Map Tiles failing to load?

These forums are specific to the Waze mobile app. Post here if you experienced a problem while using the app, have a question about the app functionality or a feature such as navigation or search.

Moderators: Unholy, bextein

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby floppyrod84 » Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:58 pm

Agree with twister completely but I can see the point of raising money. Pointless having features that don't work though and adding more on top of the broken core functionalities.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2569
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby CBenson » Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:28 pm

jhfrontz wrote:they've got to be in a desperate race to . . . remain viable in the eyes of their VC

+1
CBenson
Waze Global Champs
Waze Global Champs
 
Posts: 10330
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:13 pm
Location: Crownsville, MD, US
Has thanked: 1069 times
Been thanked: 2355 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby MisterMooCow » Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:01 pm

Twister_UK wrote:
Please please PLEASE Waze, announce a freeze on all new feature development and spend the time and effort necessary to fix what we all know is broken in the existing code. Once the core functionality is working as it should do, then by all means layer on as much shiny shiny as you want, but until the core is fixed it's a slap in the face to all dedicated users each time you announce yet another new feature without doing anything about the long-standing problems we continue to face every time we use the client.


I can't see them doing that at all any time soon-- they've got to be in a desperate race to be more feature-rich than any of the other GPS apps, as well as to start generating revenue (and thus remain viable in the eyes of their VC). Unfortunately, as long as they "suck less" than Apple's map app, they don't really need to worry about making improved stability a priority.

That said, there are ways to do agile development without [overly] sacrificing stability-- if they had an effective automated regression testing environment (that could simulate network latencies, etc.), they could fix a lot of these problems before we ever see them. But that requires either starting from the get-go with something like TDD or spending a lot of resources retrofitting that into your development environment/culture.
MisterMooCow
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:05 pm
Location: oHIo
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby Twister-UK » Tue Nov 27, 2012 9:12 pm

xteejx wrote:And cache everything else too including reports, traffic etc to be sent when there IS signal but we've asked for hat numerous times.


And we'll continue to ask, demand, beg, holler, scream, shout and stamp our feet for it, until someone at Waze HQ takes an executive decision to make the coding team focus exclusively on features and functionality of genuine importance to a satnav client, rather than continuing to bloat it out with puff and eye candy and social networky-type crap that only serves to get in the way.

Just this morning, driving along a fairly busy country lane, 60mph limit and semi-blind bends, I came round one bend to find a car parked backwards in the hedgerow with another car parked next to it blocking half the road... exactly the sort of incident that calls for a Waze accident report. Unfortunately, having filled out the details and tapped the send button, I was then filled with a sense of impending doom as the phone screen was filled with the spinny Waze Wheel of Impending Failure, and sure enough about 30 seconds later I was greeted with the all too familiar error message containing it's almost always useless suggestion to try again later. Sure Waze, why don't I do that, why don't I wait for your flakey network code to re-establish a link to the rest of the world, and then send a fresh report about an incident which is now miles away...


Please please PLEASE Waze, announce a freeze on all new feature development and spend the time and effort necessary to fix what we all know is broken in the existing code. Once the core functionality is working as it should do, then by all means layer on as much shiny shiny as you want, but until the core is fixed it's a slap in the face to all dedicated users each time you announce yet another new feature without doing anything about the long-standing problems we continue to face every time we use the client.
Twister-UK
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 2505
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:00 am
Location: NW London
Has thanked: 364 times
Been thanked: 2168 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby floppyrod84 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 12:06 am

I've had issues since 3.2 but no real fix yet :-(

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2569
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby MisterMooCow » Fri Nov 23, 2012 8:00 pm

xteejx wrote:It's definitely too sensitive to slow data speeds and this may be the issue here.


It seems like something has changed recently in that regard-- like, maybe with the latest release of the client?
MisterMooCow
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:05 pm
Location: oHIo
Has thanked: 72 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby floppyrod84 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 7:46 pm

And cache everything else too including reports, traffic etc to be sent when there IS signal but we've asked for hat numerous times.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2569
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby Texernie » Fri Nov 23, 2012 3:28 pm

I know in the area I was driving, there was spotty cell coverage at times. The outages generally only lasted a few miles. The missing segments of the map looked like 1 tile, out of the several required for the area, was missing. You could see the missing tile approaching. I was being routed both times I went through the areas. You would think that if the issue was the cell network, that Waze would have picked up the tiles on of the 2 times.

The area that I linked to is an interstate and has good coverage for miles around. There are some "mountains" in southern Oklahoma that blocks the signals for maybe a half mile as you go over the top and hit a new tower.
Texernie
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:31 pm
Location: Frisco, Texas
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby floppyrod84 » Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:27 pm

I get that sometimes too. Without a reliable 3G HSDPA connection Waze will just sit there with 'no data connection'. It's definitely too sensitive to slow data speeds and this may be the issue here.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
floppyrod84
 
Posts: 2569
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:17 pm
Location: Sheerness, Kent, UK
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 45 times

Re: Map Tiles failing to load?

Postby CrackedLCD » Fri Nov 23, 2012 11:43 am

I've driven areas with no map tiles before, when cellular data was both strong and weak so it could be either weak connectivity or a problem on Waze's end. The biggest missing chunk of data I had was about 40 miles long on a road trip. I checked my signal and even pulled up data from other apps no problem, but Waze was dead. In that case, I did a support ticket and they said there was a server problem that day. But in other instances I think it's due to having poor signal / no signal or being on GPRS/EDGE or 1x/RTT low speed data access. Waze is incredibly intolerant of slow data speeds, to the point that sometimes it says I have no connection even in 3G areas and while other background apps work fine.

The two areas where "missing road" URs are filed the most are two different stretches of interstate where only Verizon and AT&T have 3G service… everyone else is GPRS or 1x and I suspect Waze is just being a baby and timing out on those slow connections.
CrackedLCD
Area Manager
Area Manager
 
Posts: 426
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:37 am
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Next

Return to Waze App

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], ginandtoni