Road Closed - Waze becomes useless

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Road Closed - Waze becomes useless

Postby whatever2015 » Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:10 pm

if waze would implement a simple detour button like all the other gps apps the problem would be solved.

with my magellan or copilot on my phone if a road is closed, i hit detour, 1 mile, 2, miles, etc and i get an alternative route on the fly.

waze should also implement this because wednesday, it warned me of an accident ahead. i thought it'd reroute me but it didn't. if they had a detour button, i could have just hit detour.

in the mean time, i'll keep doing what i have which is waze running and my magellan running when waze acts up
whatever2015
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 5:15 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Road Closed - Waze becomes useless

Postby petervdveen » Tue Nov 20, 2012 6:27 pm

Haha, I know that.;-)
I'm driving in belgium very often..

I was talking about the rest of the world and refering to the normal situation in the netherlands 8-)
petervdveen
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 17098
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 622 times
Been thanked: 1477 times

Re: Road Closed - Waze becomes useless

Postby petervdveen » Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:32 pm

Normaly there are deviation signs on the side of the road, right?
petervdveen
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 17098
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 622 times
Been thanked: 1477 times

Re: Road Closed - Waze becomes useless

Postby Olestas » Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:12 pm

Yep, fast temporary road closure is needed. We had some celebrations on huge segment of one of main roads, and waze kept trying to take me there, as THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC there. And for some bad reason there were no alternatives for this route. Possibly because there was big traffic on all other streets while none on the closed one.
Olestas
Coordinators
Coordinators
 
Posts: 11510
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:08 pm
Location: Latvia
Has thanked: 2962 times
Been thanked: 2147 times

Re: Road Closed - Waze becomes useless

Postby lakeyboy » Wed Nov 28, 2012 11:12 am

I think Road Closures should be able to be added on the website. My idea would be for the Map Editor to have a new Road Closure tab or option where you can highlight road segments which are going to be closed, and set the local time of when the road will close and re-open. This information would get transmitted to the app separately from map tiles so it's available to Waze users ASAP.

For example, in my city a couple of weeks ago a whole 40km freeway was shut down so they could hold a cycling event. It would have been nice to go into the editor, highlight the whole freeway, set the closure times and for Waze to not route you onto that road. And the app should give you a warning when it detects a closed road, for example when that freeway is normally the fastest route, so you know why Waze won't route you down that freeway at a particular time.

I can't see this being implemented well in the app itself as you can't put a road closed icon on a road you can't drive on. Perhaps a "road closure in area" option in the app and you can type what the closure is.
Proud Melburnian and Australian Country Manager.
Map edits: 273,200+ | Distance travelled: 55,120km+ | Reports made: 1780+
Waze Australia Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WazeAustralia
lakeyboy
Australia Waze Champs
Australia Waze Champs
 
Posts: 1086
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:19 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 155 times
Been thanked: 256 times

Re: Road Closed - Waze becomes useless

Postby Jonnyhuk2 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:24 am

+1 for a (short term) road closed / avoid feature.

This morning, there was a major accident on a main trunk road on my way to work. A 10 mile stretch of dual-carriageway was closed by the police in both directions. There is no time for the police to put up detour signs. I got there just as the road was being closed. Meanwhile on Waze, there is no way to report that the road is closed, either to get Waze to re-route for yourself or to inform others (and you can't report the accident as you can't report incidents (or potentially road closures) not in your current exact location).

Luckily I know the local roads and knew where to go but for the first 3 miles of the detour, Waze was insisting I turn around and go back to the (closed) main road. If I didn't know the area, I'd be lost and blindly following traffic hoping they're going where I want to go.

Recently due to our bad weather, there have been a number of roads closed due to flooding or snow. Some are major roads, some minor. But if you come across one, maybe it's late in the evening, there are no diversion signs to follow, there's no traffic to follow, if you don't know the area you have to find somewhere to stop and examine the map and manually navigate as Waze just tries to send you back to the closed road. We need some way of not just reporting a closed road so Waze will warn you / re-route you before you even get close to the road, but also need to say how long it is for... no point reporting a road closed if your report will clear off Waze after only an hour, you might want to inform the system it will be there all morning, or the next 24 hours or maybe overnight roadworks...
Area Manager - southern Hampshire / W.Sussex, UK
Jonnyhuk2
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:52 pm
Location: Chichester, UK.
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Road Closed - Waze becomes useless

Postby jasonh300 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:18 pm

What's the actual travel time difference between the two routes?
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Road Closed - Waze becomes useless

Postby jasonh300 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:23 pm

davipt wrote:It's the route I drive every single day for more than one year. There was a time the client may have been learning, but right now I'm pretty sure it's not learning anything. My guess is that it forgets everything on every mapdate, and having mapdates more frequently invalidates the learning and explains why it felt it was learning something when mapdates were taking more than one month.


It won't learn unless you drive the suggested route a few times and show Waze that it's not the fastest route.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Road Closed - Waze becomes useless

Postby jasonh300 » Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:43 pm

In the old Garmin, you only used the Detour button if the next leg of your route was unusable.

Of course, it didn't report that to anyone else. I'm not sure if this feature should do that in Waze either.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Re: Road Closed - Waze becomes useless

Postby jasonh300 » Sun Nov 18, 2012 6:20 pm

I've experienced this where Waze didn't see any other route besides the one that was closed. In my case, the alternate route would be 10+ miles out of the way and Waze isn't ever going to offer that as an alternate.

There was a button in one of the recent beta for "Road Closed" but it wasn't functional, and it's since been removed. Hopefully they're still working on it, and it's functionality will allow you to take a specific road out of the routing options due to a closure.
jasonh300
EmeritusChamps
EmeritusChamps
 
Posts: 15136
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:26 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Has thanked: 408 times
Been thanked: 986 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users