Waze 3.5, iPhone 4S, iOS 6 - Is There A Workaround?

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Waze 3.5, iPhone 4S, iOS 6 - Is There A Workaround?

Postby top_gun_de » Tue Nov 06, 2012 6:04 pm

PhantomSoul wrote:I don't think there is an iOS 6.0.2 (yet). There is, however, an iOS 6.0.1 patch that that has to be installed with an Internet-connected iTunes computer and the USB cable, since the update says iOS 6.0.1 corrects a bug in iOS 6.0 that makes over-the-air updates not work.


No, the update works over-the-air (at least with wifi), but it is a two-stage-process on the iphone 5 which had the bug. Opening settings/software-update loads a fixed updateprogram which when started will load the real 6.0.1-update.

Best regards,

Detlev
Image
AM Region Hannover, CM Deutschland (Germany), Coordinator Germany, Global Champ

Wiki Deutschland | Straßen und Orte benennen D | Karte bearbeiten | Editorbedienung
top_gun_de
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 17081
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2011 12:16 pm
Location: Wunstorf, Germany
Has thanked: 2961 times
Been thanked: 5477 times

Re: Waze 3.5, iPhone 4S, iOS 6 - Is There A Workaround?

Postby robin1979 » Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:40 pm

jasonh300 wrote:
OldGnome wrote:iOS 6.0.1
Your software is up to date


Same here. Don't they do some kind of controlled release where only some people get it over a certain time frame, to keep the servers from getting overloaded?


There is no 6.0.2
MapSquadEurope
Area Manager - Europe
robin1979
 
Posts: 3409
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:49 am
Location: EUROPE
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Waze 3.5, iPhone 4S, iOS 6 - Is There A Workaround?

Postby PhantomSoul » Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:07 pm

iOS 6.0.1 can be loaded over the air now, at least on iPhone 5 via AT&T. It downloads an app to your phone that then works around the bug to update iOS to 6.0.1 and conveniently removes itself during the update process. A rather elegant solution, I must say...
ImageImageImageImageImage
Waze Editing Manual | USA Road Types | USA Forum
Verizon iPhone 6 / iOS (latest) / Waze (latest/beta)
PhantomSoul
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:00 am
Location: Union, NJ USA
Has thanked: 313 times
Been thanked: 521 times

Re: Waze 3.5, iPhone 4S, iOS 6 - Is There A Workaround?

Postby PhantomSoul » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:31 pm

I don't think there is an iOS 6.0.2 (yet). There is, however, an iOS 6.0.1 patch that that has to be installed with an Internet-connected iTunes computer and the USB cable, since the update says iOS 6.0.1 corrects a bug in iOS 6.0 that makes over-the-air updates not work.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Waze Editing Manual | USA Road Types | USA Forum
Verizon iPhone 6 / iOS (latest) / Waze (latest/beta)
PhantomSoul
Local Champ Mentor
Local Champ Mentor
 
Posts: 3404
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:00 am
Location: Union, NJ USA
Has thanked: 313 times
Been thanked: 521 times

Re: Waze 3.5, iPhone 4S, iOS 6 - Is There A Workaround?

Postby OldGnome » Sun Nov 04, 2012 4:33 pm

jasonh300 wrote:Don't they do some kind of controlled release where only some people get it over a certain time frame, to keep the servers from getting overloaded?

I believe that is correct. I have checked two iPhone 4S' and get the same response.

Consequently, my workaround question still stands.
OldGnome
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Waze 3.5, iPhone 4S, iOS 6 - Is There A Workaround?

Postby OldGnome » Sun Nov 04, 2012 3:29 pm

MiltH wrote:Are you at IOS 6.0.2 yet?

I ask because my 4s running 6.0.2 seems to run Waze 3.5 just fine.

Settings->General->Software Update delivers

iOS 6.0.1
Your software is up to date
OldGnome
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Waze 3.5, iPhone 4S, iOS 6 - Is There A Workaround?

Postby OldGnome » Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:04 am

I am fully aware that we are waiting for a fix from Waze.

I have the usually reported problem where Waze won't even load. The other symptom I get when Waze will load is that no audio is possible. I have tried a secondary audio app and I get nothing from Waze or anything else.

Is there a workaround to the situation?
OldGnome
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 7:14 pm
Location: Riverview, FL USA
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Waze 3.5, iPhone 4S, iOS 6 - Is There A Workaround?

Postby mwburn » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:37 pm

PhantomSoul wrote:I don't think there is an iOS 6.0.2 (yet). There is, however, an iOS 6.0.1 patch that that has to be installed with an Internet-connected iTunes computer and the USB cable, since the update says iOS 6.0.1 corrects a bug in iOS 6.0 that makes over-the-air updates not work.


I updated mine using WiFi, so it may only be specific circumstances that require connecting directly to computer.
I'd be ranked higher if I drove more than 5 miles to work. :-(
But I only have to drive 5 miles to work. :-)

Image
mwburn
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:05 pm
Location: Utah, USA
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Waze 3.5, iPhone 4S, iOS 6 - Is There A Workaround?

Postby MiltH » Sun Nov 04, 2012 5:53 pm

robin1979 wrote:
jasonh300 wrote:
OldGnome wrote:iOS 6.0.1
Your software is up to date


Same here. Don't they do some kind of controlled release where only some people get it over a certain time frame, to keep the servers from getting overloaded?


There is no 6.0.2


You're right. I'm an idiot. Obviously I was thinking of something else.
Former Area Manager for Midland & Odessa, TX, and the surrounding areas.
MiltH
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 3:05 pm
Location: Odessa-Midland, Texas
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Waze 3.5, iPhone 4S, iOS 6 - Is There A Workaround?

Postby MiltH » Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:40 am

Are you at IOS 6.0.2 yet?

I ask because my 4s running 6.0.2 seems to run Waze 3.5 just fine.
Former Area Manager for Midland & Odessa, TX, and the surrounding areas.
MiltH
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 3:05 pm
Location: Odessa-Midland, Texas
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users