How to add a gas station? (Canada)

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: krankyd, Unholy

Re: How to add a gas station? (Canada)

Postby invented » Mon Oct 29, 2012 4:01 am

EmmEff wrote:I'm surprised but at the same time, I honestly don't see many other Wazers while I'm driving outside of Toronto.

It'd be nice if we could add our stations manually and let the social network maintain the list and prices.

This is Waze, and this sort of thing happens at a glacial pace. I usually use the gas prices feature when I travel into Buffalo and it works somewhat well.
HTC one, GPE, Android 4.4
invented
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: How to add a gas station? (Canada)

Postby invented » Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:31 pm

AndyPoms wrote:
EmmEff wrote:It really isn't "social" if the users of the service aren't allowed to add "things"... I can't complain because I'm not paying for the service, but I can stop using the service because it doesn't do what I need it to.
From what I've been told, that is in the works for the USA (and probably Canada too as it's on the NA server)...

Gas stations don't work but you can certainly add the landmarks...
HTC one, GPE, Android 4.4
invented
Beta tester
Beta tester
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 8:03 am
Location: Port Colborne, ON
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: How to add a gas station? (Canada)

Postby therubinator » Wed Oct 31, 2012 4:09 pm

From what I have gathered around the waze.com site, the feature to display gas stations (and update prices) is coming soon to Canada. However, the ability to add them is done via the Map Editor. Description on how to do that is in this page here:

http://www.waze.com/wiki/index.php/Gas_ ... _server.29

I've started plopping in a few around Toronto - seems pretty easy. Looking forward to when they start showing up in the client!
Image
Waze Area Manager
City of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
therubinator
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:57 pm
Location: Toronto
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to add a gas station? (Canada)

Postby therubinator » Thu Nov 01, 2012 7:40 pm

AndyPoms wrote:Unfortunately, those are the directions for the WORLD SERVER ONLY - Canada is on the NA Server (with the USA).


Yep, those directions are indeed for the world server, but it still works on the NA server, which is, in fact where I've been adding stations.
Image
Waze Area Manager
City of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
therubinator
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:57 pm
Location: Toronto
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: How to add a gas station? (Canada)

Postby therubinator » Thu Nov 01, 2012 8:02 pm

AndyPoms wrote:Do you see the extended options in Canada? Or is it just like any other landmark with just a Type of Gas Station and a Name & Description field?


No extended options, no, so as you say - probably just as landmarks of the "Gas Station" type.
Image
Waze Area Manager
City of Toronto, Ontario, Canada
therubinator
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:57 pm
Location: Toronto
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Previous

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, vveloso

cron