Do you leave your client running?

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby able2ru » Sun Dec 02, 2012 9:03 pm

I haven't seen a clear answer to this question. I've read that you must leave Waze running to get your points and alerts. Is this:

a) With the actual program running with the map displayed, or can it also be

b) With the actual program not displaying (such as returning to the home screen or accessing another app or making a phone call) but with the Waze icon displaying in the notification bar?

If (b) does not count as the app Waze is running, what is the purpose of putting the icon up in the notification area if Waze isn't actually running, and (?) recording points?
able2ru
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:45 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Do you leave your client running?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:16 pm

If you have data connection when you shut down Waze it should upload before it actually exits. If it doesn't have a data connection there will be an icon and msg at the top of the screen.


--
If it looks strange, or I used bad grammar or misspelled anything, it's my phone's fault.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | Oregon Project/To-Do List
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone5 - VZ - iOS 7.1 | Waze v3.7.9.925
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 19496
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 654 times
Been thanked: 2257 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby AndyPoms » Sun Sep 30, 2012 2:11 pm

Please note that you do need a data connection at the end of your drive for it to upload to Waze.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby AndyPoms » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:24 pm

If you don't have a working data connection to Waze, the top of the screen will show "Searching Network...". This also happens when switching between connection types (Cell Network/Wi-Fi. 3G/4G, etc)...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 5925
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 89 times
Been thanked: 887 times

Do you leave your client running?

Postby bigbear3764 » Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:41 pm

Turn it off when done driving. It will load your drives at night.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image
AM Chicagoland Area ILL Functional Class Map
CM North America
ILL Wiki
ILL To-Do
bigbear3764
Waze Mentor
Waze Mentor
 
Posts: 1598
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 383 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby crazycomputingdotnet » Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:27 pm

I have very poor network connection at home, but my wifi signal is strong enough that my phone connects to my wifi about 50-80 feet before I stop my car, which is before I have to open the gate. So between me getting out and opening, then driving through then closing gate then driving to the drive way it is 3-5 minutes. This gives Waze plenty of time to connect to the wireless and send it's data upon shut down. Maybe you should wait a few minutes before shutting down once you do connect to your wireless?
crazycomputingdotnet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby crazycomputingdotnet » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:11 pm

mattlach wrote:
mdqueenz wrote:The Waze app should only be running while actively driving. Leaving it on while at home/work etc... Is polluting traffic data by reporting non existent traffic.


Ahh,

I presumed they used some sort of algorithm to decide when to collect data and when not to, otherwise how do they know if someone hasn't stropped on their own accord, rather than sitting, stuck in traffic?

The way they know is by you shutting off the app. There really isn't any other way for them to know.
crazycomputingdotnet
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1061
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:50 am
Location: BFOklahoma, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milkey Way
Has thanked: 65 times
Been thanked: 76 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby douglasr007 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:42 am

rvnash wrote:I use an iPhone.

I don't understand what people mean by leaving your client running. If I start Waze, and then switch to another App, is it still registering my driving? If it stays idle for a long time in the background, is it still registering? If it stops registering will it pick up again when I start driving? How can I tell? Do I need to make the app "active" again to make it start?

I also don't know what you mean by "shutting it down". So does killing the app by clicking on the "x" in the running app list count as shutting it down, or are you talking only about the "close" button in the app? Does clicking the "x" cause an upload? If the upload fails, does it keep my data if and try later when I restart the app, or just throw it away?

Can Waze explain with some clarity how all of this works?

I thought Waze shuts off after it's running in the background for 10 minutes. You'll still have the Waze notification icon in the notification bar but when you go back to the app you'll notice it has to load again as if you're launching the app for the first time.
Image
Area manager: SWFL (Ft. Myers, North Fort Myers, Cape Coral, North Naples)
Waze 3.5 | LG Motion 4G | Android 4.0.4
douglasr007
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby douglasr007 » Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:48 am

novarider79 wrote:Is there a way to automate shut down of Waze when removed from the car dock?

Not natively. However, if your phone has NFC you can buy an NFC chip, place it in the dock, and use an app to make it exit Waze when it's not in the dock. You can also have the chip make it so it launches Waze when it's placed in the dock. :)
Image
Area manager: SWFL (Ft. Myers, North Fort Myers, Cape Coral, North Naples)
Waze 3.5 | LG Motion 4G | Android 4.0.4
douglasr007
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby gerben » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:41 pm

Please note that it is not needed to upload logs to record your driven miles/km's. The upload logs function sends the program logs to Waze so they can use it to troubleshoot crashes and other problems.
Nokia Lumia 920 (WP8 3.7.6 client)
Countrymanager The Netherlands
ImageImageImageImage
gerben
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 10:42 pm
Location: Almelo
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 174 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jistirling