Do you leave your client running?

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderator: Unholy

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby ltmltm » Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:28 am

I'm still waiting for waze to support an android exit intent so that it can be automatically turned off when exiting the car using things like tasker or some car dock app.
ltmltm
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:10 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Do you leave your client running?

Postby mattlach » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:33 am

Hey all,

When I first started using the app, I would turn it off every time I turned off the car, but I had problems with my points updating.

Through trial and error I have found that the only way to get my points to update reliably, is to leave my client on, whether I'm driving or not.

Typically, just before midnight the data upload will occur, and then I can quit the app without consequences.

Problem is, leaving the Waze app running seems to wear on the battery life of my Samsung Galaxy S3.

What do you do? Have you also found that leaving the app running all the time is required?
____________________
Primary Waze Device: Google Nexus 7 (2013)
Secondary Waze Device: LG G2 - Verizon


I had 3 iPhones in a row. (original > 3G > 4) NEVER AGAIN!
mattlach
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby mattlach » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:21 pm

Hmm.

I wish there were a way to tell if it had stored data it was waiting to upload, or if all data has uploaded.

My major driving is between work and home, at each place I have wifi, I'm wondering if the Waze app gets confused when connecting to Wifi at the end of the drive, and that's why I've had data upload issues...

Does the app locally cache uploads if they can't be performed before the app shuts down, so that it can try again next time it loads, or are they gone once the app shuts down?
____________________
Primary Waze Device: Google Nexus 7 (2013)
Secondary Waze Device: LG G2 - Verizon


I had 3 iPhones in a row. (original > 3G > 4) NEVER AGAIN!
mattlach
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby mattlach » Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:48 pm

Ok,

But if the data can't be uploaded, and you turn off the client, is it lost forever, or is it stored locally on the device, and another upload attempt made the next time the client runs?
____________________
Primary Waze Device: Google Nexus 7 (2013)
Secondary Waze Device: LG G2 - Verizon


I had 3 iPhones in a row. (original > 3G > 4) NEVER AGAIN!
mattlach
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby mattlach » Fri Oct 05, 2012 7:12 pm

mdqueenz wrote:The Waze app should only be running while actively driving. Leaving it on while at home/work etc... Is polluting traffic data by reporting non existent traffic.


Ahh,

I presumed they used some sort of algorithm to decide when to collect data and when not to, otherwise how do they know if someone hasn't stropped on their own accord, rather than sitting, stuck in traffic?
____________________
Primary Waze Device: Google Nexus 7 (2013)
Secondary Waze Device: LG G2 - Verizon


I had 3 iPhones in a row. (original > 3G > 4) NEVER AGAIN!
mattlach
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:37 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Do you leave your client running?

Postby mdqueenz » Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:08 pm

The Waze app should only be running while actively driving. Leaving it on while at home/work etc... Is polluting traffic data by reporting non existent traffic.
Image
NYC / Long Island Based US Country Manager
Iphone 4S - IOS 6.0.1 - AT&T
mdqueenz
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:53 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby novarider79 » Tue Oct 30, 2012 6:13 pm

Is there a way to automate shut down of Waze when removed from the car dock?
novarider79
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:35 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby OldGnome » Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:21 pm

Interesting thread.

All this time, I thought I was turning Waze off to keep from draining the battery. Between Waze and my music app, I can run my iPhone down pretty quickly.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby rvnash » Wed Oct 03, 2012 2:04 pm

I use an iPhone.

I don't understand what people mean by leaving your client running. If I start Waze, and then switch to another App, is it still registering my driving? If it stays idle for a long time in the background, is it still registering? If it stops registering will it pick up again when I start driving? How can I tell? Do I need to make the app "active" again to make it start?

I also don't know what you mean by "shutting it down". So does killing the app by clicking on the "x" in the running app list count as shutting it down, or are you talking only about the "close" button in the app? Does clicking the "x" cause an upload? If the upload fails, does it keep my data if and try later when I restart the app, or just throw it away?

Can Waze explain with some clarity how all of this works?
rvnash
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:41 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Do you leave your client running?

Postby rvnash » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:06 pm

What an odd place to put that functionality. Uploading the logs is not a "Setting" and it doubly is not a "Help" activity. It would be nice if there were a top level button in the main menu for "Logs" where you can see what logs you have that have yet been uploaded and do it from there.
rvnash
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:41 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]