How does Waze know when traffic has cleared up?

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: How does Waze know when traffic has cleared up?

Postby WeeeZer14 » Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:50 pm

Trunks30 wrote:if waze isn't deeming 15mph on a 70mph road heavy traffic, then how is that outsmarting traffic?

If all the other options are going at less than 15mph or taking a faster road will get you to your destination later than if you sat in the traffic, then you are still outsmarting traffic by going 15 in a 70.

It is impossible to avoid ALL traffic and Waze never promises it will avoid all traffic for that reason.
iPhone 5s (AT&T) • iOS 7.0.3 • Waze 3.7.6.0
Image
✰ Mega Driver ✰ Mega Mapper ✰ 1M Points ✰
Country Manager: USA • Regional Coordinator: USA South Atlantic (KY, TN, NC, SC)
Navigation/Routing ExpertForum Moderator
WeeeZer14
 
Posts: 4816
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 317 times

Re: How does Waze know when traffic has cleared up?

Postby usnret04 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 1:20 pm

CBenson wrote:Yes, but waze routing is based on the automatic traffic data (those that color the road), not the manual reports that last for awhile and disappear.


This is probably the biggest discrepancy in my area. I often see roads that are very lightly traveled being orange or red. Sometimes no cars at all!

There should be a way for a Wazer to submit an "all clear" notification of some sort.
usnret04
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 9:31 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How does Waze know when traffic has cleared up?

Postby Twister-UK » Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:55 am

True, but as the OP points out, it's a bit of a chicken and egg situation - if you avoid a road because it appears to be jammed up, you won't be in a position to submit that "all-clear" data. This isn't a problem unique to Waze though - the crowd-sourced data used on parts of Google Maps also suffers from this problem - and even with roadside monitoring the data can appear incorrect in certain situations (e.g. a road closure leading to zero traffic along a stretch of monitored road, which then appears to be free flowing...)

The problem is then how long you allow historical data to remain in use before assuming it's no longer valid. Time it out too quickly and you risk routing people straight into a still-present jam, which would be annoying. Time it out too slowly and you risk sending people off down less optimal routes to avoid a now non-existent jam. This is probably less annoying, as unless you know the jam is no longer present then you'd still think Waze was doing its job correctly, although if the route you've been asked to follow is a bit tricky to drive then you might be cursing Waze anyway by the time you've regained your original route...
Chris (not to be confused with Chris or Chris...)
L4 AM SE England & Shetland Islands / WME Beta Tester / Script Writer
WME/Livemap enhancement scripts @ GreasyFork and Chrome Web Store
Twister-UK
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 5810
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 440 times
Been thanked: 2598 times

Re: How does Waze know when traffic has cleared up?

Postby Trunks30 » Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:46 pm

bigbear3764 wrote:I don't think you would get the prompt for slow traffic if it is slow every day at the same time. Waze would view that as normal flow.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk



If this is the case then someone might want to think about reprogramming the roads code. Because the motto of was is outsmarting Traffic, well if waze isn't deeming 15mph on a 70mph road heavy traffic, then how is that outsmarting traffic?

Either way I don't think this is the case, i think the settings on the app just need to be tweaked a little bit more so that it asks you more often. But regardless of whether or not it asks you if there is heavy traffic, once multiple people's phones on that road have automatically reported the average speed, the road should turn the necessary color and post the average speed like I see all the time around here.
Trunks
MyTouch4G - T Mobile - Virtuous Affinity 2.05 - Android 2.3.5
Trunks30
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How does Waze know when traffic has cleared up?

Postby queenbenjii » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:15 am

Traffic reports have a fade time. If you report heavy traffic, it will last for a while and disappear. If someone likes the report, it will last longer. This is how all reports work.
queenbenjii
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

How does Waze know when traffic has cleared up?

Postby MDesigner » Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:09 pm

Here's a question I've been pondering over:

Let's say a few people are driving down the street, crawling at 5mph. Waze notices this and marks that street as heavily trafficked. So now Wazers avoid it or are rerouted around that stretch. If that's true, and no one ever drives it.. how does Waze know if traffic has cleared up or not?

Case in point: my wife and I were driving, and saw one particular stretch was very slow moving, according to Waze. We decided to ignore it, and guess what: the street was totally fine.

My issue with Waze is that it sometimes has me taking routes with tons of turns in them, avoiding traffic that might not even be there. How do we combat this issue?
MDesigner
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 6:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How does Waze know when traffic has cleared up?

Postby floppyrod84 » Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:40 pm

Or someone breaks down, leaves Waze running and you get routed off the motorway at the previous junction.
Yes this has happened to me. Annoying but nice to see that rerouting does in fact work. I realised when I was sent across the bridge over the motorway and kindly cursed my phone.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 3172
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: How does Waze know when traffic has cleared up?

Postby CBenson » Thu Jan 03, 2013 1:58 pm

Well there sort of is. If you drive at speed on the road, waze will see that the road is clear.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: How does Waze know when traffic has cleared up?

Postby CBenson » Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:12 am

Yes, but waze routing is based on the automatic traffic data (those that color the road), not the manual reports that last for awhile and disappear.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Re: How does Waze know when traffic has cleared up?

Postby CBenson » Thu Oct 04, 2012 4:21 pm

I don't know, but I frequently get the prompt when I'm moving in slow traffic.
Regional Coordinator: Mid-Atlantic, US
Verizon, Nexus 6, Android 6.0.1, Waze 4.7.0.902
CBenson
 
Posts: 17857
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2356 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider]