Do you leave your client running?

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby TurnpikeWarrior12345 » Sat Dec 08, 2012 1:25 pm

Waze should automatically shuts down if a Wazer hasn't moved from a point after a certain period of time.
TurnpikeWarrior12345
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 8:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby TheGridExe » Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:48 am

novarider79 wrote:Is there a way to automate shut down of Waze when removed from the car dock?

Not natively. However, if your phone has NFC you can buy an NFC chip, place it in the dock, and use an app to make it exit Waze when it's not in the dock. You can also have the chip make it so it launches Waze when it's placed in the dock. :)
ImageImageImage
TheGridExe
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Location: Sarasota, FL, USA
Has thanked: 177 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby TheGridExe » Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:42 am

rvnash wrote:I use an iPhone.

I don't understand what people mean by leaving your client running. If I start Waze, and then switch to another App, is it still registering my driving? If it stays idle for a long time in the background, is it still registering? If it stops registering will it pick up again when I start driving? How can I tell? Do I need to make the app "active" again to make it start?

I also don't know what you mean by "shutting it down". So does killing the app by clicking on the "x" in the running app list count as shutting it down, or are you talking only about the "close" button in the app? Does clicking the "x" cause an upload? If the upload fails, does it keep my data if and try later when I restart the app, or just throw it away?

Can Waze explain with some clarity how all of this works?

I thought Waze shuts off after it's running in the background for 10 minutes. You'll still have the Waze notification icon in the notification bar but when you go back to the app you'll notice it has to load again as if you're launching the app for the first time.
ImageImageImage
TheGridExe
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:38 am
Location: Sarasota, FL, USA
Has thanked: 177 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby thefatveganchef » Fri Oct 05, 2012 8:11 pm

mattlach wrote:
mdqueenz wrote:The Waze app should only be running while actively driving. Leaving it on while at home/work etc... Is polluting traffic data by reporting non existent traffic.


Ahh,

I presumed they used some sort of algorithm to decide when to collect data and when not to, otherwise how do they know if someone hasn't stropped on their own accord, rather than sitting, stuck in traffic?

The way they know is by you shutting off the app. There really isn't any other way for them to know.
thefatveganchef
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby thefatveganchef » Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:27 pm

I have very poor network connection at home, but my wifi signal is strong enough that my phone connects to my wifi about 50-80 feet before I stop my car, which is before I have to open the gate. So between me getting out and opening, then driving through then closing gate then driving to the drive way it is 3-5 minutes. This gives Waze plenty of time to connect to the wireless and send it's data upon shut down. Maybe you should wait a few minutes before shutting down once you do connect to your wireless?
thefatveganchef
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby rvnash » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:06 pm

What an odd place to put that functionality. Uploading the logs is not a "Setting" and it doubly is not a "Help" activity. It would be nice if there were a top level button in the main menu for "Logs" where you can see what logs you have that have yet been uploaded and do it from there.
rvnash
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:41 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby rvnash » Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:04 pm

I use an iPhone.

I don't understand what people mean by leaving your client running. If I start Waze, and then switch to another App, is it still registering my driving? If it stays idle for a long time in the background, is it still registering? If it stops registering will it pick up again when I start driving? How can I tell? Do I need to make the app "active" again to make it start?

I also don't know what you mean by "shutting it down". So does killing the app by clicking on the "x" in the running app list count as shutting it down, or are you talking only about the "close" button in the app? Does clicking the "x" cause an upload? If the upload fails, does it keep my data if and try later when I restart the app, or just throw it away?

Can Waze explain with some clarity how all of this works?
rvnash
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:41 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby OldGnome » Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:21 pm

Interesting thread.

All this time, I thought I was turning Waze off to keep from draining the battery. Between Waze and my music app, I can run my iPhone down pretty quickly.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby novarider79 » Tue Oct 30, 2012 6:13 pm

Is there a way to automate shut down of Waze when removed from the car dock?
novarider79
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:35 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Do you leave your client running?

Postby mdqueenz » Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:08 pm

The Waze app should only be running while actively driving. Leaving it on while at home/work etc... Is polluting traffic data by reporting non existent traffic.
Image
NYC / Long Island Based US Country Manager
Iphone 4S - IOS 6.0.1 - AT&T
mdqueenz
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: C35P3R7