Toscana) Italia
AM North & Center Portugal
JohnDoe75
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1956
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:06 am
Location: Paris, France
Has thanked: 61 times
Been thanked: 193 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TekKaun, Yahoo [Bot]