Do you leave your client running?

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Do you leave your client running?

Postby mattlach » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:33 am

Hey all,

When I first started using the app, I would turn it off every time I turned off the car, but I had problems with my points updating.

Through trial and error I have found that the only way to get my points to update reliably, is to leave my client on, whether I'm driving or not.

Typically, just before midnight the data upload will occur, and then I can quit the app without consequences.

Problem is, leaving the Waze app running seems to wear on the battery life of my Samsung Galaxy S3.

What do you do? Have you also found that leaving the app running all the time is required?
____________________
Primary Waze Device: Google Nexus 7 (2013)
Secondary Waze Device: LG G2 - Verizon


I had 3 iPhones in a row. (original > 3G > 4) NEVER AGAIN!
mattlach
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Do you leave your client running?

Postby mdqueenz » Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:08 pm

The Waze app should only be running while actively driving. Leaving it on while at home/work etc... Is polluting traffic data by reporting non existent traffic.
Image
NYC / Long Island Based US Country Manager
Iphone 4S - IOS 6.0.1 - AT&T
mdqueenz
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Do you leave your client running?

Postby Bigbear3764 » Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:41 pm

Turn it off when done driving. It will load your drives at night.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Image Image
AM Chicagoland Area ILL Functional Class Map
CM North America
ILL Wiki
ILL To-Do
Bigbear3764
Country Manager
Country Manager
 
Posts: 2559
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Island Lake, IL USA
Has thanked: 188 times
Been thanked: 927 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby Ikkabar » Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:47 pm

You should always stop the Waze client if you are not driving your car. This avoids any false data that may lead to phantom traffic jams if you're stopped on a lightly trafficked road.

The client will upload your drive data, but there will be a delay until the drive session is processed and is shown in your drive list. Your points for the drive are only updated once a day, so you won't see them increase immediately.
Area Manager for North Co. Antrim & North Co. Derry/Londonderry, Northern Ireland - Twitter
"Mapping the world one segment at a time"
iPhone 4S (iOS 6.0) & Waze 3.6
If I'm not editing, I've got lost in Minecraft.. or Farming Simulator..
Ikkabar
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 2:15 pm
Location: Coleraine, Northern Ireland
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby AndyPoms » Sun Sep 30, 2012 2:11 pm

Please note that you do need a data connection at the end of your drive for it to upload to Waze.
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7116
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 128 times
Been thanked: 1294 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby mattlach » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:21 pm

Hmm.

I wish there were a way to tell if it had stored data it was waiting to upload, or if all data has uploaded.

My major driving is between work and home, at each place I have wifi, I'm wondering if the Waze app gets confused when connecting to Wifi at the end of the drive, and that's why I've had data upload issues...

Does the app locally cache uploads if they can't be performed before the app shuts down, so that it can try again next time it loads, or are they gone once the app shuts down?
____________________
Primary Waze Device: Google Nexus 7 (2013)
Secondary Waze Device: LG G2 - Verizon


I had 3 iPhones in a row. (original > 3G > 4) NEVER AGAIN!
mattlach
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby AndyPoms » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:24 pm

If you don't have a working data connection to Waze, the top of the screen will show "Searching Network...". This also happens when switching between connection types (Cell Network/Wi-Fi. 3G/4G, etc)...
Image
Waze Champ & Forum Moderator
USA Country Manager
Senior Area Manager: State of Connecticut
Wiki: Editing | Best Practices | FAQ
AndyPoms
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 7116
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:34 pm
Location: Hartford, CT
Has thanked: 128 times
Been thanked: 1294 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby mattlach » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:48 pm

Ok,

But if the data can't be uploaded, and you turn off the client, is it lost forever, or is it stored locally on the device, and another upload attempt made the next time the client runs?
____________________
Primary Waze Device: Google Nexus 7 (2013)
Secondary Waze Device: LG G2 - Verizon


I had 3 iPhones in a row. (original > 3G > 4) NEVER AGAIN!
mattlach
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Do you leave your client running?

Postby AlanOfTheBerg » Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:16 pm

If you have data connection when you shut down Waze it should upload before it actually exits. If it doesn't have a data connection there will be an icon and msg at the top of the screen.


--
If it looks strange, or I used bad grammar or misspelled anything, it's my phone's fault.
Wiki Resources: Map Editing Manual | alanoftheberg@gmail.com
Oregon-based US Country Manager | iPhone6 - VZ - iOS 9.3.2 | Waze v4.7.0.1
AlanOfTheBerg
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 23480
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 8:48 pm
Location: US Country Manager - Oregon, USA
Has thanked: 1084 times
Been thanked: 4607 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby thefatveganchef » Sun Sep 30, 2012 8:27 pm

I have very poor network connection at home, but my wifi signal is strong enough that my phone connects to my wifi about 50-80 feet before I stop my car, which is before I have to open the gate. So between me getting out and opening, then driving through then closing gate then driving to the drive way it is 3-5 minutes. This gives Waze plenty of time to connect to the wireless and send it's data upon shut down. Maybe you should wait a few minutes before shutting down once you do connect to your wireless?
thefatveganchef
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 1088
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 3:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JaimeMaturanaV